We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for OSB boarded rooms.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced for OSB boarded rooms.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

As a family of 5, we generally struggle to find comfortable places to holiday. The off season deal for 4 provided a bed and accommodations for us and 2 of the children, the youngest being left out because he is 3 and considered an infant. We contacted the resort and confirmed 5 of us were traveling and could they make accommodation for all of us.

Unfortunately that never happened and the 3 yeas old was was left out of everything, no bed, no blanket, no pillow, no access to the "kids club" and really nothing he could be included in as far as activities for children. The single large room was outfitting with a king bed, day bed, and temporary twin. The room had a musty / mold smell and was probably one of the most unique applications of OSB board I have every seen. The smell in the room could not be eliminated, which made for a very long 7 days.

Overall the experience was not very enjoyable, as the price of the all the amenities at the hotel were on par with what I would expect to pay at a resort in the US. The price was roughly 3 times higher at the resort than across the street. Some of the amenities like the infamous "massage" was 300 Tahi bat across the street from the resort, while the same 60 minute duration was 1890 Thai bat at the resort. The prices for a taxi are fixed but they are extortionate. 300 Tahi bat just to go approximately 3km.

The drinks were mixed well but at the high end of the price list. The only truly enjoyable thing was beach. I would not recommend this for anyone with toddlers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,174
    647
    202
    84
    46
See reviews for
595
1034
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Love the Katathani, the entire resort is beautiful. The staff are always smiling and so helpful.
The location is perfect, the taxis out the front convenient, the garden massages heavenly and the food superb! It is my home away from home!

Room Tip: Ground floor Buri wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just great. Nothing was a problem for the staff to assist. Great facilities, customer service, setting. We moved about the island thinking all 5 stars would be to the same standard. Boy how wrong we were. Mandarava in karon our next stay and what a contrast. Just annoyed we didn't stay longer instead of trying to find the same again elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our family of 4 stayed in July and had a great time. The setting and grounds are beautiful and the beach was very good. We've stayed at some resorts where the beach is a little ordinary but this was great and the boys (7 and 3) loved the beach and the pools. The pool across the road near the beach (Bhuri wing) is the best kids pool and the boys had a ball in that one.
We loved the cocktails and the massages and a big bonus for us was that both the boys loved the kids club. It's not a large area but it is packed with fun things to do and the boys wanted to go each day, as opposed to us coercing them. Staying in the Bhuri wing does give better access to the kids club too.
What is great about this resort is that it is walking distance to a number of shops and services outside of the resort so there is plenty to explore if you want to.
We upgraded halfway through our stay to adjoining Bhuri wing rooms (6302,6303) and we found this a big improvement from our original deluxe family room which was a little old and overall underwhelming. It needs a renovation. The adjoining rooms were a lot more modern and lighter and better value for money.
We would definitely stay here again and overall, found it better value than Fiji which we have visited twice. This resort wins in food quality, overall cheaper pricing, cheap massages, much better beach and access to the local community.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned home after our second holiday at the Katathani Resort. We were there three years ago for a family wedding and I have just celebrated my 70th birthday with 24 family members ages from 1 1/2 years to 75 years including my 10 year old special needs granddaughter.

The wedding 3 years ago was just the most wonderful experience and we did not hesitate to return for my birthday. The staff were great also the other residents were so accommodating and helpful
To my little "special" granddaughter.

We really hope to return, yes there is more "glitzy" resorts but the Katathani is just the best place for a wonderful safe holiday for all ages. Thank you To everyone including Charlee who helps to keep the grounds so beautiful, his lovely smile brightened my day

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5117 it had the most beautiful view of the pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights in the Junior Suite on the third floor. After just staying at U Chiang Mai, this hotel experience felt very different. Overall the service was not very personalised, it is a large resort and it is probably difficult for staff to get to know all of their guests on a personal basis. The arrival drink was lovely when we checked in, though we were quickly ushered on to our room within minutes of receiving our welcome drink. I was feeling car sick when we arrived and was not asked if I was feeling ok, when it was quite obvious that I was ill. The staff who checked us in seemed bored and not very enthusiastic. The junior suite room is quite small. We enjoyed having the small glass table for our laptop. The beds were great and choice of pillows a bonus. We didn't like that you had to stock up your own mini bar using the mini mart on the grounds of the hotel. We would prefer the fridge to be stocked on arrival. The bathroom was clean, modern and neat. We didm't use the tub. There was a strange substance on the tile floor, perhaps where the cleaning product had not been fully removed. When we walked throughout the room it would leave footprints on the floor. You are encouraged not to open the doors during monsoon weather due to a mould problem. That was fine with us. The TV was quite small and the picture was blurry, something we did not expect of a hotel with this many stars. We caught a taxi to Phuket town using the hotel services, we were quoted 450 baht at the start of the trip, then 20 minutes later we were told it was 550 baht. Buffet breakfast had an extensive menu of items. It was pretty average. My partner and I eat a lot of fruit, we were let down by the quality of the fruit available. One morning we were having breakfast, some tourists started smoking, we opted to move away from where they were smoking, the staff got annoyed with us and asked why we moved. We visited Cinnamon Restaurant, my partner is vegan, they offered to make him vegetarian pad thai, which was great that they noticed he wasn't eating much from the buffet. Again the food was generally good to average. Some food hit and miss. We noticed a lot of families at the resort, it was very kid friendly. The thing I liked the most were the pools and the impeccable grounds, there were several pools and the cocktails were the highlight. Most cocktails in Thailand are not the same as you get in Australia and I was quite impressed with the quality. We received in room wi-fi for free, on our last night we couldn't find our wi-fi slip that provided the username and password, when we asked reception for a new one, they said we had to pay 800 baht. We felt a bit let down by this. All in all a beautiful place to stay, close vicinity to the beach, great if you like body boarding in the low season. Though three quarters of the beach is closed during this time. The hotel lacks personal charm and service. We might be back for the spectacular grounds and cocktails and because Kata Noi is our favourite beach, but not for the service, we clearly enjoy small, intimate boutique hotels more where staff take the time to say hello and acknowledge you.

Room Tip: Choose Junior Suite Rooms - They are renovated. Rooms further away front the beach are not renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We (my partner and I) stayed here for 5 nights, and my goodness!! we fell in love with this place so much we are looking to have our wedding here!! the staff are wonderful, there are gorgeous pools, bars and the food was AMAZING! (lots of different restaurants) so many delicious cocktails...I cant fault this place. it was recommended to us by friends who got married here last year, so glad we stayed! We normally like to stay in different places when we holiday, but if we come back to Thailand we will definitely be back to stay at Katathani!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, today
Dear jolili,

Thank you very much for your review and it is really great to see you enjoyed the stay and are planning to come back to us upon your next visit to Phuket.

We also would like to take this occasion to sincerely encourage you to plan your wedding arrangements with us. For the reasons you experienced, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort is proud to be the most popular wedding destination in all of Phuket, thus please be assured that our experienced wedding team will take good care of you when you start planning your celebrations.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again and send our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.