We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7/1 Ketkwan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We reserved this hotel after we read this tripadvisor. Wrong!!
I've been work tourism industry long time and I was so excited what kind of service what we get with my family.
The room was old, stain the walls, scrach the floor and a/c didn't work properly.
The staff was not friendly and couldn't understand English. How can I explain what's wrong the room or other issue!
Hotel management needs to give basic english training(this is a common sense).

The power came off the morning(4am). When I asked the front desk the morning wha't wrong?
He didn't know anything about it. They don't have communication between shift change.
This is basic skill.

I will tell everyone and don't reserve local name hotel.

Room Tip: I don't recommend any room because this facility is very old. They need to repair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    142
    53
    22
    22
See reviews for
61
159
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent position, the facilities are everything you would expect of hotel of this rating in Thailand with very reasonable prices and is extremely clean.

The staff are among the best we have encountered anywhere in the world and always have a smile to greet you and are extremely friendly.

The food and drinks are very good - again at a reasonable price and the service was excellent.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a holiday in Phuket - it is close to many attractions with loads to see and do, use the hotel taxis to get around - amazingly good value.

The only downside is the amount of Russian residents who always seem to be always rude and unpleasant to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is situated on a relatively large property, rooms were spacious and clean, the pool was awesome but the breakfast was terrible, it took ages to explain (including a couple of wrong tries by the chef) how to make an omelet without egg yolk. The only restaurant in the hotel named Mama Mia offered ok pizza and deep friend tempuras but terrible sea food (the steamed fish was nauseating to look at).
Go here solely for the room and pool experience, not food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our third consecutive New Year stay at this hotel - and for sure the last one!

Management basically not existing and staff culture far below par! Too many totally untrained staff members who do not understand what service means. It is like they really don´t want tourists at their hotel. A few good staff members still left, smiling and trying to assist, though.

It is quite a shame, as facilities do provide potential; rooms not that bad, and pool area could become nice etc.

Since our first stay two years ago, ZERO maintenance has taken place and the place seems to deteriorate very fast, and in general the quality of restaurant (lousy food), bar and pool area (no clean towels available despite NO people round the pool!!) as well as facilities like beach shuttle has sunk into very low level. Shuttle bus departure at one incident 20 minutes delayed, as the bell boy was in fact also the shuttle bus driver, and he happened to be bringing out suitcases! Once he finally arrived he started the vehicle, while elder people were still boarding the bus. Incredible to watch.

Let me point out that NONE of the guests, to whom we spoke, were pleased. Not ONE!

Finally, to ask THB 6,000,-/pax for a MISERABLE buffet (no beverages included!) as a COMPULSORY New Year Galla Dinner is simply rude and commercial rip-off.
We were placed OUTSIDE the ball room with our BACKS to the stage!! - when I kindly questioned this fact, the answer was: "you should have booked a table sooner, then you would have had better seats" - needless to say that someone ELSE would then have been forced to take our miserable seats....
By the way, entertainment was horrible and even done by some of the same artists as the last two years. Incredible.

I stay at hotels more than 6 months per year and out of this 5 months per year in Thailand, and by any standard this was simply a disaster. Sorry to put it so directly.

The GM appeared once - with dark sun glasses and in some Indian pyjamas style, as according to staff he had too much Jack Daniels the night before. Guess such behavior by their farang top boss doesn´t impress thai people.

Totally new management level is required to rescue this place - hope they will make it, as the place could be nice and could become a good family resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Came to Phuket with my buddy in November. Arrived rather late and took a long taxi ride from the airport. Check in was relatively straight forward and the receptionists were pleasant enough. We booked the pool-access rooms which were surprisingly large and comfortable. Like many of the prior reviews, I would echo the same thoughts about the wi-fi signal which is really crappy no matter where you are in the room. Didn't care much for TV but otherwise bed, shower and everything else was nice. Best thing about the room was the fact that I could wake up in the morning, jump into the pool and get right out and relax in the comfort and 'relative' privacy of your own poolside deck.

Breakfast was the major dissapointment here. Always too crowded with long lines for the egg station. Choices were pretty pathetic and quality wasn't great either. Kata beach is closeby and decent albeit a little too crowded and touristy for my taste. Patong a litle far away but who cares if you cruising down the beach road on a scooter with the breeze and nice tropical sun in your face.

When it came time to check out, the hotel would not give me a courtesy checkout extension of even half an hour. This really pissed me off as most decent hotels would almost always extend its guest this courtesy. If not for these issues, I think our stay would have been more enjoyable. Would probably try another hotel if I ever make it back to this part of Thailand in the future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Really nice & clean hotel with friendly staff. Everything worked good, pool area is not that big so sometimes was pretty full and not that many sunbeds but poolarea is really nice looking, nice &working transferbus to the beach. Hotels beach location was good, but free sunbeds were always full so make sure you go early if you don't want to pay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We are leaving the hotel tomorrow so thought I'd write this while its still fresh in my head.

Check-In
After an hours taxi ride from the airport (be sure to get a metered taxi by turning right out of the airport as its much cheaper) we were greated at the hotel with cool towels and fresh fruit drinks. Check in went smoothly and someone came to our room to show us around before leaving us to unpack.

Rooms
We were given a pool view room as I had originally asked for by emailing the hotel before we arrived. Rooms are large and spacious although there aren't enough draws for storage. The bed is hard but that was fine for us and we slept well most nights. The balcony has chairs and a table although they are in the shade all day but this is a nice break from the hot weather. As most people have said the television reception is poor but I think there are only a handful of English channels and we rarely watch tv on holiday so didn't affect us. A DVD player and iPod dock would be a nice addition to the rooms.

Large bathroom with a double sink and a large shower with both a rainfall shower and a standard attachment on the wall. Our rainfall shower didn't work very well but the pressure was good on the other one and we could always get it to the temperature we required. You are only provided with 2 towels and we could have done with additional, if we asked I'm sure this request would have been met. They also provide basic toiletries, shower gel/shampoo etc but these weren't replaced. You get 2 free bottles of water in your room each day which is a nice gesture.

We had an issue with ants in our room after the first few days and I woke up with ants crawling on me, I then noticed there were an awful lot of them by the side of my pillow. A call to reception with the promise of someone coming up didn't do much good and no one came so we asked again on our way to breakfast. We went back to our room after breakfast to find the bed appeared to have been brushed down with a few ants still there. We went back to reception who informed us our room would be fumigated and bedding changed. After lunch we went back to our room and the bedding had been changed but there were still ants. Another call to reception who hung up on me which when I called back they said someone was on there way and the room cleaning supervisor visited us with an ant poison and fumigated our room again. This seemed to do the job but we felt we shouldn't have had to keep chasing to have this issue resolved.

House keeping was average, sometimes towels weren't changed for 3 days, toiletries weren't restocked, and we had a used plate and fork sitting in our room that wasn't washed for 2-3days (it's still here now).

Food and drink
Breakfast we thought was average compared to a lot of hotels we've stayed in before. There is quite a lot of choice but no variety and the same food is there every day. There is cereal (2 types), juice (3 varieties), fresh fruit, typical bacon, sausage etc, salad, Thai food, dried fruits, an egg station (we didn't eat here but heard it was good), there was also a bread station where you could do toast but only white or brown sliced bread was provided. It would be nice if there was a larger variety of fresh bread each day. Also the pastries seemed quite dry (I think they were bough in and not made fresh in the hotel each day) and needed more variation. We were also informed that a rat was seen near the egg station. I didn't see this but it's not what you want to hear about the place you have to eat every day.

We are at the pool bar on our first day and the food was good although expensive compared to most other nearby restaurants. We didn't eat in the hotels other restaurants or use the room service although the menu looked good.

Grounds/pool
The grounds of the hotel are very pretty with lots of flowers and a big pond with fish in. It's very rare you would see the grounds being tendered and it could do with a general tidy. The hotel from the side doesn't look too nice either where the hotel sign has gone rusty and this has ran onto the white building and makes it look a bit run down. In general the resort as a whole could do with tidying up a bit.

The pool is nice and big with 2 children's pools and a larger pool with a shallow end at one end and a jacuzzi area at the other. It would be nice if there was an adults only section for those without children. The pool again is slightly run down, loose tiles with sharp edges, sun loungers needing a lick of paint and again there never seems to be anyone cleaning the pool area with rubbish and cigarette ends laying around.

Service
The hotel reception were generally friendly and despite the limited English usually managed to help. We have had an issue getting a late check out and it seems it is one rule for some and another for others as people we met paid 300 baht to keep their room for 4 hours and we have been told 200 baht per hour despite complaining that people we met paid less.

The hotel throw a cocktail party every Thursday which is a nice touch and you can have free drinks and snacks and the opportunity to speak to the manager for an hour.

Kata
Kata is very touristy and I wouldn't advise coming here if you want to experience real Thailand. I feel like I could be anywhere in Europe. The majority of restaurants seem to cater for the European market with all restaurants serving pizza and burgers which always came before the Thai food on the menu. The food is pretty cheap but again slightly more expensive compared to other places I have visited in Thailand.

Overall, despite what appears to be a pretty negative review we have had a good couple of weeks here but I think you should expect a 3* hotel rather than the 4* it is advertised as.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Address: 7/1 Ketkwan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an eclectic mix of unrivalled services and facilities, Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa is the destination of choice for singles, couples and families alike. A combination of charming oriental hospitality showcased by friendly and personalized service and intelligently designed facilities creates a perfect holiday experience with memories to last a lifetime. The resort's peaceful setting fosters a laid-back and relaxed ambience in which guests can completely switch off and enjoy the luxury of the surroundings and the many facilities at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Phuket Nalina Hotel Karon
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort And Spa
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.