We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The resort is located right on the beach and provides a number of pools to enjoy. The highlight was the great beach with pristine water. Although the resort has a number of restaurants near the ocean, the food was average. My wife and I were very disappointed with the service we received by the resort staff. They had a negative attitude when asked about anything that did not have to do with the resort. They also charged for WIFI in your room and the internet reception was poor near the pool. We stayed in the Bhuri wing which was nothing special. Overall, we were disappointed with our stay, but enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Bluedevil07
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
I am sorry to hear that your stay here at Katathani didn’t meet your expectations.
There are 6 different restaurants at Katathani that offer several types of cuisine; Thai , international, Italian, and seafood. This allows us to satisfy the different preferences of most of our guests. I am sorry that our food didn’t meet your expectations.
We’re sorry that you received service that preempted you to write this complaint, and we regret any inconvenience or frustration that it has caused you. To ensure that our staff conducts itself in a manner that reflects the high regard that we have for our customers, we’ve notified the proper department of your complaint, and we will do our best to improve the service of our employees.
Please be assured that we’ve taken corrective measures to prevent such occurrences in the future.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I am glad that you enjoyed the magnificent view of Kata noi!

Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    787
    246
    96
    58
See reviews for
742
1,242
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Overall, we found this a bit too sedate (dull) for us (not that we were looking for a wild time, either). Limited choices for food or entertainment in the immediate (walkable) area, although the breakfast buffet was nice.

Our first room in the Bhuri wing was disappointing, and the ocean views were a little distant and obscured by palm trees. After several problems with our room, management very kindly upgraded us to the Thani wing (thank you very much to the helpful staff), which was indeed a beautiful large, comfortable room with a very good view.

(There is a 3rd, older, cheaper wing further away, and you need to cross a small access road to get to/from the beach and main pools from there).

The staff were very friendly and the resort was well maintained. But apart from the great room (Junior suite) in the Thani wing, overall this did not live up to our expectations and we would not stay again or recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed one week at Katathani with our little one (20 months) and we fully enjoyed our stay. Our kid loved the Andaman pool, which is a great pool to learn swimming, they also provide many toys for free. Almost all rooms at the newer Thani Wing were we stayed have seaview, so this was great as well. We requested a top level room and there was no noise from street. Service was also very good, prompt and friendly, we complained about mattress and within 30 minutes they replaced them!

The only thing keeping me from giving this 5 points are the Dinner options, which we found average but at high cost and the architecture, which is one massive three level building. The breakfast was very good though with tons of options and speedy service, and the many palms they planted make you feel at home. For Dinner we went out mostly.

Note - they have two providers they work with for elefant trekking:, Siam Safari, a very good one according to tripadvisor ratings, and Amazingbukit, with some less stellar tripadvisor ratings. I suggest you consult information on you operator prior to booking the elefant trekking, to avoid any surprises.

Room Tip: Thani Wing has much larger pool areas and you do not need to cross street when going to beach (unlik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear MarcSwiss
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to read that you and your family fully enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for your kind compliments towards our service and facilities.
However I am sorry that our restaurants didn’t meet your expectations.
I hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the katathani. The hotel is so well kept and the beach is beautiful. I would definitely recommend staying in the Thani wing over the Bhuri wing. Rooms are much nicer and outlook is much better. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite in the Thani wing. It was just perfect as we have two small children. The room was spacious, well set out and well appointed. It was nice and light and airy. The pools are amazing. The kids loved the slide and we loved the Coconut bar at Sunset. The resort is massive so be prepared to walk. Kids club is situated in the Bhuri wing so it is a fair hike from the Thani wing. The food was cheap and all nice. There are heaps of different restaurants to eat at. We didn't get to sample any as it was a bit hard to take the kids out as they were exhausted by six pm. My husbands sister got married while we were there. The weddings they do are fabulous. The setting is amazing, the food is fabulous and they have a good selection of beverages including white wine. It is approx a $15 ride each way to patong.

Room Tip: Go the Thani wing. More expensive of course but worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Emwhal
Thank you very much for your kind review on TA.
Your compliments towards our staff and facilities are very much appreciated.
I am very happy to read that you and your family really enjoyed your stay with us.
Congratulations to your husband’s sister wedding! Indeed our weddings here are very romantic and well organized.
I hope you and your family will come to visit us again in the near future!
Sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

There are two wings of the Hotel -- you definately want the Thani wing as it is on the beach. In the Thani wing there are "ocean front" and "ocean view" rooms -- not much difference; it's all good. Pick a second or third floor room if you want to see the beach/ocean; first floor rooms are blocked by low bushes. The pools are great as are the restaurants. The buffet breakfast is very good, but gets a little old if you stay a week (as I did). The room rates go up Nov 1. Nov gets much more rain than does Dec, Jan, Feb, March (per local data). I was there late Nov and had rain the first three days, clear the next four. You never know, but keep this in mind when considering when to go.

Room Tip: Thani wing; second or third floor to get a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear GlennDetrick

Thank you very much for your review on TA.
I am very happy to read that you had a great stay.
We all hope you will visit us again in the near future.
sincerely yours
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent a week with friends at the Katathani hotel. We loved it the moment we entered the hotel. The area around the hotel was very quiet and peaceful and no traffic at all, just a place we friends needed to hang around by ourselves. The pools are huge and just by the beach. The beach too is really nice and kind of private. The view is just amazing at sunset when you sit by the pool for a drink.

Perfect place for a honeymoon......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed in 3 different hotels in Phuket and this was by far the best in value, food and location.

Out of kata, karon and patong beach, kata noi beach right outside the resort is the nicest beach by far, not too busy and quality is the best! Plus it's so cosy because it's not as big as the others.

The hotel is so nice, we stayed in a room facing the ocean but I would have paid more for 2nd or 3rd level. The buffet bkfast is the best we had, I'm into sweets and they had waffles, donuts, cake, pancakes, French toast, whipped cream every day! The buffet dinners are worth it, only 750 baht compared to 1500 baht we paid at another resort. The room has jive decor and bed super soft which we liked after sleeping on what felt like cardboard mattresses in khao Sok national park. The only thing is I probably wouldn't get room service because it is overpriced for what you get. So many lounge chairs near the pools and on the grass.

Just a perfect resort really, would definitely be back the next time we are in Phuket!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.