We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Minta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kata Minta to your Saves list
Kata Minta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Kata Beach
Berkel en Rodenrijs, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Such a nice and hidden place in crowded Kata Beach, Phuket. Only a few minutes walk to the beach. We stayed here for one night during our holiday in Thailand. Rooms are clean and furnished in Thai style. Also the staff was very friendly and coorperative.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
28
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just perfect location and awesome staff. Location suberb, just 5-7 min. walk to the beach, only 1 cross the street. Breakfast is not so wide, but enough to fill your stomach to go on :)
Only one thing that bothered was AC -roof, which had a bit mold. My sister sneezed but I didn´t had any problems. Rooms are very big, well cleaned and every day different towel art on bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Kata Minta is a lovely traditional style small hotel. The hotel is situated on a busy road and opposite a bar and restaurant, and whilst we had concerns about the noise it was not an issue at night. Our room 302 was a at the front of the hotel, centre point under the Kata Minta sign with a nice big balcony to watch the world go by.

Good location, 5mins walk to Kata beach, 15mins to Kata Central [the really busy bit], 20mins to Karon, 10min walk to Kata Noi. 5mins walk to the main hub of Kata bars and restaurants.

The rooms are a decent size, large bed, clean and tidy. The only issue we had was that we felt the bathrooms were very old and dated [needing a refresh], and the design of the sink / basin meant that if Mr Mitch was shaving I could not get in – although if he moved and I walked in there was plenty of room – just a small gripe for us.

Breakfast is nice, but if you are into the large American fare then this is not for you. It does the job and is served with a smile.

The staff are very happy and friendly!

Well priced and welcoming!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel over look the main road, so have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Kata Minta is truly a hidden treasure, near to the beaches of Kata and especially Kata Noi, but away from the typical tourist rumble. The traditional boutique style (which is actually northern Thai or 'Lanna') and friendly staff will make you feel almost like a family member.
The excellent manager, Wee, deserves a special compliment, for outstanding service and making every guest feel at home.
A few meters up hill there is a traditional English Pub, The Griffin, where this small intimate style tourist strip comes to its completion, in contrast to the much larger resorts and somewhat banal bars elsewhere in Kata. Kata Minta and The Griffin are for those who are looking for authenticity and excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the backside for optimal quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent one night in the Kata Minta while at Kata beach in Phuket. Our experience was a wonderful one.

After looking at many reviews online trying to find a hotel that was a good value we decided on this one. Although this hotel does not have direct beach access it is only a 2 minute walk to the beach. That was the only (small) drawback to this hotel for us.

The room was very clean and a great size. We had a balcony where we could dry our bathing suits and sit out on to people watch and breakfast was included in the room-rate. But by far the best thing about this hotel was the staff especially the receptionist Nok. I had been in contact with her by e-mail before arriving and she went out of her way to ensure all of our travel arrangements to the hotel were taken care of. When we arrived she made us feel very welcome and tended to all of our questions. The rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful as well.

Overall our experience at the Minta was superb. I would recommend this place to anyone I knew going to Kata beach.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel are bright and have a balcony overlooking the front courtyard of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We always stay here if there is a room available. All went smoothly, most of the staff are still there. Close to beach,shops,restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

2 days before the new year Eve we found Kata Minta without pre-booking which they gave us an amazing room with very good price! The staff very friendly especially one woman(dont remember name) which help us so much!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Minta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Minta

Address: 156,158,160 Moo 2, Patak Road | Kata Beach, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 53 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Minta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Kata Minta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minta Hotel Kata
Kata Minta Hotel
Kata Minta Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Minta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.