We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights on our Far East tour. The rooms we stayed in smelt damp when we first got there, but I suppose with doors all closed & no air conditioning on it was going to be. They did get better as the days went on. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice & the pools were great. Room service was excellant, with plenty of vegetarian food & good prices too. It was my elders sons 18th birthday which the staff surprise him with a birthday cake, so thank you. Overall a nice resort with plenty of things to do, good beaches & great food & service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,485
    821
    254
    96
    59
See reviews for
774
1,287
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days at Katathani in 1st week of August and this is the low season for Phuket as it is rainy and the seas are rough.

We were slotted for the smaller wing. There are 2 wings at this massive resort. Bhuri and Thani. I forget what the name of the wing we had our room in. It was the smaller wing.

The property externally is well maintained. Friendly staff, expecially the security guards and the staff who do duty externally. I can't say much for the reception desk staff.

Its been maybe like 3 years since I returned to Phuket, and I am taken by surprise that front desk smiles are gone and in place of that.. 2 very grouchy front desk staff manning reception check in and check out. Perhaps it was the stress of a troupe of loud, and noisy mainland china tourists who came by the bus loads during my 4D3N stay there. But there should be no easy for a grouchy staff that extends their mood to other paying guests (especially couples).

We would be in the lobby daily as we waited for friends or taxi or for the rain to stop, and yet we can see the consistent sullen behavior. I overhead a german guest asking for a check out bill explanation, and a male staff replying in a not so polite manner. The female staff were the same attitude. On our 1st day check in, we were told to wait as the rooms were not ready. I was totally accepting that and was told that it will be ready by 2pm.

Whilst sitting there sorting out the usual checkin process, the female staff next to me was arguing loudly with a guest on differing bill charges etc... the mood was getting a tad ugly and no doubt bore the tone for the entire reception and lobby for the day.

We went out to explore the rest of the property since we had no rooms and had lunch.
We decided to take things slow and returned to the lobby at 2pm. As we approached the desk, we were 'mistaken' for another CHINA tourist. The looks given to me and my wife were sullen, until we spoke. They realized we were not from China. Even then, we were gruffly told our room was not ready and they gave us a look as in why the hell are you asking me if the room is ready when we told you it will be ready at 2pm. I looked at my watch and it said 215pm local Thailand time.

Since it was a our 1st day and barely 4 hours upon touching down in Phuket, we didnt want to spoil our mood and sauntered off the nearby lounge to have coffee. It was only until like 330pm and I HAD TO GO BACK TO THE Reception to check if our room was ready(despite the fact that I told the reception staff that we were just at the lounge next door and they acknowledge that they will look for us and call us).

We had a room on the ground level. The room was neat and tidy, but it was old. We knew it was old, because the aircon does not work at night when we are sleeping. It was not blowing cold air, but just air, making it difficult to have a good nights sleep.

My rating would have been Very Good, if not for the attitude of the front desk staff and the poor room quality.

I advise you find some where else, because this property needs a major refurbishment in the rooms. It looks dated and aircon not working.

Otherwise, external property facilities are good.

Room Tip: Dont go until you read further reviews if the entire resort has been upgraded. And avoid the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a great stay here. We had deluxe pool view room Bhuri Wing ground floor which we loved. The bed was the best we have slept in away from home.
We arrived early and were able to put our luggage in storage, change, and enjoy the resort while waiting for our room.
The grounds are beautiful, and very well maintained.
I was the only one to swim, and loved it, There are several pools to choose from, but I chose the close easy option, and loved it.
We ate at Cinnamon, for brekky and one dinner, Chom Talay, Fishermans Wharf, and all meals were excellent, We also ate at Orchid outside the resort and that was great too, much cheaper.
This resort is away from husstle and busstle, but close enough to get a taxi (set price) shop, eat etc then return to peace.
Research your trip and if you want a piece af paradise this could be it!
We had a great holiday here, hope you do too!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Awesome place to stay!! We came for our honeymoon and it has been superb! Friendly staff, clean and tidy, perfect location, the pools, bars and restaurants are all top class!!! The staff remember you personally and are always keen to have a chat. We stayed in a beach view room with spa bath - plenty of space, huge bed, uninterrupted beach views and the sound of the waves is so relaxing when you're on the balcony. Can't wait to book our next stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in the Bhuri wing of this hotel in August 2013, when we checked in we were told we had been given a free upgrade. I don't know what the room would have been like if we hadn't have had the upgrade. The room was a low 3 star at the most. My suggestion is that if you are going to book this hotel don't book the basic room. I was disappointed by the room and the hotel on the whole. We took the shuttle bus (150 BHT per person) to Phuket Town and we were dropped off at a mall in the pouring rain, spent 4 hours here then waited for an hour for the bus to pick us back up. Only for the fact that there was another couple there waiting too who were on our outgoing trip we would have thought that the bus wasn't going to pick us up. Once it did it was full of people who had been dropped off at Phuket town itself, which would have been a better option for us certainly. The hotel is a good way from other bars and restaurants outside of the complex, certainly a taxi or tuk tuk trip. Kata town is very nice and on the whole we enjoyed our stay at the Katathani. I just wouldn't be in a rush to go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Junior Suite which had ample space for two and a beautiful view of the beach, beyond a stretch of well-maintained lawn and palms. Staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. Loved their pools and restaurants (Fisherman's Wharf was our favourite). The included breakfasts offered a staggering variety of options - try their freshly cooked spicy thai-style omlette. The hotel is a bit out of the way but that's the way we liked it. Some reviews have said you can walk into Kata, which is true, albeit over quite a steep hill. We did it once, then opted for the 200B taxi waiting outside the hotel thereafter. Taxi to Patong is a comfortable 500B. Very happy, would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 8 nights here in August. Overall we were very impressed, the attention and attitude of staff could not have been any better, the staff at Chom Talay restaurant where we ate every morning made every new day something to look forward to. The selection and quality of food was superb, and i think this will be the benchmark we compare other resorts to in future. We had room service on two occasions, both times happy with the service and again the staff members that delivered it were tremendously polite. Our grand suite was not as grand as we had expected but our initial disappointment fell away as this resort and general location more than made up in other areas. Restaurants and minimarts outside offer a great alternative for those wanting to save some money. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.