We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the discounted price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7/1 Ketkwan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the discounted price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for me and 5 friends for my birthday weekend. It looks nice in all the pictures and the reviews generally read well. Well - don't be fooled. This hotel is not worth the discounted price. On arrival, the staff were neither helpful nor polite. The room that we booked was not given to us and the room that was given smelt so bad. If you think the pool looks wonderful in the pictures, don't be fooled. The gym was terrible. I travel a lot with work and the staff in this hotel have certainly never been trained in customer service. Horrific!! I would rather spend a little more next time and avoid this hotel again at all costs!!

Room Tip: Pay more and stay in a villa - not that I saw one, but it has to be better than the standard rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    142
    53
    22
    22
See reviews for
61
159
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This resort was absolutely fabulous. The staff were friendly, the rooms were very clean and modern, the pool was big and clean with comfortable seats. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time there and even stayed an extra 4 nights instead of elsewhere in Thailand. Easy walk to great restaurants and a shuttle service to the beach or else it's an easy 10 min walk. Definently recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We chose a basic queen room on the 4th level and it was quiet with a great view of the pool and rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Had the best stay both times we stayed here , the jazz access rooms are a must as all know how hot this region is , the restaurants on the hotel premises are perfect for those who are not looking for the 5 star dining experience but for a more homely and family orientated meal , room service is timely and tasty as always delivered with a smile as is any request made upon the hotel staff, the free shuttle to the beach can also be a gossend on those hotter days , the hotels location in my consideration is that is is perfectly situated to be central to most of the activates available in is tropical paradise , a special mention to the restaurant directly opposite the hotel called Thai Thaithis restaurant is run by a lovely gentleman named Mr Noon this is a very reasonably priced restaurant with a great menu and a abundance of friendly service , I would recommend both these establishments if going to Phuket , I know we are May 2011 see you there

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We satyed there for the first time and we had a very enjobale experience and we certainly will be back. The resort is romantic and on a big land with a huge pool. We stayed in the pool access room where we could jump right into the pool from out room terrcace. good breakfast buffet and good food around the pool durinf the day. They also have a semi private beach and thy provide free shuttle which takes only 5 minutes from the hotel. try the Pizza in the Italien Pizzeria outlet...VERY GOOD! We alsoenjoyed a sap treatment in their well designed spa suite and it was very relaxing and inexpensice at 2000.- for two peopel for two hours.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms...Jaz room...very great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here in late Aug 2012 and booked one of the pool access rooms. I would recommend these rooms. I had a swim each morning before breakfast . The main pool is huge !!!!!!!!
Buffet breakfast was good no complaints. Staff were all very friendly, the guests drinks on Thursday was a bonus. As far as I could see it was an open bar for an hour. Was great to talk to staff and give them feedback on our stay .
The shuttle bus to beach was handy as well.

We will definitely go back to stay.

Room Tip: Pool access worth the extra collars
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our 7th trip to Thailand but our first time in Phuket as we have previously always gone to Koh Samui, which we love. We prefer swimming in the sea to a pool and Kata beach was the best we saw during our stay along the stretch of coast between Surin and Katathani. This hotel was great value for money and has its own private stretch on Kata beach with loungers, umbellas and towels. A shuttle runs hourly from the hotel to their beach - it is walkable if you can cope with the heat but we hired a scooter a few doors down from the hotel to give us more flexibility including for dining out and shopping.
Our room was spacious and on the 4th floor - there are lifts. It was very quiet for a hotel block. Breakfast was standard 4+ star hotel buffet fare and the service was very good. Only complaint is that the bacon was inedible every morning having been cooked and kept warm until it was the consistency of shoe leather.
We would stay here again and recommend the pool access rooms where you have a covered balcony to sit and read even if it's raining with the pool right alongside.

Room Tip: Pool access room for a great spot even when it's raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

After reading many wonderful reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor, we booked it for 8 nights in early August. We were not disappointed. Breakfast was as usual with all of the necessary foods such as eggs, bakery goodies, fruit, cereal and toast. The staff were very friendly. Hotel gardens are well-maintained, there is a reasonably priced restaurant and the beautiful day spa had some great specials - the relaxation massages (for hubby and me) were delightful. We had a pool access room which I really recommend as it meant that we could swim at any time whereas the main pool closes at 7 pm, which is too early in a hot climate. The shuttle bus runs on the hour to the beach but really it is not that far to walk and it is very pleasant to sit on the hotel's sun lounges on the beach (at no cost). There are plenty of foot massage shops nearby as restaurants and markets. The only downside is that the beds are very hard. I asked for another mattress topper that did make the bed softer. Also the sun lounges on the room balcony are timber and without any cushions (interestingly the lounges at the main pool all have cushions!), so I asked that 2 be brought to our room and placed on them otherwise they would have been extremely uncomfortable. Both requests were carried out very quickly. Air conditioner was very efficient. Kata is much quieter and less touristy than Patong. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a pool access room - it is certainly worth a little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Address: 7/1 Ketkwan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an eclectic mix of unrivalled services and facilities, Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa is the destination of choice for singles, couples and families alike. A combination of charming oriental hospitality showcased by friendly and personalized service and intelligently designed facilities creates a perfect holiday experience with memories to last a lifetime. The resort's peaceful setting fosters a laid-back and relaxed ambience in which guests can completely switch off and enjoy the luxury of the surroundings and the many facilities at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Phuket Nalina Hotel Karon
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort And Spa
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.