We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we revisited the hotel and again found it to be just what we wanted , away from all the crowds and peaceful, nothing better to rise early and walk on the beach, went before as a couple and loved it so much we took our youngest with us this time (12) enough kids for her and us to be happy. the breakfast is not out of this world but nearly taste is catered for and you can leave very full. the onsite restaurants are lovely, we enjoyed a few nights with friends and as a couple, the service is excellent through out the resort. got the scooter again its the only way to get around and it is very cheep to run and hire for the 2 weeks.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms on the second and third floors overlooking the pools and beach the Kata wing quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    790
    246
    96
    58
See reviews for
743
1,243
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andernach, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'll start by saying that this is a late review about our 10 day stay at Katathani end of 2012. We've booked the Ocean Front Jr. Suite. How it was furnished was awful. I couldn't get used to it, i had the feeling that i was staying in a improvised room at a construction site. The problem was that all the Ocean front Suites were furnished the same, and there were just the Grand suites that had ocean view. Within 2 days, after many discussions with 2 managers from the hotel and with our travel agent, we were upgraded to the grand suites, without charge.
Tho go along with the cons, the breakfast could have bin a little more diversified. After the first 5 days it was already dull.
The rest was beautiful. We felt great at this hotel and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Firstly if you are a couple looking for a special romantic place, then I recommend to look elsewhere.... But if you are looking for a family holiday then read further.

During our five night stay we first stayed in an ocean view Junior Suite and were disappointed with the room, it had a bad smell and was in need of renovation which was surprising as it was a more expensive room, so on the second day we asked to change rooms. The room we were shown was identical just didn't have the amazing view so we stayed in our original room as the view really was brilliant. After the second night my wife could not stand the old run down room anymore so we decided to move to a room over looking the pool in the Thani wing, these rooms are very recently renovated and much much nicer...

So if you decide to book make sure you are in the Thani wing (better rooms and better location than the other wing) but most importantly make sure you get a renovated junior suite as they are the rooms that at least get close to the room you would expect for the price (ocean view rooms are sadly old and about 3 1/2 star). I will say the staff were very helpful in changing rooms but you shouldn't have to change if you pay for basically the best room in the resort!!

RESORT POSITIVES:
Great beach at your door step (basically a private beach for the hotel).
Really nice gardens and pool areas. Good for kids to run around.
Renovated rooms are nice (Thani wing- Junior Suites)

RESORT NEGATIVES:
Breakfast average.
Ocean view rooms run down.
A very large resort, not great for couples. Loads of kids everywhere!!
Staff worn out.
Costs 200 baht to get a tuk tuk into town and 200 to get back each time as is 15 min walk up hills to get into Kata Beach.

Overall a nice resort with a stunning location but really it is a family resort which is great for kids!!

Room Tip: Good for families but NOT for couples.. some junior suites in Thani wing are renovated and much nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Nice resort, staff very helpful especially when we had a major water leak coming out of the air conditioning. The free internet (not in your room) was great and there are 4 computers by reception that you can use. Breakfast was the usual, nothing spectacular. We had a couple of lovely meals onsite and room service and found the prices very reasonable. There really isn't anything we can complain about, we just found it too isolated and quiet and we preferred Kata with more restaurants and it seemed to have a bit more life about it. Katathani is a large resort with everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel but somehow we felt it lacked in atmosphere. There were lots of young families here but somehow I think it would be a little boring for teenagers. You are also a little limited with the taxis as Kata Nois is the last stop - a dead end road so the taxis aren't so keen to bargain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We are currently half way through our stay at Katathani resort. We chose the resort because it had good reviews and a kids club. The kids club is extremely disappointing. It is very small, understaffed, and the activities (4 of them) are the same each day. Last year we stayed at Movenpick and the kids loved kids club. On the positive the pools are great.
Bottom line don't stay here if you want to use the kids club.

Room Tip: Junior suites are very centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We loved this resort and we had a fantastic holiday. When we first arrived I was disappointed with our room which was a deluxe family room in the Bhuri Wing (two queen beds). These rooms are in need of an overhaul, dark and the air conditioning smelt like mould. These rooms (and our private patio) also backed onto an old house next door which had roosters (yes 4am wake up calls and a undesirable view). I had a large amount of a dirt like substance falling from the light in ceiling onto my pillow so we asked to be moved. The hotel staff were quick to move us even though the resort was nearly full to capacity. We had the choice of another family room or a deluxe room still in the Bhuri wing which has a king bed and a sofa that they make up for your child. We chose this room as they face the pool and the rooms have been renovated. They are fresh and light and the air conditioning smells clean. We loved this room and it made such a difference to our experience. The staff were all polite and has they got used to seeing you everyday they became very friendly as well. I am a gluten and diary free eater. This was not a problem for them. They brought me my gluten free toast every morning at breakfast and there is so much choice that I didn't need to request special meals. The pools are amazing. My favourite pool in front of the Thani wing. We loved the Thai restaurant and ate there mostly. Myself and my daughter did get sick. I don't know from what though as we did all the right things. My husband ate anything and drank anything and he was fine. My daughter was vomiting all morning one day.The housekeeper rang straight through to the doctors clinic on site. We caught a golf buggy down to the clinic. Medication dispensed (750 TB to see nurse and for the medication) and she came right a day or so later. This is a great resort as it is out of the hustle and bustle so you feel like you are on an island but when you want a taste of the fast pace you can catch a taxi/tuk tuk outside the front door (450 TB to Patong or Phuket Town). It is cheaper to hire a private driver for the day if you want to go to more than one location and we did that a few times with Chay Phuket Tours (on Facebook). We found room service to be great, there is no extra cost and after long active days we used this service a lot. They have a laundry service, I got 6 items laundered which cost 500 TB but just down the road there is a selection of laundry services which do 70TB per kilo of washing so I used them after that. Drinks are cheap and there are happy hours at the pool bars from 5ish to 7ish everyday. We noticed they are renovating the Andaman wing which is in the Thani wing so they might be the rooms to stay in down the track. We looked in the windows and they looked beautiful. We will stay here again!! We used the kids club once as my daughter who is nearly 11 didn't want to come shopping. She found that most of the kids were 7 and under so she was a bit bored but it is great if your kids are over the shopping thing and you just want a few hours to get it done. They have Wi-Fi and a computer station by reception. These worked great! We had massages by the pool frequently for 350 TB for 50 minutes they are a relaxing massage if you want a deeper massage then the ladies on the beach are the ones to see. Hopefully we will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here for a week in mid September 2013. It is fantastic! I could not recommend this hotel more highly. Firstly the staff are lovely and they are always willing to go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. The buffet breakfast was good, had lots of options for people from all different countries. From sweet things to savoury things and everything in between. The hotel has lots of facilities to keep everyone entertained from an outdoor chess set, to a putting green, lots of swimming pools, a kids pool, an adults only pool, lots of restaurants, cocktail bar and an incredible view of Kata Noi Beach. The LOCATION is fantastic. It is roughly 5-10 minutes by taxi from Kata where there are lots of restaurants and shops, but it is also the perfect distance AWAY from the hustle and bustle. It is roughly 20 min from Karon and 30 form Patong (which is horrible so touristy and dirty). It is very easy to get a taxi, as across the road from the Bhuri and Thani lobbies are taxi ranks. In Phuket taxi fares are standard so we paid 200 baht to get a taxi from the hotel to Kata everyday, so therefore you can be assured you are not being ripped off if the fares are a standard rate. The beach is beautiful white sand and aqua blue water. It wasn't the best for swimming however, as it is quite tidal (lots of big waves). We stayed in the Bhuri wing which was lovely, only issue is the bathroom is quite small which some people may not like, other than that everything was perfect. We stayed in room 6224. It had a view of the pool and the ocean which was nice. I can't express how much I loved the hotel and how much I can't wait to stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.