We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai food/value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Poolside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kata Poolside Resort to your Saves list
Kata Poolside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-38 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Piedmont,CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Thai food/value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looks like a tourist trap restaurant from the street... Don't be fooled... Their Thai food is quite delicious, especially their peanut sauce! Also shrimp with their curry... Super! Super friendly staff (one of the chefs kept popping around and checking in on us and so enjoyed that we were enjoying our meal so much) on one of our visits, my boyfriend strayed from the Thai menu... Not as good.
Also... Two for one beers adds to the value. Our last meal there we had three Thai dishes, 4 beers under 600 bhat ($18 us)

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    32
    15
    12
See reviews for
33
50
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

My husband and I go to Phuket annually and we stay in Kata Poolside because of its position, staff the cleanliness of the rooms. Rooms are serviced daily by happy smiling staff. Pool is really nice. There is a restaurant in the front of the hotel serves good affordable food. We will keep going back.

Room Tip: the hotel has four poolside rooms we always ask for one of those can slide into the pool from your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

This is a very simple hotel with very welcoming staff. The breakfast is just ok, but lunch and dinner in the restaurant are usually very good. It is just 3 min walking to the beach, convenience stores around and multiple restaurants and souvenir stores. The pool is just okay and I didn't even try it because I spend all day in the beach. Kata is one of the most beautiful beaches in Phuket to my taste. The annoying part is that the Internet service is spotty or times out and you must login every hour or so.
I will definitely stay again at this place.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Fantastic service & value, pool fantastic.
On site tailor, underwhelming fabric selection, and he seems to stand guard & never sleeps. Warned him tonight of crocs in the ornamental pond near foyer. I was being sarcastic, he seemed to understand the humor & didn't take offense.
Housekeeping staff, although short on speaking , English, comprehended and couldn't have been more accommodating.
Overall you would be a difficult person to please, if you didn't appreciate the Hotel. Close to everything , yet, quiet.
Haven't checked room service but attached restaurant, clinically clean and food broad for Thailand and tasty.
A big two thumbs up

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

The location is really what saves this place. Its just a short walk to the beach, and lots of shops are closeby. The rooms themselves were ok, beds were hard and there was no wifi in the room, but they were fairly clean. Staff were friendly, even though they didnt speak much English. A bit pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights in December. As we checked in very late (around 10 PM) we got probably the worst room facing the taylor so we couldn't remove the curtains at all. However, the hotel itself was quite okay- the room was clean, quite spacious, staff was friendly. Sleep quality excellent- didn't hear a sound and the bed was very comfortable. Location on a busy street but rooms far from the commotion. Beach is max 10 mins walk which i find near. would stay again

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

The front desk was rude and not helpful at all. They couldn't help us get a taxi to the airport so we had to walk down the street with our luggage to find one. They said we would of had to order one the day before but they never let us know that. The food at the restaurant was horrible same with the room service. The bed was so hard it felt like a rock same with the pillows. The air conditioning took about 5 hours until it cooled the room down.. The only good thing was the location, the rest was awful.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#43 of 54 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kata Pool Lagoon
Kata Pool Lagoon
#41 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#21 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#35 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Beach Boutique House
The Beach Boutique House
#26 of 54 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#37 of 54 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Poolside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Poolside Resort

Address: 36-38 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Poolside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Kata Poolside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Poolside Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Poolside Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Poolside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.