We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access

Save Saved
You added Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   92/16 Khoktanod Road | T.Karon, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was going to write a review but have just read the review by Miss TropicalTravel and she beat me to it. I would exactly the same and add that the Italian restaurant, opposite the hotel is called Rugatino.

We did find the staff helpful and not in your face and our room perfect for what we needed.

A really good stay for New Years.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool access. They are more modern. We didn't have one and the room was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    97
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
48
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Kata Lucky Villas for a New Year break in Phuket. The property was just a five minute walk from Kata Noi beach. Yes the walk is along quite a busy road but that was absolutely fine, and the road is littered with lovely bars and restaurants. I can definitely recommend the Italian just opposite the hotel and 'Largo', a tapas bar as you arrive into Kata Noi.

On arrival I was really impressed with the room: it was modern, spacious, clean with a very comfortable bed, large bathroom and all mod cons required to make our stay. We opted for the pool access room which was an excellent choice; I liked the fact that we could have a swim and leave our belongings on our patio area. The hotel grounds were well-maintained and I liked the layout of the property, again modern and clean.

Breakfast at D'Rice kitchen was adequate for me: there was a choice of cereals, asian-style breakfast, bacon and eggs, waffles and pancakes, tea, coffee and juices. If you get there early enough there is also an omelette chef who will cook you specific omelettes. Was a bit disappointed that the tickets you get given for breakfast from the reception state that breakfast is until 10:30am yet the hotel booklet states 11am.

Bit of a tip: also the room service menu is impressive and offers quite a selection, I wouldn't be tempted. We ordered it one day and our food arrived cold. We found out why one day on a walk back from the beach, they have to carry your food from the D'Rice kitchen on the edge of the property to your bedroom (which in our case was quite a stroll away). They also don't cover your food so all manner of flies and in some case (which we witnessed to the poor recipitant) rain affects your food. Just a note to save you from complaining about getting cold food.

The bar on our side of the property (pool access side) was rarely manned which meant that we just kept going to the local 7-11 to buy beers and vodka and just loaded up the fridge with our goodies. Saved money and going to reception to ask them to put a member of staff on the bar. The reception staff were okay but never once went out of our way to make us feel welcome or appreciated, I don't think we were even greeted with a smile on check-in! There always seemed to be about six members of staff on reception but they always seemed too engrossed in their phones or the internet to be able to serve you. Bit rude but we were there for the sun and not the service (although I suppose that's what you pay for).

No Wi-Fi access was included with our stay, I regularly bought wi-fi vouchers from reception (when I could get served). These were 50 Baht for an hour. Not important to me but worth noting for your information.

Overall I would recommended this property for a first-time stay in Kata, Phuket. If you want somewhere with a good room and pool access where you can create your own entertainment with friends, this is perfect for you. If you're looking for a resort-style hotel with entertainment, restaurants and bars then Kata Lucky Villas definitely doesn't fit the bill. This hotel is quiet quiet quiet in the evenings with nothing going on whatsoever. They had no decorations for Christmas and New Year and no events planned at all on New Years' Eve, which we did find weird. Luckily the beach was the place to be and that was unbelievably amazing.

Just be aware that this property is quite basic when it comes to additional amenities and 'fun'. It seemed to be a popular choice for Russians and Scandinavians. As visitors from the UK, we were in the minority, but we didn't care at all and were in the pool morning noon and night! Next time we'll try somewhere else as we thought it was quite expensive here for what you got in return, but it's a good location and worth trying once- if you get a decent room rate.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the pool access room, fun fun fun and midnight swimming a must! (if you're shh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights whilst staying in Phuket with another couple and had opted for a room with pool access. We had rooms next to each other which was great as this meant we could have a dip in the pool together and have a drink on the balconies. Make sure you prepare for mosquito's though....

The rooms were clean and air conditioned. No complaints at all.

The hotel itself was a unique design which I thought was good.

The breakfast selection was limited and generally a bit disappointing. It was also a bit of a walk off the complex to get there. I also ordered room service for some lunch which arrived cold which I assume is down to it being cooked at the breakfast location.

I also found it disappointing that WiFi wasn't included in the price of the rooms. But this is pretty common in hotels so perhaps a little unfair to hold this against Kata Lucky Villas.

The location itself is good if you want a good beach location (walking distance) that is quiet. If you are planning on some nightlife then I would stay nearer to Patong. Taxi/Tuk Tuk's aren't cheap in Phuket so if you are planning on regular Karon/Patong visits I would recommend staying nearer to those places.

I would probably give 4* vote if the food/breakfast was improved and WiFi was included for guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at Kata Lucky Villas for 10 nights in December 2012 and from the outset the staff were very friendly and very helpful. We opted for one of the bungalows which gave us more space and privacy but also because they were set in beautiful greenery. Had a quick look at the pool access and we had made the right choice for us. Massage by the pool every day was great and cheap by European standards!!! Breakfast left a bit to be desired, I think the last time I had orange 'cordial' was when I was a kid! But hubby nipped up to Starbucks every day and got me a proper coffee and sarnie. Location was fine and we made friends with a great Thai guy called Pom who works as a taxi driver for the hotel, his wife works in reception and she is a sweetheart. Pom took us everywhere we wanted to go, short or long hops so we did not bother hiring a car although you can hire a car from the hotel. You can also hire mopeds from the hotel which are cheap as chips, about GBP5 for 24 hours. Our room was spacious, plenty of cupboard space, a private safe, TV (which we never watched cos we were too busy) and a comfortable bed, bedding was good too although I do have to moan about the towels! Take your own towels as the quality of the ones provided are so poor I would not even give them to my housemaid! Now for the guests............................. if you don't like Russians then don't even think of staying at this hotel, what a bunch of unfriendly people. As a Brit, if we see someone every day we at least nod to in acknowledgement or even say hello and hey sometimes we even strike a conversation with fellow guests but not this time. I think we were the only Brits staying there, the other Brits seemed to stay up the road in Karon Beach area. Nevertheless I am happy that we chose Kata Lucky Villas for our stay as the hospitality and politeness from the staff far outweighed the rudeness of other guests. Sorry if you are Russian and are reading this but that was our experience!!

Room Tip: We preferred a front deluxe villa by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Would not go back to karon or kata but this was great mid range option , clean , , great pool, mountain view, distance from kata was really not an issue ,bed too hard though .I would not recommend staying in this part if Thailand unless you are keen on Russian tours .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Hotel Manager at Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking fresh atmosphere to our service and facilities.

We're very happy to know that during your stay our service match you satisfy.
However, we've well received for your comments and will improve our service in the future.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul
Hotel Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Half the price of the 5 star places - so let's keep it in perspective. Really quite liked the room - modern, clean and spacious. Breakfast was rather average. Guys - fruit juice always beats chilled cordial. Would always favour one big resort pool rather than the strange layout at Lucky Villa. And would have loved two keys. Mustn't forget the mattresses - just so hard. Not since a $25 room in China have I encountered worse. And the air cond struggled to get temperatures down to a comfy level after being off all day. Yep - it's a bit of a hike to get there; but grew to actually enjoy the eclectic mix of properties on the 5 min walk into town. reception staff a delight; or those at brekkie less so. But all in all - for the price - I was not unhappy. Oh, and Kata rocks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Hotel Manager at Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking fresh atmosphere to our service and facilities.

We're very happy to know that during your stay our service match you satisfy.
However, we've well received for your comments and will improve our service in the future.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul
Hotel Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in the wet season. It was very quiet and had to ask a couple of times for someone to serve at the bar.
The room was adequate but nothing special.
Luckily we booked through Agoda so got a cheaper rate.
It's a little way out of the town but they put on a bus (flat bed truck) service into town

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratchapol B, Hotel Manager at Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your holiday and great to know your highly satisfaction of our resort - from the peaceful location with breathtaking fresh atmosphere to our service and facilities.

We're very happy to know that during your stay our service match you satisfy.
However, we've well received for your comments and will improve our service in the future.

Thank you, and look forward to welcome you to our resort again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul
Hotel Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access

Address: 92/16 Khoktanod Road | T.Karon, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Specialty lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access in central Kata, a mere 500 meters from Kata Beach and is surrounded by mountains and beautiful gardens. If you have been searching for a place to relax- you can now end your search! We create a relaxing atmosphere in a tropical garden villa style for you and your family to enjoy. We are one of the best choices and will make you feel at home whilst you enjoy the warm, friendly and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Lucky Villas Hotel Kathu
Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Lucky Villa & Pool Access, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.