We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
THB4,160 (THB)
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Kata Beach
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was the place that we chose to wrap up our month in Thailand. After experiencing Bangkok, Samui, Lanta and Phi Phi, it was nice to just chill out here for five days. The staff was amazing and the beach food was great. We got massages everyday and the beach was awesome. I can't say enough good things about this place. Enjoy it for yourself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,115
    599
    189
    78
    40
See reviews for
558
970
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent a glorious Christmas week with my son-in-law,daughter and her 2 kids in this fabulous resort. The accomodation ...3 bedrooms...is spacious and very comfortable. The grounds and amenities are superb...the swimming facilities in the 3 pools prevents over crowding. The location right on the beach...few steps to the white sands..is amazing. Plenty of water sports and activities. The Christmas Eve party at $200 per person seemed expensive but the stunning array of more than a 100 dishes..all intricately carved and decorated with orchids...was absolutely stunning.
There are plenty of small Thai restaurants and massage places just outside as well as reasonable shopping.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Family corner suite with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We were on a ground level room in the Bhuri section which was quite convenient to the pool, however it smelled very bad. Musty odor and the shower was mildewed with black mold. When we pointed this out to maid, head housekeeper came and maid scrubbed to the best of her ability, but the odor was only dealt with by adding more fragrance oil to the room oil burner. Our first visit in 2011 was much nicer. Since then the beautiful woods in the rooms have been painted with a very tacky looking seafoam green color which ruined the ambience in our opinion. When we checked in the receptionist happily told us that we'd be surprised that the rooms had been renovated. I guess this is what they call renovation. This wing needs some attention. Our maid in 2011 brought us flowers each day and made sure we had all the gels, towels, etc we needed. Our maid this visit was not nearly attentive enough. Beach is easily accessible and water is lovely. 5 pools, and a cafe on the beach at the rocky end that is not associated with hotel that is very fun and cheap. Dinners at Katathani are too expensive to eat there. Buffet breakfast is the best we've ever had anywhere in the world and we have traveled extensively. Great service. Friendly staff with repeat visitors. Not sure we'd go back though..twice was enough.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and I honeymooned for 10 days at Katathani. It was perfect. The location is absolutely perfect. We left the resort only a handful of times for excursions. Katathani is the perfect place for a perfect day: sleep in, have a fabulous huge buffet breakfast, find a chair on the beach and sip coconuts, take long walks on the beach, then take a cool dip in the pool followed by an outdoor massage for about $10, have a nice seafood lunch outdoors in your bikini, read on the beach, take a dip in a different pool, enjoy a happy hour drink at sunset, and then have a nice dinner with live music at one of the many venues on the property. We didn't get tired of being on the property. We actually enjoyed many massages, many meals, tennis, ping pong, swimming, eating, drinking... The staff is perfectly polite and helpful in every way.

The beach is public, but only those staying at the resort can enter the property to use all the amenities. Since the beach is public, sometimes it felt crowded, but we would get our beach chairs/umbrella ($6 total) early in the morning (by early, I mean 9:45 am) and try to set up in the swimming section (which is roped off) to be secluded from the para-sailing boat's annoyances.

The food is very very good. We ate in many of the restaurants and enjoyed many buffets. The variety is very good and we don't have any complaints about the food!

There are many activities such as yoga, tennis, water aerobics, vegetable carving, Thai cooking classes- I took advantage of them and it was fun!

The resort is on a dead end, so that helps it feel secluded. We went to a few good restaurants outside of the resort which are within walking distance or a short tuk tuk ride away.

We especially enjoyed the live music at the bars and dinner venues. They have musicians who sing very well and know a lot of fun, modern and old songs.

We don't have kids, but saw that families with kids were enjoying themselves just as much as we were. For couples, don't worry, it doesn't feel "over run with kids". You can still have a very adult vacation even though it's a family resort.

I highly recommend this resort to those who are coming to Phuket to relax and enjoy good food and atmosphere (not hard core partying).

We stayed in the Superior- the cheapest room at the resort- it's actually across the street from the main building, but it was fabulous- still very convenient and we loved the room with the little balcony, huge rain like shower head, and big comfy bed. We have high standards for cleanliness, and Katathani met the standards!!

If you're tired of searching the internet for hotels in Phuket (as we were), you can give up your search and settle on Katathani!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

As others have said, this is not a five star resort. In fact, it's the worst place we've stayed for many years. We had booked another resort online and wanted to spend four days somewhere else first so asked our travel agent for a suggestion. I can only think he was on some sort of commission because I can't think of any other reason why this place would have been recommended for us. Let me start with the good points. The grounds were beautiful and well kept, we enjoyed the music and ambiance at the Coconut Bar each evening and the Italian restaurant was very good. The rest is not so good. We took the advice of others and paid extra for a junior suite in the renovated wing but the room was smaller than most standard rooms - in fact we had to move the only chair in the room out onto the balcony to fit our suitcases. Nothing luxurious about it at all. Breakfast was OK but not a patch on any other hotel or resort we've stayed at - and we probably go to at least four each year. The beach is not private so you have to pay to sit on a lounge. There were more smokers than I've seen since pubs in the '70's and they were smoking everywhere - including in sections of restaurants. The whole place stank of stale smoke. The pools were OK but it wasn't easy getting somewhere to lounge by the pool. The whole place was too big, too outdated, too tacky and not good value compared to other resorts in this part of the world.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear TouringAussies
I am sorry to read that your overall stay at our resort didn’t meet your expectation. However I am glad you liked our wonderful garden area, as well you enjoyed the good live music at Coconut Bar and the delicious Italian food at La Scala.
I wish you a good time back home and good travels, and I am sorry you were not satisfied with our stay.

Sincerely yours,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here with my family. The hotel was lovely very clean and the staff were very nice and helpful. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was ok, we decided to eat out most nights there were a few restaurants nearby but a lot more a short taxi ride away. My six year old loved the crab racing the hotel put on twice a week. My only disappointment was the beach. You had to pay foe beds as they did not belong to the hotel. But overal we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Jeff1874
Thank you for your kind review posted on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to hear that you and your family fully enjoyed our facilities, activities and the staff service here at Katathani.
I am sorry to hear that the beach disappointed you. Please kindly be informed that all beaches in Phuket are public, and are controlled by local people. Therefore even our guests should pay a small amount per day for sun chair/umbrella rental.
We hope to welcome you and your family back to the Shores of Serenity in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this so called 5 star resort in October 2013 for a wedding. Our party of 50 all got sick. The resort called in extra medical help but it cost us $400 per visit to the doctor, The rooms are smelly and outdated( Burhi Wing), however the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly, but the food was over priced as were the drinks.
When we left I asked for management to contact me in regard to our terrible experience, however, to date no one has bothered to call me. I would not recommend this hotel. The spa was poor quality the staff are poorly trained in massage and was overpriced.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the beach side they are double the price but they have been updated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani
Katathani Phuket
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach
Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.