We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly Beachfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Save Saved
You added Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nearly Beachfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Simple rooms that is value for money. I have stayed here 3 times for the past 2 years and had like it for its almost beachfront stay without paying for exorbitant prices.
3 min walk to the beach where the surf spot of kata beach is waiting for you... If u just want a simple room and bum at Kata beach day in and out within 3 min and eating places within 3 mins.... Sugar Palm will not go wrong.. Do not expect 4-5 star treatment though... Just real close to he beach with a good room price..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    211
    84
    25
    21
See reviews for
58
167
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This place offers a decent room and a suitable pool within walking distance to the beach for about 1000 Baht per night. The staff are friendly, and the rooms are clean. The breakfast buffet is included in some packages, but if yours does not, there are plenty of places within a short walk that will suffice. The property sits at the end of a small 1/2 block soi, and there are a couple of restaurants, shops, a tattoo parlor there. At night, the mobile bar comes out and they setup a few tables. I had decent mojitos there. Overall, it's not right on the beach, but it certainly aint bad for the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

a great place to stay if travelling on a budget, the resort is situated mostly around the pool and pool view or pool access are what you should request. the place is far enough off the street to be quiet but close enough to feel like you are part of the area. they provide a good variety of foods at breakfast, although there is sometimes a bit of a gap for the refills of empty dishs. the rooms are clean, well kept, and spacious. The free Wifi connections are a bonus, but who has time to be on the internet, whilst in Thailand. Well worth a look.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A really nice hotel. Very welcoming nice facilities and good staff. We were only here for two nights but would certainly recommend if you are coming here.
Reastaurant attached is ok but a bit pricey once you go out into town and find they are charging more at the hotel for a small beer than other bars are charging for large.
Lovely pool and surrounds very clean good reception area but poor bar facilities and access to snacks. Seems to be an arrangement with a restaurant next door so no poolside service or bar in the hotel that we could see.
Just when you need a beer on arrival there isn't one.

Kata Beach is really let down by the activity around by taxi, Tuk Tuk and restaurants. Example of what we have come across in two days taxi from Phuket dropped us off at wrong hotel so had to pay more to go two hundred metres down the road. The taxi driver who took us said that this happening all the time, need I say more, taxi and Tuk Tuk are now charging same price, what !!, we had read that in other reviews and been told by others on our travels, restaurants and supermarkets not taking cards asking customers to go to cash machines to pay bills. We in Europe are looking at ways to reduce our vulnerabiluty by using cash loaded cards when travelling and these guys are trying to increase our risk by only taking cash (my card machine has broken down!) We have had that three times in two days. Its a scam we stood our ground and insisted we could not take or get cash on our card (and would not ) it was a cash load card which we have started using (after being robbed in Spain two years ago and had our bank accounts raided ) they soon made arrangements for us to pay by card. Trip Advisor is a good vehicle to protect ourselves. Think about should you use Tuk Tuks in Kata Beach they are now saying they charge the same as taxi's so why bother!!!, They are uncomfortable and we all used them because they were cheaper NOW THEY ARE NOT . we are the customer after all. Think about refuseing to eat in restaurants that won't take cards ask before you eat DO YOU TAKE CARDS if not eat somewhere else . Remember they all monitor trip advisor so this is a powerful tool for us as tourists to make a point
All in all we had a nice time in Kata Beach but look after yourself if you come here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Me and my husband was here in February and we'r lucky with it. This is really 4 stars hotel - great location (5 min till Kata beach), good rooms, good view (we took pool view rooms), free vi-fi, many restaurants near - what could be better? :)

Room Tip: take 5th floor and poll view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

we originally booked a hotel in patong and soon realised our mistake. I like being amongst restaurants and near the beach but not in the thick of thngs and patong was too much. Kata Beach is much quieter but still has some great restaurants and bars and of course massages in the hotel and right outside. Rooms were pleasant and clean with a balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfast was nice, staff exceptional. Only thing I didn't like was the wifi was hopeless but really I shouldn't have been checking my emails on holidays anyway. We had some clothes made by the local tailor - bit pricy but shop at a few and the prices come down. beach was lovely but it rained the whole time we were there so it was a bit disappointing. I would go back and stay at Sugar Palm again but probably get the pool access room so I could just leap in the pool from my balcony.

Room Tip: go for pool access rooms so you can just glide into the pool from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The rooms are big and spacious. They are also very clean and comfortable.

The hotel is huge and has probably several hundreds of rooms. As a result, the staff is not especially carefull to the guest. There is no garden and no nice view from the hotel (at least from my room). You don't really feel "on the beach".

The main issue is the location : right in the most noisyiest place of Kata Beach. There is a techno van at the entrance of the road, and people staying here until late at night (we had a room with street view). It was rain season, and everything was interrupted around midnight thanks to a huge rain.

The hotel is not especially close from the beach.

The restaurants around the hotel are clearly not the best places to eat of Kata.

We thanked got for booking only one night from the internet and move to an other place.

Room Tip: In an other hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION

Address: 20/10 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Sugar Palm Resort, Kata Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Resort And Spa
Sugar Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.