We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wooow great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malisa Villa Suites

Save Saved
You added Malisa Villa Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Malisa Villa Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 / 36 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wooow great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

great villa i stayed there 7 days it was look like heaven privacy and breakfast was amazing they are come to my villa and do the breakfast and you can ride the car to go to your room nice decorated room and the pool was very nice and the kitchen was fully loaded microwave and fridge kettle oven everything am really pleased to stay at this hotel

Room Tip: every rooms is villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    74
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
13
128
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The privacy of the villa and the proximity to the beach made our holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful and great restaurants in walking distance, as is an excellent massage. The only negative was the Airconditioning that blasted cold air over the bed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Malisa for 3 nights.

This is what we liked about the place:

The LOCATION is excellent, less than 5minutes to Kata beach, restaurants, shops, taxi rank.
Our ROOM (very near reception) was very large with large TV (didn't turn it on once!), comfortable firm mattress. Outside the bedroom we had a private pool with waterfall feature, stocked mini bar, cooker, dining table and seating area.
The STAFF are super friendly and quick to help with whatever request you have. They booked taxis, restaurants and excursions for us.
The villa is at the end of a QUIET street and the lay-out is beautiful with rose gardens and water features.

The following areas are where we think they can improve:

BREAKFAST: There are lots to choose from and we did try several things, but the b/fast (and coffee) really isn't very good.

LANGUAGE: Most of the staff members we met spoke very, very poor English. They were unable to understand the most basic questions such as "may i please have milk with my tea". The reception staff spoke better English, but still not amazing.

We had soooo many MOZZIES in our room every night. The doors and windows don't seal properly ( gaps underneath and between) so plenty of space for mozzies to get in. However, The staff was very good at spraying our room every time we requested and it did help.

To summarise, the few things that put us off didn't spoil our trip, but we probably wouldn't stay there again. And even so, i would say it was value for money as it is a lot cheaper than some of the other places in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This place is right in the heart of Kata. Short stroll to restaurants and all that Phuket is famous for. The beach is a 3 minute walk. Breakfast served in your villa is out of this world, with 4 styles to choose from. The pool in the villa is a huge drawcard and extremely private. When you can't stand the heat anymore just head home to tranquility and a cooling swim. The waterfall is a great way to ensure privacy as no sound travels. The apple computer/tv is great too with very fast Wifi. The free mini bar is a nice touch. The in room spa is powerful and extremely relaxing with a view into the tropical garden. The staff a lovely, always with a smile and they will try to accommodate every request. The gym is well appointed and has a library of books and DVD's. I can't recommend this place enough. Someone wrote in their review that it is a little dated and in need of renos and that is true but it's still amazing. They are currently refurbishing villas, however no noise at all.It's only cosmetic anyway. In fact because it's off the main street it is very quiet! we struck a great deal through Expedia and paid very little per night, so even better.

Room Tip: There are Grand Pool Villas and Pool Villas. The space is more than adequate in the Pool Villa for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A really nice little place to stay 5 mins walk from Kata Beach.

We stayed here for 2 nights as the first part of our honeymoon. We were originally unsure what to expect from the reviews at the time as there were complaints of leave and the room/pool being untidy.

This however was not the case for us.


We opted to get a pickup 'limosine' (really it was their private charted car) from the airport. From what I remember it costed us 1200 baht. Originally we thought this was expensive, but after we stayed in Phuket and caught a taxi back to the airport, this is actually quite reasonable (prices were similar).

Like all the places we stayed in the area, the service was good, however the guys at Malisa Villa Suites do make the effort to make you feel welcome. We checked in at 10pm to which they had the rooms ready and waiting.

We had the 1 bedroom villa, which had a private pool as part of its courtyard. This is pretty amazing. There is a frangipani tree hanging over the pool, with some deck chairs which makes up part of the open style living/dining room and kitchen. The pool is private (read: skinny dipping :P ) and the whole place has a nice Thai feel, yet practical.

Thailand is part of SE Asia, mosquitoes are a fact of life - deal with it.

The tree is a real tree, you will get leaves in it. Despite this, the room and pool is cleaned once a day and the staff were more than happy to get it cleaned more times as per request, its even stated in the welcome pack. Upon arrival we also got coupons on discounts on various things and a free desert from their restaurant. One thing to note is that the whole 'mini bar' supply is FREE and is refreshed everyday.

The breakfast is unique, you order the day before and they will come at the requested time with the food and cook it for you in the kitchen. We generally opted for the westernised breakfast and it was quite nice. After breakfast is done, you can call them up and they'll come and clean up.

The bedroom is pretty stunning, large room, with a lovely king sized bed, to which on one side has a private mini garden, which hides an outside shower, private and can be lit up at night and to the other side the bifold doors open up to the wonderful private courtside pool. You can literally wake up and go for a dip :)

There was a 42" odd samsung TV hooked up to an apple tv, which had stable broadband access, which I was quite impressed about, and the place had free wi-fi too which was great.

The bathroom was pretty cool too, with a spa bath large enough for two people, with a large shower beside it in a quite modern wood/brick style room.

Malisa Villa Suites is located on the end of a small street where shops are located near the middle of Kata beach (http://goo.gl/maps/TJYHd). This location was the most ideal out of all the places we stayed as it was close to everything and you don't need to catch a cab to the stuff around Kata. It's also close to the transport hub and also on sea level.

All in all, we highly recommend the Malisa Villa Suites and for the deals we got for it, would definitely go again. It was a fantastic start to our awesome honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff in Malisa villa suites, we went there for our anniversary and as soon as they knew they upgraded us immediately to the grand pool villa, they offered free vouchers for the spa and restaurant, they were really so helpful with any thing we ask for.
I would definitely recommend Malisa villa for everyone.
It was and still is our home away from home :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I am very disappointed with Malisa Villa Suites.

To be fair, if this was our first experience of Phuket villas, then we may have given it a higher rating. It's just that other places at this price point are so so much better.

We were especially looking forward to the food after our last experience in another villa resort, which was just amazing. What we got here was barely edible- a greasy, cold, sloppy mess. Breakfast included cheap processed sausages with horrible bacon, sickly sweet orange squash and tasteless cornflakes. Room service dinner was just comical, the staff were polite enough but I will never understand how they managed to confuse a green chicken curry with a cheese sandwich, and why anyone would want a sandwich with their Thai meal. Also they left all the cutlery in a pile on the table- a bit odd.

The room is ok, just not wowed by it. The bathroom drains were blocked but they fixed that. The shower pressure is rubbish, and parts of the wooden floorboards were broken and poorly mended. The air conditioning needs a service and is not nearly cool enough, and there isn't even air conditioning in the bathroom. It's comfortable and clean, just expected so much more for the price.

The private pool is filled with leaves. There is a big sofa, but we really wanted a day bed to lounge on. The mini bar is free, but filled with two chocolate bars, a coke, a beer and 2 bottles of water.

They do have a Mac mini in the room and free wifi which I liked.

The Kata beach area is also full of very poor restaurants and tourist traps. We did like the local massage places though, they are a fifth of the price of the spa in the resort.

Overall we would not recommend Malisa. I'm sure we survive our last night here, but won't be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malisa Villa Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malisa Villa Suites

Address: 40 / 36 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Malisa Villa Suites 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malisa Villa Suites serves as the perfect hideaway for couples at Kata Beach on Phuket Island with 41 well-designed individual private villas, each with its own private swimming pool that leaves you totally undistracted and showcases the comfort of your stay.Offering a host of the finest attentive services, from welcome cake, in-villa service breakfast by the personal chefs to relaxing spas and endless romantic dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Malisa Villa Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malisa Villa Hotel Kata Beach
Malisa Hotel Kata
Malisa Villa Suites Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malisa Villa Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.