We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kata Country House to your Saves list
Kata Country House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Kata Road | Tambon Karon, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never again!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there one night.
Beds dirty
Staff unfriendly
Location unsafe
No smiles
No help
No room safe but a reception safe which hotel tells you to put your valuable items there for security and they lock the safe at night. Hmmmmm

A place for party drunks. Not for family or kids.

Didn't sleep all night.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Showtimetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

you get what you pay for. i booked the basic room, at a very basic price. The room is spacious, bed is comfy, furniture old timer, but may be their theme is such. Bathroom basic. Hot shower working well. Thumbs up. location is pretty good. Between the Karon & Kata Beach. They give you bikes on rent- the hotel itself at market price. Thats a positive. has a fresh fruit stall right outside, another positive. Minimart within 50 mtrs range. Everything availaible. love the place. Nice to stay when you are a couple or even with family. The swimming pool is great. Clean Blue water. well maintained.
Rented a bike and drove around. within 2kms has manu food outlets. plenty of bars. and some high end dining outlets too. over all 4.5 out of 5.
Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is a cheap hotel and the rooms very basic. I stayed in a standard room which was large and decorated with mismatched 'and very dated' furniture. The room had a bit of a nasty smell. the bathroom was very basic, shower set beside toilet , curtain rings but no shower curtain. Bed and pillows hard, but that seems to be consistent in asia.
Had family members staying in a deluxe room which was not much better,
On a positive note: the breakfast served in the hotel restaurant at the front of the resort, was really good.The pool/s are great, with swim up bar and long coktail list on offer. there is a nice cafe next to the pool also. Staff were nice and very helpful arranging tours, taxis and checking out, there is a wrapping machine in reception for securing luggage when you are about to jet off. I asked for a kettle and cups which were brought to the room quickly and with a smile.
The entrance to the hotel and walk through to rooms and pools is lovely, very lush and gives a real tropical feel.
would not stay here again purely on the state of the rooms, but its cheap by comparison to hotels in the area so I guess it is a case of getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondee2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Amazing hotel. As you drive down the alley to reception the feel is already with you and as you are escorted to you room through these amazing gardens the feel is with you to stay for the duration of your stay. We had 13 nights here and I would go back tomorrow. Perfect position amazing setting. We had room number 020 (two bedrooms) with a view across the lake, trees, flowers, magnificent bright pink water lilies. Who would believe we where in the very middle of busy Kata. Shops, restaurants,everything we needed as you step out of the front. You can even overlook the prison like wall erected around the Club Med. Beach absolutely stunning and an easy walk from the hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.A 5 out of 5 for us.Most guests where not English speaking which some guests may find off putting.

Room Tip: We started in room 12 which was not suitable to us. The staff moved us to room 20 the very next morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have stayed here a few times now, but not since the renovations started, seemed to take years to finish.
Maybe now that all that banging and so forth has stopped I might go back.
well that is if it's finished.
quite a pleasant looking place, It has a real thai feel as you enter, the deluxe rooms were next to each other, and you can hear whats going on next door, but not a problem.
the food was nice in the restaurant, but I just don't do breakfast anymore in these hotels,
I would prefer to eat out when I leave the hotel.
well it is a bit of a hike to the beach, not 5 minutes, but not 25, 2 reviews I read.
It might take a while because there are lots of shops and restaurants on the way.
I just hired a motorbike and went straight to the beach,
the cabins were pretty good, it was like my own little house I came home to every night.
well sometimes morning,
I think a lot of people have a few problems with staff in a lot of these reviews I have read,
I never have that problem, maybe because I spent a bit of time learning some thai,
I have seen them get upset when some people cannot speak english and expect them to know chinese russian swedish etc:
all in all this place is ok, for the price.
I am single and travel with my sister or daughter, I like to get a motorbike, easy only a few minutes to the beach, walking in the hot sun is for shoppers.

Room Tip: get a bungalow, if you like privacy, and a motorbike, if you don't like walking in the hot sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiescorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Kata Country House is a reasonably priced resort about 25 minutes walk from the beach. We got to see a cross section of the rooms available at the Kata, because we had to move room 3 times. I quickly add that we weren’t being pernickety or fussy, the rooms had genuine and significant issues. (Bad smells, faulty electrics, broken air-con etc...) Eventually we asked if we could pay extra to upgrade to a newer, better room. We were given a brand new room in an apartment block only just built and after that things were just fine.

The staff at the Kata were excellent, especially the reception manageress, who was super helpful and ever willing to make things better. All of the staff were attentive and polite and hard working. The buffet breakfast in the restaurant was very good, although the quality of the evening meals could be variable, depending on the pressure upon the (seemingly over-stretched) kitchen & waiting staff.

Summing up: Staff are excellent but accommodation could be better overall.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newer rooms. They are significantly better than the older ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photopical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nice enough, good size rooms nice décor, clean, average breakfast, lovely pool.
Great location as close to the beach as you can get for this price, close to shops restaurants etc... The hotel had a fairly good restaurant to. Down side the room had a musky, damp, mouldy smell including the bed linen. Which I asked to be aired but didn't help. I could smell the musty smell on our clothes after we left. I did not find the reception staff very helpful but thankfully didn't have much to do with them. There seems to be an issue with the toilet paper none in the room when we arrived and when I went to ask they sent someone to the room to check that I was telling the truth well that's how I felt, He even picked up my little roll as if to suggest I had toilet paper which I quickly pointed out was mine and not enough. On the last day we used our own paper again as it had run out and not been replaced, ticked off with that, Otherwise nice place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#37 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#43 of 56 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Country House

Address: 82 Kata Road | Tambon Karon, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kata Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Country House Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Country Hotel
Kata Country House Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing