We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - Average Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Poolside Resort

Save Saved
You added Kata Poolside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kata Poolside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36-38 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
“Good location - Average Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Kata Poolside Resort is on Kata Road at Kata Beach so location is very good. We paid 1800baht a night walk in rate for a Deluxe Pool Access room which also included free wifi and breakfast.

There are not many rooms that face the pool which is quite small, nowhere near as big as it looks on their website and most of the pool chairs have towels on them very early in the morning.

Our Deluxe Pool Access room was quite big and nicely fitted out with a very comfortable king size bed and it was nice to have 2 chairs in the room instead of the standard one, plus 2 chairs on the balcony.

Now our room is a pool access but this was quite difficult due to it just being a ladder down into the pool, getting out was even worse as the rungs of the ladder do not go down far enough, so this would be a huge problem for many people.

The breakfast buffet was good with a lot of selections and the food was hot. They need to get rid of the tailor who has a shop on the premises, it was so annoying as you have to walk past him to get in or out of the hotel, you would think after the first time he would get the message but of course he didn’t!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    29
    12
    11
See reviews for
27
37
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Decent enough Hotel. In retrospect we were probably over-charged for our room but weren't overly concerned. We stayed three nights in a 1st floor room looking onto the pool. It was lovely and clean and towels/linen provided were fine. After a short stay in another part of the island we decided to return here and were given a pool access room on the ground floor.
Unfortunately it had been inhabited by smokers before us and the smell wasn't great (we bought cheap air fresheners to combat this which worked fine). There were a few mosquitoes in this room, we figured because it was closer to ground level, we spent about twenty minutes making sure we'd killed them all with the spray we'd bought! The noise of chairs being dragged about in the room above was a little unsettling as well but this was more down to inconsiderate guests above us rather than the Hotel's fault. Overall it's a clean, decent place to stay with friendly enough staff who do their most to help out when you have an issue.

Room Tip: I'd ask to stay on the 1st floor if available - the pool can be noisy early on with families so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

On check in I was charged more for walking off the street and not booking online. No wifi in room and no English speaking TV accept for the news! Was really wanting to get out of the heat for a couple of hours and relax with the movie channel! No such luck! No towels in room what so ever and took sometime to get them. Lots of mozzies in room .

The room itself was well equipped with hair dryer, umbrellas and nice lay out. Luckily enough I had no trouble with hot water. Easy walk to the beach. The restaurant did have a lot of flies but the staff put on a good breakfast and were very polite.

I didn't shop in Patong at all due to the staff not letting me look and giving me no peace to think! Sadly it was excactly the same in Kata. I had money to spend but I just wasn't let alone to simply look! So so frustrating!

Room Tip: If you wanted to push bike or ride a scooter Kata is the place to do it as its a lot tamer than scab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at 3rd floor for two nights - we then changed to another beach. Pool OK. Internet expensive, Breakfast OK. Free parking.
Difficult to get hot water in the shower.
The hotel is old, worned. Hotel staff very nice.
The beach with it´s surround is very "Pattay": Noisy, crowded, expensive and a lot of Nepalise pushing to sell scrap. Choose Katanoi instead!

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4nights,but I wish it had only been 2,I realise it's only 3 star but after staying at other resorts in the region for less money.I think they could improve on some of their service.Tea and coffee sachets we're only provided on the first night,and they didn't have a good choice of toiletries for use.The room was a poolview and was comfortable and clean.We would have liked a lift as it was on the top floor,and we had to use the 36 steps or a ramp,to get to our room.Other than the room which was a good size,we found the resort overall to be cramped.down a drive with the pool at the rear of the building.You we're lucky if you got a chair
as they would usually have towels on them at an early hour.The restaurant was average felt a little unclean with a lot of flies.I would recommend to research other resorts nearby and wait for a special deal which will give you true value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland,NZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Extremely good price for what you get. 5 minute stroll to beach which is lovely to look at but unsafe for swimming according to life guards. Hotel pool is so clean and a great resting spot away from busy street. Reception staff especially were always ready to help and smiling. This situation was a happy relief from the hassles and noise of Patong. We should have come here and booked out of our Patong hotel.

Room Tip: Extremely good value for the price and quiet situation. 5 minute stroll to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very nice hotel with cozy big rooms. Breakfast is good. What about the wall – all true, but it is acceptable for 3 stars hotel. Nice beach is about 5 min walk. Even coral riff with beautiful fishes are situated on the left side of it.
So you will quickly forget all inconveniences if they occur.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Poolside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Poolside Resort

Address: 36-38 Kata Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kata Poolside Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kata Poolside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Poolside Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Poolside Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Poolside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.