We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at Katathaini over New Years Eve in 2009 / 2010.

We had an absolutely wonderful week as we loved being close enough that we could go into Patong Beach and the rest of Phuket, but we also had a wonderful quiet, beautiful and romantic resort to go back to.

We stayed in the new Bhuri wing which was lovely, however a small part of the gardens smelt a bit, and the bathroom was a little underwhelming (for a 4 and a half star resort) but other than that the place was just magnificent. The Bhuri wing side of the resort was always a bit quieter and we had some amazing evenings sharing a drink and a meal by the beach watching the sun set.

The massages by the pool were great value, as were the cocktails. We really enjoyed the variety of restaurants and the food was always wonderful.

The pools were large and accomodating and you could also walk out the front of the resort onto the beach which was also quiet and clean.

We had a wonderful week at Katathani and the 6 nights were not enough. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani, Marketing Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear AMJ1986, Thank you very much for spending your New Year’s Eve with us and we’re so glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at the Bhuri wing. We do hope to welcome you back for the New Year gala this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    787
    246
    96
    58
See reviews for
742
1,242
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Had no complaints about the services, but it wasn't all that exceptional. I was pleased that we lucked out with our room as I was concerned about a musty , mildewy order in hotel rooms in this climate. Our friends however were not quite so lucky but they seemed to be tolerant of the smell. Thoroughly enjoyed the pools and beach area, could have parked myself there for awhile longer.
Found the breakfasts enjoyable, however the dinner hour specials were less than desireable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani, Marketing Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear BonzBC, Thank you for your review. We will pass your comment to the departments concerned. It will surely be useful to our service improvement plan. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed in a Grand suite for 12 fantastic nights. The room was a good size and comfortably slept the four of us. The view from our balcony was beautiful looking out over the ocean and pool area. You could sit there for hours just listening to the surf and admiring the scenerey. The rooms are imaculatly cleaned every day by smiling staff that will go out of there way to make you welcome. The little things like making sure you have fresh beach towels every day are not forgotton. I can highly recomend room 1107.

The Katathani is great for families. Our kids made many friends during our stay and spent so much time playing in the pool while we relaxed on sun lounges sipping drinks and having massages. We really enjoyed the massages, drinks and great lunches served by the friendly staff around the pool.

We looked forward to our breakfast every morning. There was a great selection of asian and western food and you could get your eggs freshly cooked as omlettes, poached scrambled, or fried. The freshly made waffles and pancakes were our kids favourites. The waiters were very attentive always ready to top up your tea and coffee. We got to know them during our stay as they would play around with the kids and make them laugh.

My daughter had her birthday while we were away and the Katathani organised a cake delivered to our breakfast table while many of the staff sang happy birthday. They also delivered some flowers to our room in the afternoon.

The grounds of the Katathani are imaculatley kept and the views over the ocean especially at sunset are exceptional.

We had a late flight back to Sydney and did not need to leave the hotel until 6pm. The reception staff extended the checkout time to 6pm which meant we could make the most of our last day. This was done free of charge.

There are some small restaurants outside the Katathani that serve really good thai dishes and just a short taxi ride into Kata for many more dinning and shopping options.

This was our best holiday ever and we will be returning to the Katathani as soon as possible

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani, Marketing Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Emmnick, We are really glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Suite. We will pass this kind comment to our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I recently stayed at Katathani with my wife and 4 children aged 24 to 7. We had 2 Junior suites next to each other in the Thani Wing for 8 nights. We had a wonderful time. The rooms overlooked 2 of the pools. The rooms were immaculate and the service was first class. There was a wide selection for breakfast, we ate lunch and dinner there once. Both were good. There is a limited choice of restaurants outside but they were all fine. And we had several wonderful dinners in Kata, just over the hill.

All in all, we had a great time. We all wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani, Marketing Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Finnosmells, Thank you very much for your comment and we are happy to know that you and your family had a great time in our Junior Suite. Hope you can stay with us longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, West Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This place is amazing. My first time in a resort and will be back again. Total beach front, lovely pools, gorgeous food and the staff truly wonderful. The food is a little expensive, but you are in a 5 star hotel, serving fantastic food, expect to pay! The resort is also nearly an hours drive from the airport, I did not mind this as the resort is tucked away from most of the hustle n bustle of Phuket.
I had to pay of internet access every day too, which is quite costly but I had no option keeping in touch with our business back in Australia. I thoroughly recommend this place to anyone from families to honeymooneers!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani, Marketing Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Pauline027, We’re glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the Shores of Serenity again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We found the hotel, the location and more importantly the staff to be everything we desired. The hotel and location were wonderful, but it was the staff, who were friendly, happy and attentive at all times whilst being inobtrusive, that really made the perfect holiday experience for us. (you will leave breakfast with a happy feeling and a smile on your face that will stay with you throughout the day).
We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary, staying in a Junior suite, which had amazing ocean views from the balcony (the sunsets where stunning), and a bed that we could get lost in. The room was clean and the facilities excellent.
We have travelled extensively both on business and for pleasure, and it was such a wonderful experience not to be constantly approached by people wanting to sell goods or time shares, in fact a visit to the Weekend Market in Phuket is a must. There you can spend a few hours wandering amongst the stalls, bartering and chatting with the traders without being constantly harangued to buy something.
This was our first trip to Thailand, but it will not be our last and we will definitely be back at KataThani in the near future.
Thankyou to everyone at the KataThani hotel see you all soon x

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani, Marketing Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear Garry&Pauline, Thank you very much for staying with us to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary. We appreciate it a lot that both of you spent your memorable time here. We look forward to seeing both of you again on your next wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Aus.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Gorgeous resort. The big plus is that it is right on it's own stunning beach. Multiple large pools and you can always find a spare sun lounge! Grounds are beautifully maintained. Rooms (Junior Suite) are very nice - good size, nice bathroom, all have balcony. This is not the place if you want night life and the action, but if you want to spend your days lying peacefully in the sun by a gorgeous pool, only moving to take a dip or a stroll on a picture-perfect beach, then this is the place for you. Only drawback is restaurants - beautiful breakfast buffet - but dinners expensive by Thai standards. But we prefer to stay here and hire a taxi/sangthew to go out at night - very cheap to get to numerous good restaurants at Kata, more again at Karon, and only 20 mins to get right into the heart of Patong (when you're in the mood for all that chaos!). We've stayed twice and will definitely go back.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani, Marketing Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2010
Dear DJay, Thanks for your kind comment. We hope to welcome you back for the third time at the Shores of Serenity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.