We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boomerang Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boomerang Village Resort to your Saves list
Boomerang Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patak Soi 10, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
fremantle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Boomerang was our introduction to Thailand. I was travelling with a friend of mine celebrating her birthday. We took a room right next to the pool and had to share a bed- We are not partners just good friends! The bed was comfortable and roomy enough for two friends, I'm sure this caused some speculation between the staff! The staff were lovely and helpful. On our first trip into town and the beach in Paolo's car my purse fell out of my bag... I was blistfully unaware of the fact until he tracked us down to return it to me. We did have a problem with our toilet but it was fixed as soon as we reported it. I would guess that it was just one of those unfortunate things that sometimes happens and not something that would happen regularly because the fittings were so good that I forgot where I was and swallowed some water while in the shower! The place was so comfortable and relaxed that a couple of times we forgot to lock our door as we went out to the pool which was only a few steps from our room we felt so at home! One down side was that the pool closed rather early but I am such a night owl I would swim at midnight rather than 6 or 7 in the morning and most places had their pool close about similar times.
We read reviews here on trip advisor when deciding where to stay and slightly dismissed the steep driveway mentioned by one person thinking maybe they exaggerated- they did not! I climbed it once then offered to pay all taxi trips back to the hotel door from that point on. I agree with the person who reccomends taking a map to help taxi drivers find the place.
Should you go make sure you book a massage it is done in your room and it is increadibly good and rediculously cheap!
The pool was a friendly gathering place for hotel guests and with two for one happy hour it beagn our 4pm pina colada tradition for the rest of our trip. It was a fabulous start to our treck across thailand. I wish I was there now!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    197
    46
    13
    5
See reviews for
135
469
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Wonderful staff who were ALL very helpful. Two minor problems with the room were fixed immediately. Stayed in cottage suite. This was by the pool which by the way is very clean. The grounds have lush vegetation and are very well maintained. Breakfast was more than adequate (and included), lunch and dinner were very reasonably priced and both Thai and Italian dishes are offered. The location is about a mile (20 minutes walk) to the beach. The hotel has a free shuttle by arrangement. We arrived back at the hotel from the beach at 4pm. (Happy hour is 4 to 5...so convenient!).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We (myself and three girlfriends) traveled to Phuket last January. We stayed at Boomerang for the first part of our trip and at Village at Coconut Island for the second half. This was our first trip to Thailand and we loved every moment. Boomerang was beautiful. Our room was very nice and kept very clean over the course of our stay. The grounds, as well, were very beautiful and maintained on a regular basis. The staff was lovely, helping us arrange excursions and transportation around Phuket and the surrounding areas. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious. There is a huge hill and we often had difficulty convincing tuk tuk drivers to tackle the hill without the incentive of extra fare. We will definitely return to Boomerang when we are in Phuket.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed here from the 24th-30th October 2010 on advice from a friend at work. He told me it was hard to book as it was so popular. If i could have stayed there another week, then I would have done so. I have never had such a rewarding, relaxing holiday, and I will be back there in April 2011 for Thailand New Year.
The hotel, and all its amenities where excellent, and the staff would have to be the best i have ever met. The attention to detail, from the reception, to the restaurant, to the grounds staff and management where First Class.
The breakfast started at 7am I think, and finished at 1 or so, which meant you could sleep in, and still make it to breakfast in time. Where else in the world do you have this luxury? And the food/drinks/wine list are on par with the 5 Star Restaurants in the world.
The hotel setting is up a hill side, far enough away, so that its very quiet and tranquil, yet close enough to be an easy walk to the shops/beach or you could take there free transport.
The views are to die for.
You owe it to yourself to go here once in your lifetime, then you will become a Boomerang, always returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, B.V.Management at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear Customer
We thank you for being our guest, we appreciate your review published on Trip Advisor. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation at Boomerang Village. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Note: Do not forget the black Sambuca !!

An very "Big" Best Regards, B.V.Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Boomerang hotel is unique-beautiful gardens,with individual areas divided as living room with a TV, a business center, the restuarant, and the rooms along the side of a hill. We booked the superior room, their cheapest option. The room was very clean, well done up, had all the amenities and a great value for money. I enjoyed walking in the garden of orchids, butterflies and birds. The staff was really helpful as we had a problem with the TV and they fixed it immediately. The restuarant food is good, breakfast has many options. The view and the service are great and so is the coffee. They organize all tours and pick ups to and from the airport for a fee.

It is about a 20 minute walk from Kata Beach. On the way there is a local wet market with fresh produce and street food that I enjoyed a lot. The hotel guys drop you for free to the beach between 9 to 2 pm and pick you up around 5 pm. Their beach chair area is further away from the popular parts of Kata Beach and the privacy is a blessing. All of Phuket has become much busier than 3 years ago, Kata Beach is no longer quiet but lined with loud discos, bars and lost its ealier charm of being a beach surrounded by simple local food and culture.

If you are looking for less night life and a relaxing time with partner/family and friends, near a great beach, this is a place for you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rylstone, nsw
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

We stayed at the Boomerang Village for 9 nights in October and could not have been happier with our choice of accommodation. We stayed in a Pool Suite which was a great size for my husband and our two children aged 8 and 10. The rooms were spacious and very clean, decorated tastefully in Thai style. The bathroom was roomy and stocked with all we could need including toothbruses, and the scented oil burner lit each evening was a lovely touch. The gardens are truly gorgeous and beautifully maintained. Our children loved the pool with it's numerous fountains and spa. We loved the poolside cocktails (happy hour 2 for 1 was great), and the mini bar was well stocked and really reasonably priced. Sunloungers were really clean and comfy, and umbrellas were great to keep off the sun and the October rain on occasion. The breakfast was good, a great range of options and topped up regularly. We ate at the restaurant quite a few times and the food was consistently delicous and well priced. I really loved the relaxing music that is piped through the resort - I thought it might be a bit cheesy but after dozing off to it poolside on more than one occasion, I think it was doing it's job!

The staff were fantastic (especially Thanwa) - hotel massages, beach transfers, taxis all arrived within a few minutes of being requested. Free up to date dvds were much appreciated by our kids after a busy day sightseeing (they even went out and bought some new ones once they realised we were frequent borrowers), free internet great for parents.

The hill? It's the driveway to the resort from the road! If you live on the northern beaches of Sydney it's going to be nothing for you. Others....it's honestly not a big deal at all. Boomerang is a short walk to the action of Kata but it is also an absolute haven from the bustle of Kata. It is cooler, quieter and like stepping into an oasis at the end of the day. Never crowded and a very nice clientele of friendly and interesting people from all over the world, both families and couples. It was the perfect choice for our kids first overseas trip, a combination of Thai hospitality and beauty combined with Italian style and attention to detail. Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, B.V.Management at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2010
Dear Guest, thank you for the candid comments regarding your recent stay at Boomerang Village, what a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and our services. We hope that you will come back and see us again soon. B.V.Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed in Boomerang Village some time ago. The resort is beautiful, well looked after and nurtured. However I felt that the accomodation needs updating- especially the bathroom and the air-conditioning. The air-con takes quite some time to kick in. The food in the restaurant was nice, and the bar served a good selection of cold drinks.

We were very unlucky and got 'stuck' in Thailand through the volcanic ash. I was really upset that the phone in our hotel room did not work. No-one could get it to work and the receptionist spoke little english, and was unable to get us an outside line from the reception phone so we could phone our airline. I was unimpressed to say the least. While I know it wasn't really there problem I felt extremely let down by this and the lack of consideration.

The only other thing to fault, was the taxi journey (booked through the hotel) from the airport- the bloke was a nutter and how we survived was a miracle. I accept some level of difference in driving due to being in a different country- but he was a maniac.

I am also quite surprised that there is little comments about the FROGS!!! They were so load they kept you awake. This statement sounds hilarious, but seriously it was like being tortured due to the lack of sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boomerangphuket, B.V.Management at Boomerang Village Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Dear Guest, Thanks for all the detailed feedback. We appreciate the valuable perspective and constructive criticism you shared in your post. We will use it to better our services.

1) We would like to sincerely apologize for the lack of a shower stall in your room. It has been installed and now available in all rooms. Regarding the air conditioning, we do a regular maintenance air conditioning check up every two months.

2) Failure of telephone networks can occur in any hotel, but however we apologize for any misunderstanding about comunication with our staff.

3)Regarding the problem with the taxi journey , we would like to sincerely apologize. We have already taken the necessary measures to ensure that the incident will not be repeated.

4) Frogs: Once a month we provide effective pest control to curb this "problem", but we are in a tropical Island, surrounded by nature.We often see comments about our perfect location, the tranquility of the area and the luxury of no traffic noise. Nature sound is often used as a therapy to achieve states of relaxation and concentration, much better than traffic noise.


We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards form the entire staff. B.V.Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boomerang Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Village Resort

Address: Patak Soi 10, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boomerang Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket. Surrounded by greenery and colorful environment characteristic of the island of Phuket, an oasis proper. Virtually dipped in the nature of a tropical garden. The property boasts panoramic views of Kata and is located approximately 80 metres above sea level, is situated about 950 meters from the lovely Kata Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Boomerang Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomerang Village Hotel Kata Beach
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomerang Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.