We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Katamanda Villas C5” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas to your Saves list
Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas
9/48, Katanoi Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Katamanda Villas C5”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Some friends of ours stayed in B1 last year & we visited them, which is why we decided to book here for ourselves. We love Thailand & wanted our family to join us this time. Beginning on a positive note, the staff are absolutely wonderful & are happy to assist in any way & I don't for a second blame them for the state of this house. The gardens are kept beautifully.
The interior pictures of C5 on the website do not resemble how it really is. The whole house is very tired & in need of serious attention. It is not homely at all. There are no pictures, nice cushions, ornaments, just the bare minimum. The pillows & duvets do. It have protectors on & therefore smell of other people's bodies. I actually washed the pillows myself. Our bedding has black marks on it & holes. The towels are "off white" & old. The windows are indeed of a good clean. The sofas are covered in a bed sheet. We had to carry a desk from upstairs into the living area to put the phone & router on so that we could use the little table they were originally on outside as there was not even an outdoor table!
The kitchen table has a glass top which is chipped everywhere & the dining chairs do not have any cushions which makes then very uncomfortable. The tiled floors in the bathrooms are flaking away so when you have showered it sticks to your feet.
Outside the pool is lovely, but the wooden salad is in need of painting. There are plant pots with dead plants in, which is not what you expect. The outside area was never cleaned by anyone during our 5 week stay.
The cleaners were nice people, but the amount of cleaning done was minimal, with windows never touched, blinds never dusted. The showers had staining on the tiles. The house needs a massive overhaul. There wasn't any kind of manual to tell us anything about the house, the complex, rules or even hie to use the phone.
I have noticed it has now been removed from the website which is interesting. Ater looking at others on this estate I cannot believe they allow one to be in this condition. The air conditioning is full of dust & so loud that you can hardly sleep.
I feel bad writing this, but this house is a terrible disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in Villa E5 and we had an amazing time. A great spot for a more private holiday. We went as a couple, but it would also be great for families or a group of people (the pool isn't fenced). The private pool is really worth it. The place is huge and has fantastic views over the sea. If you want breakfast delivered, that is available, and not too expensive.
Kata noi beach was our preferred beach, it's quieter and has clearer water, and so close! If you'd like a nice sunset drink, head up Kata noi Road and veer right up the hill and there's a good pick of some bars with awesome views.
You don't get all the perks of a hotel, and as long as you're happy with that, you'll have a great time here.

Room Tip: Villa E5 has great sea views and a great pool. The third bedroom downstairs isn't as big or nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed one week in february with our two kids aged 7 and 11 years old. As there was not anymore 2 rooms villa available, we had to book a 3 bedrooms. Nevertheless, we did not regret the price difference as 3 bedrooms villa have private swimming pools, which completely change the spirit of the vacations when you have 2 kids.

The rooms were very clean and practical, with enough space to put clothes, the air conditioning working very well.
We used to go to Kata Noi beach in the morning, which was very quiet.
We used the chef'cooking several time, it was good, but seemed a bit expensive. nevertheless, we found it useful to enhance the content of our lunch.
Dont miss Tri mom's kitchen restaurant, very close, and excellent.
Some tips for safety:
1-put some post-it on the windows, to avoid adults and kids to bump in closed ones: my husband and daughter both bumped in in the first ten minutes in the villa ! Fortunately, there were some post-it in the drawer in the kitchen.
2-really take care of the youngest kids when using the swimming pool: as its the depth is constantly about 1.4 meters. Theres is no fence around, which needs particular warning as one side is just close to the stairs going down to the second master bedroom.
3- in the master bedroom, we removed the carpet as they tend to slip..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We (family of 4 adults, 3 year old and 2 year old) spent 2 weeks in Villa A1 in March. The property and grounds are absolutely stunning. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The photo's on the website do not do the villa justice, its enormous and well fitted out. Kitchen had everything you could need, there was a laundry with washer and dryer, there was kids plates/cups and even a couple of potties. There was also a communal pool that we used a couple of times. I would highly recommend Katamanda Villas for families or groups that are looking to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hill, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Set in a private estate with beautiful gardens, these villas offer a tranquil escape from the tourist area of Kata Beach.

Although we enjoyed our family time at the owner's villa we were disappointed with some of the aspects of the property.
 
Firstly and most importantly, the third bedroom was generally unsatisfactory. The lock on this downstairs room did not work on our first night here, which meant a guest slept on a mattress on the floor on one of the other bedrooms. Not a good start when we have rented a three bedroom villa!
 
Action was taken to fix this the next afternoon when the lock was replaced. Unfortunately the bedroom is not of the standard of the upstairs bedrooms in size and fit out, particularly the bathroom. But, more importantly the room smells strongly of damp and no doubt the spores and mildew associated with this condition. We note there was what could be a dehumidifier in the room. However no instructions on use.
 
I suggest any room which needs a dehumidifier running to make it acceptable to sleep in should be noted as such in the description of the property on the website so the renter can make an informed decision as to whether their guests should sleep in such a room. Poor room rating applicable to this room only.

Also, I believe this is a private residence and I know that the maintenance of properties to a high standard in the topics is difficult, but there are some issues with the appearance and functionality of the property. 
 
The flooring and furniture are lovely, the kitchen well fitted out, but there are cracked tiles in the kitchen, dirty grout in the bathrooms and what appears to be duct tape marks on the side of the tub in the Master bedroom. Some of the kitchen cupboards are not clean. There is rust on the white spiral staircase, handle to the opening doors in the sitting room come off when used. These are all things perhaps acceptable in one's own house, but when the dwelling is a vacation rental, commanding a significant rental fee, they should be taken care of. I have advised management of these issues, so hopefully some maintenance will occur.
 
On the positive side, the well kept grounds, lovely pool, friendly security staff and great position have meant a pleasant stay. The airconditioning and fans were great for keeping cool and sunset on the balcony was special. The beach at Kata Noi is much quieter and good place for a swim. The villas are up a steep slope and stairs, so may be a problem for those with mobility issues.

Room Tip: Perhaps check out the other villa available, there looked to be some amazing villas in the developme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a great week here in June! The villas are well fitted out, with everything catered for. Definitely work organising a chef to come to the villa each day to cook breakfast, with some lunches and dinners (whenever suits) - they do all of the shopping, cooking, cleaning up, etc; and can even take your washing to be done daily. Also worth arranging for people to come daily to give massage in villa sala.

Room Tip: I doubt there would be a bad villa in the complex - pick whatever suits your requirements and budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fabulous 4 bedroom luxury villa. Loved the tranquil setting and fact that the villa has everything we ever wanted. Located just above kata village it's a perfect spot for either a quiet stay or base to exploring Phuket and all of the beautiful islands around. on site staff courteous knowledgeable and very helpful in making our stay very memorable, we will definitely stay again and not in the too distant future we hope! Oh almost forgot the clubhouse with large pool tennis court and fully equipped gym and a lovely restaurant that serves the most tasty food anywhere I have tried in Phuket - also provide in villa dining which was a great help in keeping the kids fed :-)

Room Tip: Go for the master bedroom with views to kata beach or living floor bedroom that opens directly into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas

Address: 9/48, Katanoi Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katamanda is a luxury retreat located on the south west coast of Phuket, Thailand. Thailand's premier resort destination with spectacular views of the Andaman Sea. The estate is developed with comprehensive, professionally managed recreational facilities perfect for staying active while on vacation. It is a fully operational, walled and gated, luxury villas service with 24-hour security with full guest access to the Katamanda Clubhouse. Privacy villa is properly for your real family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas Hotel Karon
Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katamanda - Luxury Phuket Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.