We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Save Saved
You added Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Was skeptical of booking this place as it was a lot cheaper than our other hotels, I couldn't have been more wrong!

Apart from the beds which are rock hard & really a problem, everything else was great!

Staff were lovely & caring

Pool was ample

Location brilliant

Adjoining restaurant Mali, had such a great menu & the 5 times we ate there everything was awesome.

The hotel seems to turn over a great array of guests.

Rooms were cleaned well daily & the decor was great, pity about the hard beds!

All around great vibe & very happy with our week there! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: any of the pool view rooms are newer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    215
    84
    25
    21
See reviews for
60
170
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

After experiencing a bad hotel in Patong the staff were able to switch me from Sugar Hillside to Sugar Palm Resort so we could arrive a day earlier than booked. We paid for the extra night and they upgraded us to a poolside room with breakfast. Love the decor, the mac and the atmospehere. Wireless as a little slow but they are upgrading. Of the 3 places we stayed Kata beach was definitely the better choice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

hotel located in good location, close to everything. Free wireless and mini bar is a plus. However, room is quite a bit old but still clean and exceed expectation if you compare with the price. Breakfast was OK, not much option but enough for re-boot your day. Overall is OK

Room Tip: Not book superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Chose Sugar Palm after spending many hours researching the options. It is located at the end of a flat, paved and well lighted half Soi. We had a Pool View Room. It removed us slightly from the noise of early morning and late night bathers. The room was clean, spacious and adequately serviced daily. The aircon was was very efficient. There was tea, coffee and creamer sachets provided (2 of each) and topped up daily. A minor annoyance was the lack of a power point at a convenient location to plug the electric kettle into. 2 bottles of drinking water were provided daily. More could be purchased from the 7-11 only a few metres away for about 5 baht ea. The mini bar fridge kept these cool but not cold. (I suspect the fridge could have been getting tired). The buffet breakfast was OK with sufficient selection and variety to satisfy most (in my humble opinion). Fruit Juices, tea, coffe, cereal, toast, bacon, eggs freshly cooked anyway, croissants and a selection of thai dishes. The beautiful beach was located only a couple of minutes easy walking away. The location is easily accessible to all facilities including shopping, bars and food. Tuk Tuks and taxis are plentiful very close by and the buses are almost outside. I must recomend VERY HIGHLY, the massage facility at the end of the Soi (immeadiately on the right as one leaves the facility) The ladies there are just awesome be it nails, massage or whatever you fancy. As we moved around Kata and spotted some of the other places that we had shortlisted, it was repeatedly reaffirmed to us we had made the right choice. I had my own laptop and a smartphone with me and the free wifi worked perfectly. It was snappy and reliable. I did need to print some travel documents. This was a bit of a mission but in the end, the helpful reception staff did this for me on their computer and just charged me 5b a page for the paper. I did notice the free to use computers had most of the facilities a traveller may need including a web browser, skype, facebook and twitter plus more. Staff arranged for us to be picked up and returned to the airport (1000b a trip) in an aircon taxi (Toyota Car). I thought this was a bit dear until I found out the local taxis wanted 1200b - still too expensive compared to Bangkok ! In summary, we had a great stay, are very pleased with the facility and would not hesitate to return to this venue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Delayed review but just a quick world I loved Suga Palm. It was lovely place to rest and relax after long flight from London. It's nice and clean hotel.

There's lots of good restaurants around and the kata beach was fantastic. You also must visit the reggae bar at the beach!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Not terrible but not great either – just sort of meh.
Pretty good value I must admit – but you get what you pay for!
Service quite unhelpful and disinterested bordering on rude.
Rooms are modern but starting to look a bit shabby – especially the bathroom.
Location is good although not directly on beach, it’s about 2 mins slow dawdle away.
Definitely get a pool access room though – straight into the pool from your balcony.
Lots of kids, especially around pool.

Kata beach was the pick of places in Phuket – but still a bit too ‘package tourist’ for my liking.
We cut our booking short and headed to Krabi for a week of perfection.

p.s. Not surprised someone has had security issues here - didn't feel hugely secure, our door lock was a bit dodgy and easy to slip into the room via the balcony.

Room Tip: pool access room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel has no security and lets drug affected people wonder around the hotel. Could not wait to check out.

2nd in charge is a witch of a woman.

stay elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.