We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

The kata noi beach is beautiful,and the hotel has a perfect location for some nice days on the beach. We were really lucky,and did not have a drop of rain at the beginning of Oct.
We stayed in a a grande suite . The room was good size and the balcony had a wonderful view. The room was a bit dated,and felt humid all the time.
There must be a management problem at this hotel,because the level of service is really low.
There were plenty of staff around,but it seemed that so many of them did not know what they were there for.
My daughter tried the kids club,but she did not like it much. No wonder when they did not even say "hello" to a kid wanting to join in.
The pool area is nice,but the service around the pool is a joke.
Also i do not like to be asked many times every day when relaxing by the pool if i would like a massage.
The beach and location is really good,and because of that this hotel can be a good choice.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    790
    246
    96
    58
See reviews for
745
1,244
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

This resort was absolutely amazing! And to think that my and my partner considered rebooking after we read some of the negative reviews here....My thoughts:

Location
The location is great: just far enough from Patong to avoid the many tourist, loud music etc. but not too far to do some nice shopping there (tuk-tuk or taxi is about 400 baht). The resort is one of the few that is actually located right at the beach. Even guests at the nearby Hilton Hotel have to cross the road. The beach is amazing: clean and wide. Lots of privacy and so different from the crowded beach at Patong.

Resort
Buildings look good. Someone mentioned that the Spa building looked dirty from the outside; it looks beautiful and the inside is very well-decorated and super-clean. Staff is very friendly and we've enjoyed massges, manicures and bodyscrubs there.

Rooms
We had a jr room with an ocean view (I think most rooms have an ocean view although some wings are a little further from the beach, check this before you book). Spacious, clean, private and close to all facilities even though it's a big resort. Bathroom, A/C etc. all perfect.

Staff & Service
Friendly without exception! Have not seen any tired-looking masseuses near the pool. Service was quick, we had zero complaints.

Food
Dinner at the Fishermen's Wharf was good. Location and menu excellent. Breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had: abundant and fresh. Not just scrambled eggs with bacon. The Thai buffet was excellent although the cheap restaurants across the resorts were as good (spicier and cheaper). There's choices available.

This is one of the best resorts/holidays I've experienced. If you are looking for quality, privacy & service and are willing to pay for it, this is the resort to go to!

  • Liked — Location, facilities, beach
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

Me, my partner and my parents stayed here in October 2006 for 2 weeks and found it perfect. Obviously, I could probably pick fault with it somewhere, but there are too many good points to mention any bad.

We ate most meals in the hotel, but would recommend going out more, just to get achange of scenery if nothing else. Kata is a quiet resort, but it's not expensive to get a taxi or tuc tuc to Patong or Karon where there is lots going on.

The beach was clean and the sea warm. It is set in it's own bay so you don't get people walking along the beach, so it feels more secluded. The pools were also nice to relax in. When we went there were mostly Australians there, who I found very friendly - more so than English people actually!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but not people with very young shildren as they might get bored. It's very relaxing but if you want to party, then you don;t have to look or travel far to get it!

  • Liked — The pool and sea view from our room - and even while sat in the bath or taking a shower!
  • Disliked — Smell from the street - like a sewage smell, that never went away!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

We stayed at the Katathani in a Jr. suite in the Andaman wing from 14-26 Sept. This was our first trip to Phuket however we have traveled extensively all over the world including Bali, Aruba, Florida, Spain and Greece. We prefer small (under 50 rooms), quality establishments and our choice was not easy. That said, we were extreamly happy with our choice of this large resort.

During our stay we used nearly all of the facilities available except the Spa. This was unnecessary due to the great services provided by the ladies around the pool at a fraction of the costs. Dinner at Fishermans Grill was a delight. Room service was prompt and presented well. If you wanted to sleep in, just call and they will make up the room when it suits you.

Having now stayed at the Katathani, we question some of the critical reviews we have read here:
- If reviewers had used a little extra time on the internet before choosing the Katathani many of the complaints could be avoided.
- it rains in the low season but we only had to leave the pool area for 3 short (15 min.) periods due to squalls
- Katathani does not advertise as a low cost hotel. We found costs at the hotel for services in line with similar quality hotels we evaluated. One point is that there was no "Bali Belly" here
- Internet and laundry to expensive? Walk across the street.
- The Thani wing is ocean front and close to all facilities you need. Reveiwers complain that when they chose the Buri wing it is farther from most facilities and the beach. You get what you pay for.
- You should't fault the hotel for issues which they are not responsible. Many bad reviews are due to weather, transit services, agents or Phuket in general. These are not Katathani's responsibility.
- When we read the info available on internet, we cannot see any mis-representation by the hotel. Use more time before finalizing your hotel selections. Patpong it's not (thank the Gods)!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay so much that we will return without a doubt and we have never returned to any other holiday destination before.

  • Liked — Location, location, Location
  • Disliked — Couldn't swim so often in the sea, red flags
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

Our family of three adults and two children stayed for eight days at the Katathani resort in late September 2008 (the low/rainy season). We found the hotel well positioned (on a lovely beach), and away from the hustle and bustle of the towns to the north. The hotel was very well maintained and the staff were very friendly and attentive. Although the rooms we booked (Junior Suites) were average in size and visual appeal they had a spectacular outlook onto the sea and we spent almost all of our waking hours either around the pool (having massages, reading etc), on the beach, in Patong or Kata or on a tour.

We had breakfast included in our package and were very happy with the range and quality of the food available. We had delicious and well priced lunches and dinners either across the road at one of the several local restaurants or in Kata (a 20 minute walk with children). The cost of a meal in one of the local restraunts (including fresh juice and/or beer) was less than $10 per head. Transport from the hotel in a taxi or TukTuk cos approximately 100-150 Baht one-way to Kata (about $5); and 400-450 Baht one way to Patong (about $8). Massages/manicures/pedicures at the local beauty salons are really well priced at about 250 Baht for 1 hour (just under $10).

There was a vast range of tours and tour operators available. We went on an island tour (by speedboat) which was very enjoyable and also on a local Phuket tour to visit the temple, Buddha and ride elephants. Our advice is to shop around for the best price and negotiate the costs of any tour.

The hotel offers some excellent activities for guests. We did the Thai boxing, yoga and stretching classes and thoroughly enjoyed them (especially the boxing which our children did with us). There is a good gym (with cardio equipment as well as machines and free weights) and a room where guests can play pool and table tennis.

We found the Katathani hotel very good value, extremely well maintained, in a great position.

  • Liked — location on beautiful private beach
  • Disliked — Nothing we didn't like. Mildly annoyed with one waiter who persistently tried to sell us tour package whilst we were at breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Katathani for 10 days earlier this year and it was absolutely beautiful!

The rooms are are kept in immaculate condition, the hotel staff from reception to the restaraunts and cleaning staff were all friendly and helpful and always made you feel welcome. Everything about the resort was just perfect!

The resort is also situated right on the beach - no busy roads to cross and the beach is also alot quieter than the larger beaches in Karon and Patong. Only a short tuk tuk ride into Kata to go shopping and the hotel has daily trips into Phuket Town and Patong.

It was the beginning of the rain season but we only had a couple of showers in the afternoon which did not dampen anyones spirits.

Definately will go back one day!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

We have just returned from 10 nights at the Katathani and cannot fault anything during our stay. On our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff with a Welcome drink and a beautiful floral bracelet. The room was clean and spacious. We were in the Bhuri Wing which is where they appear to place the majority of families as it is near the Kids Club. The pools were always immaculate and the groundsman were continually cleaning and watering plants etc. Amazing watching them climb the ladders to water the flowers in the flower boxes on the balconies. Also the little touches such as when we returned to our room and found our elephant made from towels complete with nails made from Orchid Leaves. They also had a baby elephant at the resort one evening which you could feed. We found the staff to be very courteous and also willing to assist us. The breakfast was fantastic, with a good variety of food and the presentation and taste of the fruit was exceptional. Loved the fresh omelettes every morning and the way I would just walk up and he would remember what I wanted. A great position right on the beach and we loved the peace and serenity of the resort with just a short cab ride to Kata Beach to sample other delights. We found the local restaurants on the road at the resort to be very friendly and they were always willing to cook something different to suit my 5 year old's taste. The sunsets were spectacular. This was our second visit to Phuket and previously we had stayed north of Patong and found this time that we loved being at Kata Noi because you were never far away from things to do. Patong Beach is a very busy place and being away from this made the holiday very relaxing. Overall it was a fantastic trip and we would definitely stay at the Katathani again.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms, Relaxed atmosphere and great facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.