We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many Russians” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7/1 Ketkwan Road | T. Karon a. Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
60% Discount
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Grenaa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too many Russians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Too many Russians. Russians spoil it for all other guests, they do not know how to behave among civilized people.
The hotel is OK, restaurant good, rooms nice and clean, not enough sunbeds, but we are going there any more because of the Russians.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    153
    56
    22
    23
See reviews for
67
171
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Staff here were unfriendly and unhelpful - particular shout out to Pawit on reception on this point - easily the rudest individual - get this guy off reception if you want your guest to feel welcomed!

I swear they just ignore you and try not to engage with guest less they ask a question..

The hotel itself is fine - bit old - nice enough pool - breakfast is pretty average - very basic and clearly leftovers from the dinner the night before.

Do not get me started on the NYE dinner - this is a compulsory dinner tacked on to your bill if you are staying over NYE - it is terrible!!! Such a shame when Thailand has such great food but the stuff dished out was terrible!

Overall if I saw this place on special, like very cheap, I would go back but otherwise not.

The other thing is they say they're in Karon but in reality I think it's probably more Kata.

Internet access is very very slow. You can pay for access on the computers in the lobby however you will struggle to get someone to accept your money and give you a code due to the aforementioned unwillingness of staff to assist you.

One more thing - the water in the bathroom can tend to be a bit murky - nothing bad happened to me as a result of bathing in it so it must be ok but it can be a bit disconcerting...

One positive - the people I was traveling with enjoyed the spa treatments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Nice and good hotel,Big pool area...Breakfast good quality of food...Spa excellent..In the night time in the lobby musician it's only average.But one of the staff talk to me that the band before is excellent...Over all i injoy staying this hotel for 1 day...I like all staff so polite always say "Sawadee Krap"This is my first time in Thailand and i'm Planing to take my holiday in Bangkok on February 2013....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We cannot believe some of the reviews but then again everyone has a "story" to tell. Our "story" is truely one which occured in late Dcemeber and into january 2013. We occupied three rooms...two Jaz pool-access rooms and one standard room on the 4th floor for a 10 day period. We had a wonderful time at the Alpina Phuet Nalina Resort & Spa (funny and long name altrough) and we can only recommend this beautifully landscaped oasis and the very polite and always helpful and professional staff. We in particular like to point out the senior manager Mr."Osmal" (not sure if name spelled correctly) who was always at the reception, then Mr. "Kettie" at the Italian Cafe Mamma Mia and all the beautiful wiatresses at the beakfast room for buffet. Also very nice was the lady at th tour counter...she advised us perfectly with tours tp Phi Phi and other fun and tropical locations. We also very much enjoyed meeting the General Manager of the Resort Mr. Geno who hosted a weekly cocktail party at the lobby loung and he did spike tous personally which we found fantastic as this does not happen in any other resort or hotel where we stayed inprevious years.

the Alpina is a fabtasticaly designed resort on huge grounds with a likewise huge pool and many ponds. We had the pleasure staying in a Jaz room with terrace in front of the pool and we could jump right into the pool...fantastic! The rooms are very clean and fresh in appearance with nice walk-in shower and large bathroom. The bed linen are fresh and so are the towels. The only thing we would have had a bitter softer was the mattres ...it was a little hard for us and we ask if we could get some more sheets...they then told us we can get a top matress added and so they did. Fantastic service!

We did eat on several ccasions in the mam mia Italian cafe and the pizza was very good as well as the pasta. Around the pool and in our room we enjoyed pool or room-service and everytime it was perfect! Try The Tropicana Burger....very very good!

We did attent the New Years Eve festive dinner with buffet and entertainement and we truly enjoyed from all aspects. We also know that all the guests who we made friends with duirng our stay and the tables next to ours were all very happy. the buffet was huge, the band played very nice tunes and the cultural shows were all fun to watch. A great night to ring-in the new year!

We also enjoyed the Spa which is a very impressive facility with very beatiful treatment rooms and packages at very good discounts up to 50% reduction. We had a spa suite (my husband and myself) with steam room, sauna and jacuzzi...we spend more than 4 hours for the entire treatement and the price was only about 100.- Euro dollar for both of us.

The Alpina resort is a good example for traditional Thai smile service and we will be back indeed and can highly recommend it to any travelor. We did read most of the lately published reviews as well as the reviews prior to our arrival and must say that there are some very strange negative reviews which we cannot udertsand. One review in particular from a chap from bangkok is very imsulting and our family group really questions this man entegrity! But as we said....reviews are reviews and the best way to find out is to stay at Alpina.

Room Tip: Jaz pool-access-room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Right from check-in, I was not impressed with this resort. The staff were rude, did not have the time of day for us and seemed like they really did not care if we were not happy with their service provided.
On check-in, we were given our room keys and were told there was a map of the resort on the back of the pamphlet that came with the room keys. We walked through this huge resort with other people we were staying with (who were in another room and building to us), trying to find our room in the dark. Staff did not bother to give us directions or lead us to the room. We finally found our room and opened the door to a musty, damp smell. I can understand the rooms are humid due to the weather but some fragrance in the room isn't that hard to organize. I was tempted to ask to be changed to another room due to the smell but I got used to it and when the air con was turned on, it wasn't as obvious. There are also plenty of mosquitoes in the room, so be prepared.The room is actually pretty and cultural. I liked it.
We booked a jazz pool access room....which we did not use because the water was freezing and the pool was surrounded by trees which blocked the sun....kind of defeats the purpose of having sun lounges in the area if there is no sun access.
Pool staff are horrendously rude....I was disgusted at their attitude. One day I was taking clean towels from the towel area at the pool only to be hounded by the male pool staff and asked in an aggressive manner "WHERE ARE YOU TAKING THOSE TOWELS??"......relax mate, I'm not stealing your towels.
On another occasion, the same male ignored me and was muttering under his breath when I asked him if he knew where the clean pool towels were as there were none supplied at the time we went to the pool.....I think he has something for those towels.
Room service was very slow. I asked the front desk for an ironing board and iron and it took a good hour to come to the room, luckily I was not in a rush to get somewhere at the time.
Our room was cleaned at various times and sometimes late arvo...some instances we were not given bottled water (which was an issue for us as we can't drink their water), no toiletries were replenished, towels seemed scarce (maybe the pool man was in charge of this?), floor seemed dirty...a real let down.
The bathroom is a let down also. Every time we used the shower, the room was saturated in water because water would flow along the edge of the shower and down onto the floor. The hotel staff have previously screwed a guide onto the floor to allow all the water to flow straight into the drain in the floor. To access the shower, you need to step onto a step and climb into the shower...this could be quite dangerous if you're old, have a disability or are not tall enough to hold onto the above wooden frame or something to steady yourself.
The toilet seat was faulty and would slide around if pressure was applied to one side.
Wi-fi is free however don't even bother wasting your time trying to use it as it is virtually non-existent. It is so slow and drains battery life trying to load one page.Don't even bother using the hotels provided computers which they charge 45 baht for 15 minutes for as they are even slower.
Breakfast is a joke. There is not much variety at all and everything seems stale and old. The egg station is shocking. There is old egg splashed all over the wooden box that covers the hot plates, it's really off putting. Also, too bad if you don't like onion, tomato, bacon or capsicum as that's all there is to choose from if you want an omelette...no cheese...no mushroom....NOTHING ELSE!
Staff during breakfast were rude and gave the impression that they had better things to do. Not once were we directed to a table or greeted on arrival. We picked our own table, served our own coffee, cleared our own plates....shocking! On one occasion, as we were travelling with others (total of 6 people), we asked a young female staff member to pull two tables together so we could all fit together, she refused saying we all had to sit separately...with no other explanation. We refused and cracked it until she finally succumbed and pulled two tables together. Not very hard or much to ask for. We would have understood if the breakfast was busy or there was a logical explanation for why she was refusing but neither was the case and she just didn't want to do what we'd asked!
Only positives of this hotel are the bell boys and the female that organises the tours and the huge pool (though this is quite deep). Everything else is a huge let down.
I hope the hotel reads this (they have trip advisor reviews (positive ones) put up in elevators across the resort) and does something drastic about how negative some people feel about this place.
My advise to others ...don't waste your time! There is better out there...I'm sure of it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent last xmas and new year at the hotel Alpina. The location was very good and quiet. About 1 km from beach. The pool area was the best, big, clean fresh pool with lots of space and sun beds and towels for free. The breakfast was good, and service was excelent. The hotel personel was very very frienly and the rooms were clean. The thursday free cocktails the management arrenged were also very nice. I and my family were very happy to stay in Hotel Alpina. Also the xmasparty and new year party were good arranged and a lot of fun. Food was good. Thank you !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I am staying at this hotel at the moment and have just read the reviews of other people who have stay here during the same time,and some people are so wrong this is a super hotel , the staff cannot do enough for you, and if you have any problems the GM will soon sort it out who speaks perfect English,some people who go away need to realise their are in different country, and I bet the people who moans about the staff not talking very good English Well their can talk better English then I can talk Thai. This is not my full review I will do this when I return to England

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Address: 7/1 Ketkwan Road | T. Karon a. Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an eclectic mix of unrivalled services and facilities, Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa is the destination of choice for singles, couples and families alike. A combination of charming oriental hospitality showcased by friendly and personalized service and intelligently designed facilities creates a perfect holiday experience with memories to last a lifetime. The resort's peaceful setting fosters a laid-back and relaxed ambience in which guests can completely switch off and enjoy the luxury of the surroundings and the many facilities at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort And Spa
Alpina Phuket Nalina Hotel Karon
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.