We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Kata Beach
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed in a room with pool access, so i could jump into the pool from the balcony. The room was very clean with a big TV with internet. Friendly Staff, good breakfast and just few minutes walk to the Kata Beach. I will come back very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    206
    80
    27
    22
See reviews for
54
159
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yangon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had the most wonderful and memorable time at this hotel, the staff was friendly, the food was good and the spa and massage was heavenly! i can't wait to go back again and maybe this time stay for a lot longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's my first time in Kata beach because sister-in-law preferred that to Patong. We decided to spend two nights here before we moved to Patong.

SIL chose this hotel because she was there around three or four years ago (it just opened then) and she loved it. We arrived at around 11am and were allowed to check-in. Cold tea and towel were served while we are waiting for the staffs to do all the paperwork. They were very friendly and warm. We had pool access rooms and were told there is a mac-mini in the rooms (surprise!) and a free mini bar (another surprise!!) with two bottles of water, coke and singha beer topped up daily for us. The room however, is a disappointment. The floor was very sandy as we walked in. SIL even had to ask housekeeping to mop the floor again and it was good and clean again! Does that mean it was not done before that?

The bed was very hard. The bathroom has missing shelf (I was staying in room 2012) and the tap of the bathtub is rusty. Breakfast is very disappointing. There is not much selection and the coffee is cold. I barely eat and prefer to eat elsewhere instead. Internet is non-existence unless you sit in the balcony area all day.

The location, however, is awesome, It's less than 5 mins walk to the beach and there's a lot of restaurants at the door step. The in-house massage is also very reasonable and the ladies are skilful.

Still, I would not stay there anymore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent a few nights at Sugar Palm Resort & Spa in February 2013.
The location is nice, very close to the beach and in the area there are a lot of shops and restaurants.
The hotel itself is not very clean, the rooms look ''poor'' and the quality of food served for breakfast is not good - we used to eat breaakfast somewhere else, even if it was included in our room rate.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there for two nights, sugar plan is a nice hotel, location is pretty good. Very close to shops and beach. Price is okay for service. Not a bad place to stay :) I wouldn't mind staying there next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Within walking distance to the beach, easy access to restaurants. The hotel was clean, functional and had wifi access. We had the pool access room so it was quite nice and peaceful in the mornings just to sit by the pool to have breakfast. The massage place outside the hotel is cheap and good. Overall, not a bad place and I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Reception staff and porter on arrival very helpful, we checked in early without a problem, The room was very clean and the free mini bar was superb. (never had a free mini bar before) the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was good but could have been a bit better, they let people smoke, while you are still eating, to me that really lowered the place, also there was a constant smell of cigarettes all around the hallways. The swimming pool was clean but because it's black tiles it looks dirty. The location is superb for Kata beach and surrounding restaurants and bars.
I would stay there again, and I would recommend it to my friends, I think it's value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Palm Resort
Sugar Palm Hotel
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach
Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION to your Saves list