We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Country House

Save Saved
You added Kata Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kata Country House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Kata Road | Tambon Karon, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Kata Beach
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I was amazed that some reviews on this hotel are very bad and some are very good. It tried my luck nonetheless... And while staying there for 10 days, I realized that nearly all are true, the good ones and the bad ones... but that the "bad ones" are limitations I could live with. On the whole I would recommand that hotel.

Positive :
- nice garden and alleys, very green, shady and calm.
- wooden bungalows are vast and have their own style (like it or not)...
- good location in Kata : lots of shops, restaurants etc.nearby to enjoy. Kata is rather calm and familiy and couple-compatible (it's not Patong).
- staff is rather nice and try to help
- nice swimming pool with very pleasant surroundings, good mixture of sun and shade ; very enjoyable to cool off a day or two when you're tired of going around the island.
- taxi to the airport rented at the lobby was a bit expensive but very professional : on time although a very early start, a big and deluxe minivan for us 2 only, good professional "international" driving style (not the local "spicy" style if you know what I mean). Very pleasant and reliable when going back home and not wanting to take the risk of being late or anything else.

Negative :
- kata beach is a 10 minutes walk because you have to go around the huge "Club Med". My advice : it's not the best beach anyway sof after tryning it once, read "pocket phuket" by Lonely Planet and try other beaches and points of interest as advised in this excellent guide. You'll need some means of transport though.
- air conditionning stops when you go away (works with the key) : well, it's understandable for the electricity bills. Room becomes cool in about 10 minutes and really pleasant in about half an hour : that's about the time you need to get ready for bed. Noisy air conditionning but it didn't prevent us to sleep well.
- wooden bungalows have splits in the floor and walls and mosquitos come in. Moskito net on the bed does have holes ! My advice : use an electric anti-mosquito and plug it in the plug used by the TV (stays on even when you remove the key). And also : try a deluxe room, at around the same price it must be more classic but more modern than the bungalows.
- there are some small building works going on the site... Not too noisy nor disturbing if it's not right in front of your window.
- staff speaks little english... but it's enough to manage most situations.
- lots of Russians indeed but I did't see any reason to complain about it.
- wifi only near the lobby. Well, you have to live with it.
- computer for rent (internet cafe-style) are very slow and really suck. Use any other internet cafe if you need a computer and a printer.

More generally about Phuket, stay away form any one trying to make you fill a form on touristic sites or people telling you you've won the golden ticket or anything like that : it's aggressive marketing for timeshare companies. Buy good moskito repellent and solar cream... And you'll spend wonderful holidays !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    34
    5
    18
See reviews for
38
71
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel was the biggest mistake of my trip. The staff is terrible. The cleaners were not ready to clean the room. The staff was off at 4pm. They give only 2 bottles per room and won't give you more. Extremely uncaring staff. I asked them to call a taxi for me they refused to do it. There is no room service and the WiFi is only at the reception and not at the lobby. Do not stay here you will have a bad experience.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The hotel grounds are very nice no question. However, the staff is just too bizarre. We stayed here 3 nights and upon our first night we noticed a DEAD LIZARD in our bathroom. Not a big deal really, but we told the staff at the desk to have it removed next day during the regular cleaning service. They nodded and smiled and said "yes...yes." Well, the next day after our cleaning the dead lizard was still in our bathroom. It looked like it had been there for weeks, which made us question, do they not remove dead things from rooms that people pay for? It was quite noticeable to any cleaning person. Anyways, we went back to them, told them we wanted it removed now (I would have done it myself but would have needed a knife to scrap it off the wall; also its a matter of principle when your a guest and paying money for a hotel) and they removed it.

Our next concern is there is NO WIFI in the rooms. You have to sit in a mosquito infested lobby to get a connection. They have very few chairs to sit in, and after 10pm you can no longer use it -you have to then pay for it. WHAT KIND OF HOTEL CHARGES THEIR GUESTS TO USE WIFI!!!???

Next concern is they put us up at the back of the hotel where they are building more guesthouses. With such a large premise, why put your guests in a CONSTRUCTION ZONE when there were other rooms in quite areas that were empty?

Last and not least. They have everything overpriced. They charged us 900 baht to get to the airport (we had no choice as we had to catch a flight and had no time to search for other drivers, we had to go asap).

This was one of our worst stays while travelling SEA for 2 months. Would never go back here even if it costs $10 dollars a night, and I would certainly not recommend this to anybody willing to pay what they ask for. Horrible hotel!

Room Tip: Dont come to this hotel...period!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel I like very much. I was there in February in this year 10 very beautiful days. The best in this hotel is his area. Full of flowers, palms and other trees. The swimpool is good. Room are clean and personall is very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Kata Beach is much nicer than Patong or Karon. However, staying here will mean a 5 minute walk to the beach as directly across from Kata Country House is a giant wall encircling Club Med. The location was great for us as it was close enough to the beach, and right near all the restaurants, bars and shops. I recommend coming out of the hotel and turning left (south) as its quicker.

The pool is great, but the swim-up bar and all facilities there were closed for our whole stay even though we asked for it to be opened (not sure they understood our request!).

The included breakfast is average - though we just paid for it each morning depending on what we were doing. Eggs, cereal and Thai options. The food in the hotel's restaurant is nice enough as well, but go for a short walk to find heaps more places.

It was a bit noisy at night time - but this was because of other hotel guests not outside noise. I could hear them drinking on their verandas etc.

Good for the price.

Room Tip: We picked a bungalow. They served our purpose as we weren't hanging in our rooms all day. They w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed there one night.
Beds dirty
Staff unfriendly
Location unsafe
No smiles
No help
No room safe but a reception safe which hotel tells you to put your valuable items there for security and they lock the safe at night. Hmmmmm

A place for party drunks. Not for family or kids.

Didn't sleep all night.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

you get what you pay for. i booked the basic room, at a very basic price. The room is spacious, bed is comfy, furniture old timer, but may be their theme is such. Bathroom basic. Hot shower working well. Thumbs up. location is pretty good. Between the Karon & Kata Beach. They give you bikes on rent- the hotel itself at market price. Thats a positive. has a fresh fruit stall right outside, another positive. Minimart within 50 mtrs range. Everything availaible. love the place. Nice to stay when you are a couple or even with family. The swimming pool is great. Clean Blue water. well maintained.
Rented a bike and drove around. within 2kms has manu food outlets. plenty of bars. and some high end dining outlets too. over all 4.5 out of 5.
Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Country House

Address: 82 Kata Road | Tambon Karon, Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Country House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kata Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Country House Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Country Hotel
Kata Country House Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;