We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING OUT OF THIS WORLD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7/1 Ketkwan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
united kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING OUT OF THIS WORLD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I travelled to this hotel with my family, including my disabled mother and elderly aunt. I cannot believe some of the reviews i have read as we found this hotel excellant - the service and attention to detail was second to none - nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very arttentuive and helpful towards my mother and helped her on every possible occassion, even if it was just down one step. As my mother lives with us, we found this very helpful as it gave us a complete break and worry free fortnight and she herself appreciated the help. The rooms were spotlessly clean, out bare feet never seemed to get dirty! The bedding was changed daily and fresh towels provided. The food was very good and very well presented and on the one occasion we asked for room service again this was provided quickley and with a smile. The porters never waited or expected a tip - this left entirely to your own discretion.All in all we found all of the staff. from the general manager down to be helpful, caring obliging and wishing to please. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as it certainly suited our needs and appeared also to be very child friendly and orientated. Full marks to all at the hotel - you gave us a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: pool access room are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    142
    53
    22
    22
See reviews for
61
159
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My wife and I truly enjoyed our stay at The Alpina Resort. We have been to Thailand 13 times, and the hotel is absolutely one of the best hotels, we have been to. We have added it to our very short list of 'must return to hotels'

From the moment we arrived and throughout the entire stay, the friendliness of the entire staff and the service they provided, made us feel most velcome.

There´s a shuttle bus 10 times a day to a private part of the nearby beach, with free beach chairs. Not to forget the cocktail parties at the reception area on thursdays.

When staying in the room, there´s a wonderfull view of the nearby mountain, with The Big Budda raising into the air.

Room Tip: We recomend a room on the top floor in one of the 4 seperate buildings. It provides the best view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is definitely not four star as claimed, rooms have little privacy, exposed to pool with no curtains. Staff unhelpful, management refuse to deal with complaints and not located close to beach or any facilities as stated. Appears to be much older than shown in website, taxi drivers outside charge exorbitant rates due to location. There are many hotels nearby that are of a far higher standard and quality... You get what you pay for really applies to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

If you going to this hotel thinking that it's a four star hotel, you would be pretty disappointed. I have been to other hotel back in 2009 to phuket to a three star hotel and it was just as good, if not even better than Alpina.

We schedule a mini van for pick up at the airport, the driver was good and it took about 60 mins for the ride to the hotel. Both the van and the driver was good.

Once we arrive, the arrange of rooms were so so. The service and smile didn't give us the welcome we expect. Room service took about 30 mins and we were brought to our pool access room at the far end (with no direct access to the main pool).

The room we got smells like nobody live there for a week. It looks wore out and both the floor and the bathtub wasn't upto the standard of a four star, not even three star.

The room feels dirty and the daily room service was barely noticeable. no shower jel replace until we ask... no towel replace... etc

there is no bug screen at the door to the pool, so bug fly into the room whenever we walk in and out.

Only one room card was given for two people's home which was very inconvenience.

I would not recommend this hotel for people to stay if you are considering the pool access rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed here with my teenage daughter. We enjoyed the pool and the rooms were adequate for two people we were in single beds and had a small balcony of which had a nice view of the pool. At night there was a nice band singing in the restaurant and the food here was generally of a good - high standard as was the buffet breakfast which was included with our room rate. This hotel was somewhat set back from the beach but a free shuttle was avaliable. The hotel was centrally otherwise located with a seven eleven just next door etc..the eatery across the street was cheap as chips and we ate there several times as well as in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We arrived in Phuket after a longer-than-expected flight from Bali and were quite worn out and tired especially after feeling a bit ripped-off with our taxi fair to the area.

When we arrived at the hotel we were very impressed - it is very beautiful and very big and we were greeted with nice cool tropical juice drinks. There was an issue with our check-in (NOT at the fault of the hotel) where there was miscommunication from the third party through which we'd booked our holiday - they hadn't fully alerted the hotel that we'd changed our booking dates rather than cancelled. However the manager handled this quite nicely (we were quite stressed which I'm sure she could see) and luckily there was the room we had booked available. Luckily we had printed out our confirmation which stated our booking - this was very important! The hotel tried to contact the third party but there was a problem with the internet and finding a phone number, and so I ended up contacting someone at home to call the third party booking agency so that they would inform the hotel properly which resolved our problem immediately. The manager came and informed us straight away that all was well, which was a nice relief.

Our room was really lovely - nice and spacious, incredibly comfortable bed, very big bathroom, and nice verandah leading into the pool! The room was also beautifully furnished and we were very impressed. Also appreciated the 2 free bottles of water daily and the very efficient turndown service that seemed to visit multiple times daily.

The hotel is in a wonderful location - a short walk away from a huge variety of restaurants, shopping, and a slightly longer (but still pleasant) walk to the beach and a market in Karon. Across the road from the hotel was a lovely (and incredibly cheap) restaurant with amazing food that we frequented quite often. It was also only a short tuk-tuk ride away from the market in Patong. The hotel has a shuttle bus to the beach every hour between 9 a.m and 6 p.m which is the most amazing beach which we came across on our holiday (to both Bali and Phuket). This shuttle service is awesome and free and very helpful. Also at the beach is set aside beach-beds and towels for guests of the Alpina which was great.

The tour desk at the hotel was very helpful and allowed us to book an elephant trek with ease, very smoothly. The staff were also very helpful with recommending markets and places to shop - we used the hotel taxi driver at one point who offered us great advice on where to go and what to do. We thought he was expensive at first, however he took us to several stops, waited for us and was happy to take us where we needed to go. Our return fare to the airport was also a lot cheaper than expected - we used the hotel taxi service for this (at 3 a.m!).

One night of our stay we were invited to have drinks the following night which was very nice. We attended these, and did not realize that it was a free cocktail night for the entire hotel with lovely cocktails, spirits, wine, beer, soft drink and nibbles for free with live entertainment! It was really nice, very unexpected, and a great chance to mingle with other guests as well as talk to the manager and other staff.

Our only slight negative for the hotel was that the restaurant there was quite expensive when we chose to have dinner there one night. However the food was very lovely, and when we had lunch a few days earlier at the pool-side bar, it was again lovely food and also at a reasonable price. The breakfast buffet is quite nice, and they have a good omelette station as well as a range of other foods.

The pool is really nice - quite big and nicely landscaped. We enjoyed how it gets shallow at one end and the jacuzzi part of the other end of the pool - all in all a great pool. We stayed in a direct pool-access room which we would definitely recommend! Definitely worth it - so good being able to get straight into the pool whenever!

Staying at this hotel really made our trip to Phuket and we would definitely love to stay here again - already looking at going to Thailand again to stay here! We really loved the hotel, and the staff were so nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Direct Pool-Access Room is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel at the end of October and it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is a little bit away from the beach, however well organized free shuttle service solves the problem. It's well located from shopping and eating/drinking point of view (I would recommend an eatery just in front - cheap and tasteful). The hotel is well maintained and staff is very polite.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa

Address: 7/1 Ketkwan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an eclectic mix of unrivalled services and facilities, Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa is the destination of choice for singles, couples and families alike. A combination of charming oriental hospitality showcased by friendly and personalized service and intelligently designed facilities creates a perfect holiday experience with memories to last a lifetime. The resort's peaceful setting fosters a laid-back and relaxed ambience in which guests can completely switch off and enjoy the luxury of the surroundings and the many facilities at their disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Phuket Nalina Hotel Karon
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort And Spa
Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpina Phuket Nalina Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.