We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in Kata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boomerang Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Boomerang Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boomerang Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Patak Soi 10, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST RATE 30% OFF
Ranked #7 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Little gem in Kata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

At the top of a very steep road is the Boomerang Village Resort. Despite its small and compact size, everything was here.
Our room was beautifully furnished and decorated with Thai artefacts and had a great view over Kata town and the sea beyond. Unfortunately the air-con in the room was really struggling to cool the room and several staff came to check it (including the manager) but unable to resolve the problem we were offered another (upgraded room) which although cooler, was not nearly as nice as the original room, but we really needed the air-con so moved to the new room.
The pool was small but adequate and welcome relief from the hot sun. The restaurant served Italian food and was extremely quiet (we were the only customers). The staff in the restaurant were attentive but service was slow. When asked about the food, were were told it was "in the microwave now" - which I hope was a translation misunderstanding. I don't expect food in that price range to be microwaved food.
There is a quaint little 'living room' area which would be ideal as a coffee shop/bar as the only place to get a drink poolside was to go to the restaurant and find a staff member.
Breakfast was good with a wide selection and egg station cooked to order.
The rooms are set into a rich garden setting and the sounds at night might take some getting used to for those unfamiliar with Asia - but added to the uniqueness.
I would recommend this hotel for its location, setting and the seemingly tireless (foreign) manager who seemed to work 24 hours a day and was everywhere - from carrying our bags, to repairing the pool jacuzzi.

Room Tip: 109 and 110 are the highest rooms with the best views (in my opinion) but of course lots of steps to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    486
    181
    46
    10
    5
See reviews for
126
423
28
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Located on a hill in Patak Phuket, Boomerang Village has amazing gardens, a lovely swimming pool, and a fabulous Jacuzzi.

With a 45 minute drive from Phuket International Airport, this village resort is a magnificent get-away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket town and just a ten minute walk to the beach or the hotel provides an hourly shuttle service that drops and picks you up at your convenience.

During my time in Thailand, i have stayed in four hotels, which i have all reviewed. This is definately the only one that made it to 5 stars. I am a hard critic and i pay attention to detail.

Apart from scenery and location, Boomerang rates 5 stars because;
(I) the staff are lovely and will always be there to help you out.
(ii) the food is amazing
(iii) their rooms are beautifully designed, spacious with clean bathrooms.
(iv) their internet was more consitent than any other resort we stayed in, and only required registering devices once.

This place is a must visit, reasonably priced considering how fabulous it is.
A combination of nature, great style & design, friendly and helpful staff, good food and....speechless. Trust me when you are booking a hotel.... the reviews help..the brochures are make belief... as you will find out in my next review of The Bel Aire......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The staff are incredibly helpful and very friendly. We stayed in a basic room and it was absolutely beautiful. The pool is perfect for cooling down after a day exploring Phuket. We hired a moped for a day from the hotel for only 250THB. Whilst we didn't use the shuttle service to the beach we saw lots of others using the service and it was great to have the option. We were going to a wedding and the hotel arranged a taxi to the resort for us. They also arranged a taxi to the airport. Both were very reasonably priced. The day that we hired a moped was actually the day we checked out. When we returned at 4:30pm we had an hour to kill before our taxi to the airport. We were given towels and allowed to use the pool even though we technically were no longer guests at the hotel. The wifi works really well all round the resort. We ate at the restaurant on site and it was very good. The hill up to the hotel is a little steep but as a young couple it was fine for us. We walked down to the beach on our first night and it only took about 15 minutes. We didn't have any trouble with mosquitoes but I imagine they may have been an issue if you sat around the pool after the sun had gone down. All in all an excellent hotel and one that we would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at the Boomerang Resort. From the moment we checked in the staff did all they could to make our stay enjoyable. The manager, Paulo, who seems to work 24/7 was even there to welcome us in at 1am after our flight was delayed. Our Deluxe room was clean and spacious and attractively decorated in Thai style. The gardens were a delight, full of tropical flowers and beautifully maintained. The kidney-shaped pool and the peaceful grounds were very welcome when returning from Kata town or from the relatively busy beach areas. The breakfast was very acceptable for a small hotel with choices to suit most tastes. We also enjoyed 3 dinners on the pool terrace during our stay - the service a little slow at times but the food was very good. The complimentary taxi service to/from the beach was a nice perk and always reliable. To sum up, if you want to be amongst the action, this hotel is not for you. However, if you crave beauty, peace and quiet, good service,with the action within easy reach this hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at the resort twice in March/April in both the Pool Villa and a Superior Rooms, the pool villa was about $20AUS more a night and had a more spacious bathroom and living area but both options were good. I found the majority of reviews on tripadvisor were pretty accurate.

Overall it is a lovely resort, the rooms are spacious and funished in traditional Thai funiture, staff were obliging and friendly although reception girls did not always have the best english but I never had any issues, it just sometimes took a little longer to explain what you wanted. I thought the breakfast options were good...nothing outstanding but pretty standard for budget/mid range hotels in Thailand. The airport pickup service was great....I never had any issues with Taxis organised through the hotel, all turned up at the nominated times. The pool area was lovely and there was always a sun lounger or two free and the gardens were beautiful maintained. WiFi was available thoughout the resort and there were several computers availble for use in their business centre if you dont have your own.

As other reviews have said the resort is not near the beach (free shuttle is available) so if you want to be near the beach this is probably not the place for you. However I walked down every day and it took about 15-20 minutes. As others have said the resort is on a hill...I would consider myself to be of average fitness and I didnt think it was a big deal...a bit steep but a good chance to walk off dinner or that additional beer I decided to have :) If you are really unfit or have mobility issues you might want to reconsider staying here but Tuk Tuks and taxis are cheap so maybe just get a lift back up the hill.
All in all I thought the resort was a good value for money option, it offered all the services I required at a great price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool and reception....less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I recently returned from a 6 night stay at Boomerang with my boyfriend, which I booked after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and also because of the great value.

Generally, I found this hotel to be really good value for money and it met the expectations I had formed after reading the reviews. The room was beautiful and huge, we had a standard room which is like a little bungalow. It was beautifully decorated with Thai art and decorations, which definitely set it apart from any other typical chain hotel. The bed was massive, it felt like we could have had an extra person in there and still had more than enough space! A couple of cons to the room - I found the lighting a little bit strange, either too light or too dark and we couldn't let much natural light in because people regularly walked past our windows. Also make sure you bring insect repellant - you would expect this in Thailand but possibly not expect to need it in your hotel room. The room is air conditioned and they provide mosquito coils so there were rarely any mosquitoes in the bedroom, but the bathroom has no AC so quite a few would come in from the bathroom - if we weren't covered in insect repellant, there were some nights when we'd wake up with loads of bites (same goes for napping by the pool!).

The staff were really friendly, helpful and provided a real personal service, the day receptionist had a little trouble with English but we always got there in the end and she was always lovely. The evening receptionist spoke perfect English and again was always very friendly and helpful - we found this to be the case with the service throughout our stay in any restaurant, bar or hotel we visited.

I didn't love the breakfast selection - there wasn't much variety, especially if you don't eat meat, and the spread could have been cleaner, there were often insects around the fruit. That said, you can get eggs to order from the nicest, smiley lady and the omelettes she made me were always delicious.

We used the free car service down to the beach and back again because it was so convenient. Boomerang has its own area at the beach and you can pay for a lounger either there or at the hotel (cheaper to pay at the hotel, you have to get a coupon and bring it with you). The beach is amazing, Boomerang's stretch is a lot quieter than further along the beach. Another reviewer made a comment which I totally identify with about people jabbering over you at the beach - we found this on our first day but after that, we were a lot smarter about where we chose to sit and didn't have any problems after that. We walked back to the hotel once after having lunch and going shopping, the hill that everyone talks about was manageable for us as a (relatively) young couple, but I can see how it could be a struggle. Tuk tuk rides back to the hotel at night were always fun, feeling like we were going to fall out the back of it getting up the hill!

In terms of hotel location, as we were expecting from reading the reviews, the hotel is not particularly central or near to any other big hotels. Most of the hotels are located near the beach and the town. For me, being in a quiet location away from the hustle of the town was an advantage of Boomerang, but it depends what you're looking for as this might not be to everyone's taste. In the evenings we got the hotel taxi or tuk tuk (one way) to Kata for 200THB and to Karon for 200 - 250THB. It takes hardly any time and I really can't complain about the cost when I see these little tuk tuks trying to get up that hill. I also liked that you can take yourself to and from the business as you choose.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Yep, that hill is something. If you want to just laze around the pool, eat good food, have access to internet, and sleep in a comfortable bed, well this is the place to be. Paulo the manager is absolutely incredible - he cares for all his guests in a most professional manner. He really is invaluable and a perfect gentleman. As for glitches, well after travelling 6 weeks around Thailand without the pink glasses, you come to understand that this country is a mess...some see it, some don't want to. So, here at Boomerang, they are doing just fine, by Thailand standards and the staff was truly so very very dedicated and friendly. It would be nice to have shuttle service at other times during the day and/or evenings. Oh, and Kata Beach has been invaded by the Russians; hopefully the government will intervene as it appears to be, well, not a good thing according to everybody that lives there :( Sorry if you are a good Russian person.

Room Tip: Close to reception. Bring earplugs and you'll have a great sleep :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boomerang Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Village Resort

Address: Patak Soi 10, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boomerang Village Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket. Surrounded by greenery and colorful environment characteristic of the island of Phuket, an oasis proper. Virtually dipped in the nature of a tropical garden. The property boasts panoramic views of Kata and is located approximately 80 metres above sea level, is situated about 950 meters from the lovely Kata Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Boomerang Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomerang Village Hotel Kata Beach
Boomerang Village Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boomerang Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.