We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loosing its touch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Katathani Phuket Beach Resort to your Saves list
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Loosing its touch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Before i start writing the review - The Half of Thani wing is under RENOVATION and u can't use part of the garden due to renovation noise and they have removed sun decks and one of the pool and one of the bar is closed. So I am slightly surprised as why they have not updated this info on the website as you would expect from a respectable resort like Kata Thani (KT). So before booking please check the status with the Management.

Now the review....... Just back from 4 days vacation from Phuket. We had selected KT as we were well versed with the resort (this was our 3rd stay) and we love the awesome beach front. First.... the property is incredible.......the garden, pool, bar by the pool and the brllnt beach with its powdery sands. Also service, in general, excellent and cost of beer by pool is probably the cheapest ...around 50 baht ++. We had booked Bhuri wing deluxe room which has good landscape and a decent pool. BUt the overall feel and comparison between 2 wing....believe me Bhuri wing and Thani wing feel like 2 different resorts with Thani being 5 star and Bhuri 3 star. Thani has far more space and pool and much better feel and quality.

Thus when we reached and checked in Bhuri, we were slightly disappointed as over last few years they have completely re done the rooms and the bathroom area is a joke now. U really won't be able to stretch ur hand in the fibre glass shower room and it has no tubs. ThE room interiors are really average and so is the flooring. The bathroom area reminds me of temporary make over wash rooms which we find in construction sites. I remember staying in Bhuri wing around 6 years back...it was good that time.

So Post our experience with the very average room in Bhuri wing - we went to see junior suites at Thani wing....great feel but half the place under renovation. So we opted to continue to stay in Bhuri wing. But whenever I visit again I will make sure that I only stay in Thani wing and it's worth payin 35% extra for that. But well no complains.....since the room was not very welcoming we stayed most of the time outdoors....we had fun.

The Surrounding area has few good restaurants but in general the food in KT is good.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    790
    246
    96
    58
See reviews for
745
1,243
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited this hotel in the monsoons.. the view from our room was of the sea, pool and the garden combined. The rooms were impeccebly maintained and were super spacious.

The Food was delicious and the staff was exceptionally courteous, Our onward transportation got delayed and the staff of the hotel were more than happy to accomodate us for a few extra hours. It was indeed a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Fantastic resort. Staff were great, every request was catered for. Kids clubs & baby sitting service was excellent, drinks & lunch by the pool very affordable, as well as massages. Cocktail happy hour great value. Stocking your own fridge is an excellent idea, as u can buy what u want from 7/11 or their mini mart for a fraction of the price. Cannot fault this place. Awesome pools & gardens, good gym & a great breakfast. Will definitely stay here again, highly recommend. Stayed in Buri wing, you can't beat walking out from your room & into the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I am so pleased I chose this resort to take our 9year old son to,just a fantastic family atmosphere.We stayed for 15 nights in the ocean view room number 2203.I honestly cannot find anything to fault,maybe because I have not been on a holiday for 28years and really appreciated what we got.To everyone looking to go,take no notice of the negatives I am sure they would would find something to complain about in a 7 star resort.So petty.The beach 1st week absolutely beautiful, waves perfect,could see my feet water so clear.Only rained one morning and one night. Breakfast at Chomalay, awesome,so much to choose from,great staff,very clean.When we first arrived my son had a bath but could not get plug out so went to reception and told of problem,by the time we got back it was fixed,we couldn't believe it so efficient.Rooms cleaned to perfection.Pools absolutely beautiful,we had our favourite and my son loved the pool with the slide.Food by the pools were to die for,lots of choices not just one.Drinks cheap and yummy especially happy hour,cheap,cheap,cheap. We had a babysitter for two nights she was lovely.The trips we organised were great everything went smoothly.We met a lovely coupe and their granddaughter,who got on really well with my son.We had our dinners in the restaurants opposite katathani,one night we had 4main dishes,4drinks,5icecreams to put In our bar fridge and it only cost $27 that was at Kmart,very friendly staff.We also had take away pizzas from there to have in our room. The orchid and Ta restaurants were also great and cheap.I thought it was a good idea to have an empty bar fridge so we could fill it with the treats and drinks we like.Beautiful grounds,so well kept they take pride and joy in their gardens.Had to see the doctor at clinic 2days before we left she was great and very helpful and caring.If you want nightlife 24/7 then stay at patong we went there once and that was enough for a lifetime.I would recommend this hotel to anyone and in my opinion I picked the best resort for my family hands down.To all the staff at Katathani you made our longed for holiday most enjoyable and the memories will stay with us forever.THANK YOU.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms quiet with spectacular scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Phuket - to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. A collegue recommended Katathani to us, as he is a frequent visitor. It was perfect!! Everything went smoothly, from check-in to departure. The resort is maintained at a very high standard, with manicured gardens and sparkling pools. Even the beach is cleaned every morning. We had an ocean front junior suite, and it was just as lovely as the pictures, and we really enjoyed sitting outside enjoying the view with a morning cuppa. Breakfast was superb, with many choices, so it's easy to have variety each morning if you wish. We tried a couple of the in Resort Restaurants - The Chanadda and Fisherman's Warf, both were excellent. We enjoyed a variety of cocktails during happy hour at the Coconut Beach Bar, which was always a lot of fun. We tried out the spa, I had an aromatherapy massage and a facial, both so relaxing - my husband had the Thai Massage which certainly found the tensions points! Relaxing around the pool is delightful - with a choice of a dip in the ocean if you like. You can also be pampered with a manicure and pedicure while chilling by the pool, then top it off with some lunch and a drink! There are a variety of things to do if you want to, we did the cooking class, and really enjoyed it - I've made the green curry since coming home, and it turned out great! We did a little sightseeing, and the concierge helped us with some bookings. Although the Katathani is a little out of the hustle and bustle of Patong, it is an easy taxi ride in to do some shopping or go to restaurants, and we really enjoyed returning the peace when we wanted to relax. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, or you can purchase extra. It wasn't great - but enough to check emails and FB etc, wouldn't be so good if you had to work, but who wants to do that anyway! The staff were all very happy and friendly and ready to help if required. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit - it was just what we had wanted, thank you Katathani - I really hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am really surprised by the six swimming pools. I have never expected the resort is so big. Everything is already in the resort including swimming pool, beach, restaurant with nice atmosphere, sports and several activities. You can stay here for a few days without going to other places. The beach is awesome and clean. My daughter had a best time on the beach. We stayed at Grand suite which comes with Jacuzzi and the room is huge for 3 of us with great view of the sea. I would definitely come back here!

Room Tip: Grand suites are best choice for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here and I can honestly say I have never come across a more small minded and rip off orientated management in all our years of traveling . This hotel is on a great beach and the general staff work their socks off , I have had a row with the morons in reception every single day over everything from them doubling the cost of flowers for my wife's b'day to having to waste our time chasing simple requests like a power adapter. To top it of half the hotel is a building site . Spend you're hard earned elsewhere .

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Rocco46London,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments about the great beach and commitment of our general staff. Please be informed that during your stay we had a change within our suppliers for flowers that unfortunately also resulted in higher prices. We sincerely apologize for this and the other challenges you apparently had with the reception and will do our best to improve the front desk operation.

Once again thank you for having taken time to bring all the matters to our attention and since you also mentioned upon check-out that overall you have had a pleasant stay, please visit us again whenever you plan your next trip to Phuket.

With warm regards,
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Katathani Phuket Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katathani Phuket Beach Resort

Address: 14 Kata Noi Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katathani Phuket Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 479
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting along 850 meters of unspoiled white sandy beach, embraced by lush green hills and sparkling blue ocean, Katathani Phuket Beach Resort recalls a tropical dream. Warm sands, the soft rhythm of lapping waves, and gently swaying coconut palms relax your senses—while our six swimming pools, six restaurants, and full-service spa delight them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Katathani Phuket Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katathani Phuket Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Katathani Phuket Beach Kata
Katathani Beach Resort
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katathani Phuket Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.