We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
THB4,140 (THB)
Ranked #10 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 6 nights in early June and had a lovely time. The resort is absolutely gorgeous, and the service was pretty good for the most part. The resort is pretty secluded, and it's at least an hour from the airport and a half hour from most of the tour/excursion locations, so be prepared for a bit of a drive if you intend to do anything off property. Most days we were there, we sat at the pools near the beach and we did spend one day on the beach (you can rent chairs and an umbrella for the entire day for less than $10 US, which was definitely worth it!) We ate at every restaurant and had drinks at every bar while we were there. There are plenty of options since it's such a large property, so you can count on there being good variety for meals. We mostly ate lunch at the larger pool bar by the Thani wing. It is right on the ocean, so the view is amazing, as is the cool breeze off the water (we had happy hour here several nights, too, and even spent 3 hours here one night when the monsoon appeared with lots of heavy rain! If you have to be stuck somewhere in a downpour, though, this was the place!) We did the spa package and had massages which were good--Swedish massage is not my favorite, but for the method it was good. We didn't take advantage of it, but there are also people from the hotel that will give massages or mani/pedis around the pools for a very good price. Other than being a bit far away from everything else on the island, our main complaint was that the room (which was quite beautiful and very clean) was incredibly humid despite constantly running the AC and keeping the doors closed all the time. Everything was damp and our swimsuits and beach clothes did not dry out the entire time we were there. An upgrade to their ventilation system to dehumidify more would be a bonus. Otherwise, we had a lovely time. I recommend Phuket Sail Tours speedboat tour to Phang Nga Bay as well as Siam Tours elephant trekking, but skip the trip to Fantasea. It was a waste of money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,200
    659
    208
    85
    47
See reviews for
626
1047
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Service is good. Location is a great little oasis away from manning crowds with it's own beach. It is well maintained and a very safe choice. It has a variety of restaurants on site so you need never leave, if that's what you want from a holiday. Has a cool bunch of activities on site and I believe it cannot be faulted as a hotel, catering for every need, every season with variety for masses of people. Kids loved it.

We went in June, the monsoon season, and the prevailing wind blows directly off the ocean onto the hotel. Thankfully the Bhuri wing and its pool is sheltered from the wind making it a great place to hang out. However the other 2 pools and ocean facing apartments are constantly buffeted. That said the kids loved the variety and selection of pool bars. Beach is unusable is monsoon season due to rip tides and big waves (and of course the wind).

They have a kids club and gym open from 8-5. The pool facing and ocean facing rooms are small but great with 2 queen beds pushed together. Any more than 2 and you are moved into the apartment block style rooms lacking a bit of charm.

Free wifi available in either of the 2 lobby areas. Mini bars in the rooms not stocked but minimarts is on the main stretch across the road.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

WHAT A FANTASTIC TIME ! My husband & I just had a relaxing holiday at this lovely resort with 9 other friends we found ALL staff very friendly & helpfull from the pool-breakfast-cleaning-gym staff they always had a smile for you,we would be happy to come for 7days every Aussie winter....reading some of these other reports I guess some people are very hard to please......we would happily recommend this resort to more of our Aussie friends

Room Tip: junior ocean view great- views of the beachgreat need to keep a/c on because of humidity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The resort is huge with 6 swimming pools and 6 restaurants. Everybody where very friendly. Stayed in a Junior suite which was wonderful, awesome view while we were drinking ice cold beer. Life doesn't get any better than that. Breakfast was the best I have seen in all my years of traveling. Thai cooking class was good and tasty. Will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just came back from our 4th stay at Katathani and really love staying here.

Katathani runs along Kata Noi beach which is a public yet quiet beach. The beach itself is clean and just looks stunning.

We pay a little more for the Junior Suite Ocean fronts and the view and extra space makes it totally worthwhile!

The staff in the restaurants and travel booking areas are helpful, knowledgable and amazing and I look forward to coming back every year to see them. After 4 visits staff know us and it's nice to get the warm "welcome home".

There are 5 swimming pools and 6 restaurants at the resort but Kata Beach is only a short walk (good for working off the cocktails!) where there are plenty of other great restaurant choices.

Could do with a few more private spots for couples and the enforcement of the "Adult Pool" rule but that's only a mild complaint, I love this place and look forward to next year's visit!

Room Tip: Junior Suite Ocean front is a lovely quiet room with a good amount of space and as the name suggests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in a ocean front junior suite. We paid extra for this room as it is located right on the beach and glad we did as the views of the beach and sea were wonderful. We had arranged airport transfers with the hotel at the time of booking. The vehicle that collected us provided us with a private transfer, which we did not expect, and had leather seats and complimentary bottles of water. This gave us a very good impression of the service that the hotel would provide. Also on our arrival at the hotel, complimentary drinks were provided at time of check-in and our luggage was transported to our room.

The rooms were spacious and clean with nice decor. There was a seating area inside the room as well as a balcony where the views could be enjoyed. The only downside to the room was that there was a "strange" sort of smell like dampness in the room. We were unsure what it was but had read previous posts mentioning the same thing. We did however get used to it after a couple of days and didn't really notice it.

The on-site restaurants were very nice. La Scala was our favourite and we went there twice. The meal, which was 5 courses each with soft drinks, cost about £80 however the quality of the food merited this price.

There is also a complimentary gym and games room in the hotel which we used a few times. The beach area is lovely and is only for use by hotel guests and guests at another hotel further along the road. The pool areas are also nice and have pool bars where drinks are fairly reasonably priced. There is also a shop directly opposite the entrance to the hotel where food and drinks can be bought and taken to your room.

We booked a snorkelling speedboat tour through the hotel and this was fantastic, visiting phi phi island and the beach where the film "The Beach" was filmed. Would definitely recommend doing this. We also took the hotel shuttle bus into Patong one night. The

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

May be we expected a little too much from our third trip to Phuket. Part of the resort was under renovation and realized that our room also needed an upgrade as well. When we first had our glimpse of Katathani 5 years ago seemed lot more luxurious than when we returned this year to stay for 5 days. Breakfast was mediocre and need more staff by the buffet. The dinner buffet was part of our package, but how disappointing. I can't help to think that Katathani may need a new owner for I keep getting the impression that staff didn't seem to care too much about accomodation. They seemed to have"tried" to be friendly, but I was feeling it. If you know what I mean. The pool were divided for "adults only" and kids friendly, and our kids had good time. The beach was only few steps away, and although the waves were high (considering it is a Monsoon season), we had a wonderful time riding them.
The hotel needs a whole new makeover inside and out, if they want to stay as a luxury resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear sue k,
Thank you kindly sharing your feedback regarding the stay. We are happy that you and your children enjoyed swimming in the pool and riding on the waves.
However, we are disappointed to know that our accommodation didn’t meet your full expectation compared with 5 years ago. This is the reason why we are now renovating the rooms during low season.
Regarding the staff performance, I do apologize that we could have been friendlier. I have talk with the concerning Managers and they will do their best to improve their service attitude.

Once again thank you and we would look forward to welcoming you back soon into the newly renovated room.

Best Regards,
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.