We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sawasdee Village to your Saves list
Sawasdee Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF + MORE BENEFITS
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 993 Reviews
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Upon arrival we were shocked at the quality of the Sawasdee Hotel. We were given a very dark room with 3 beds and little room to walk around. This reservation had been booked 5 months prior but she said the hotel was fully booked with no hope of a better room. Her ploy was to get us to spend $140 more a night to be in the Baray Villas which would make the cost of this tacky hotel close to $300 a night. When we refused she found "another guest's room" which she reluctantly give to us, hardly better and complete with cockroach. The showers are wood so you can imagine the cleanliness issue. The area is disappointing with not much to offer. Find a different hotel, it was the worst of our 5 week trip through South India, Sri Lanka and Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    246
    73
    25
    11
See reviews for
97
550
42
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kusadasi, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

It is very green area, as soon as you entered you understand that you in the heaven. Very humble workers, nice athmosphere, very good spa, very nice place to relax, we loved this village this is the reason we came twice and already planning to make reservation for our next wedding anaversiry. Thanks to Sawasdee for everything they are offering to us.
KOC room 114

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

If I have nothing good to say, I try to keep my mouth shut. I selected this place based on it's Trip Advisor ratings and reviews but fail to see why it was rated so highly. Anyway, after my stay, the Sawasdee sent me an email asking for a comment on Trip Advisor so here goes.

Talk about an old tired property and overpriced. A room the size of a closet and done up in an UGLY jungle hovel motif cost over $200 USD per night. The hotel's location was basically in a slum with massage parlours, tattoo joints, some very sorry looking souvenir shops, and an eatery for Russians among the neighbors. The bedroom was impressively SMALL. My wife and I aren't big people but the two of us could not walk past each other in that room without wiggling about like we were on a rushhour subway somwhere. The large bed took up most of the room and you could hardly see any floor....not that there was anything worth looking at on the floor.. The bathroom and shower were claustrophobic....old and tired and made of wood....a little judicious use of tiles and plastic would have given a more sanitary feeling to the place. The "complimentary" fruits consisted of one small dry orange and one banana. They looked like they had been sitting in the room for two or three days.

The overgrown and over the top jungle motif carried into the restuaruant where there was absolutely no air conditioning and the perforated walls and front entrance bordered the street meaning that we were literally sitting within 3 to 5 meters of the passing downtown traffice. We were breathing in road fumes while eating....and the traffic was loud. Actually I don't think I have ever eated sitting among the passing traffic before. This was no sidewalk cafe in Paris. The breakfast buffet was nothing to write home to mother about either. Wasn't bad but there wasn't anything good either.

So, I'm not really sure what other travellers found so delightful about this place. The staff were a bit too curt to be truly pleasant and the boy at check in kept insisting I forward him the telephone confirmation I received from Hotels.com for my prepaid room....shouldn't they have received that confirmation driectly without me having to provide it again? Overall, this is a $100 USD hotel and at $200 it was a rip off.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Location: In the heart of Kata beach area close walking distances to the main restaurants and shops. Kata is a good beach to locate out of in Phuket as more laid back than the other busier beaches. About 10 mins walk to the main Kata beach, but we didn't need to go there given the amazing swimming pool.

Room: Very traditional Thai style. The rooms are small compared to your typical resort, but it was super comfortable and just what we needed. We stayed with our child and the bed was a California King that easily slept 3. Shower and amenities were top notch. Nice wood teak feel to the whole place. Rooms equipped with air purifiers and internet computer. Our room was literally 2 steps from the pool and definitely worth trying to get one, but the garden rooms also looked nice in the heavy tropical gardens around the hotel.

Facilities: The pool is just amazing and would describe it like swimming in an Ankor Wat like setting. We didn't need to venture to the crowded beach as this was an oasis in itself. There is also a nice chill out room for reading. The spa is supposed to be one of the best in Thailand, but we didn't experience this. Walking into the hotel feels like you are lost in a Thai oasis.

F&B: Top notch compared to all the other hotels in the area. The setting of the restaurant is like a temple. Breakfast was great quality and something you looked forward to each morning. They also offered Thai cooking classes and would say given the decoration and quality of food also a good destination for dinner.

Service: Excellent. Very accommodating and friendly. Great at following up when you had issues. They also personalised the service when they welcomed you even though they were getting many visitors. We had trouble with a taxi and they helped us deal with it.

Value: Great value for money given the quality and design.

Summary: This is one of those special boutique hotels, and unique experiences for a hotel stay in Thailand. The stay enhanced the vacation, and didn't feel like just another resort you could be at somewhere else. It was small enough to be intimate and location was great for getting to the popular F&B/Shopping areas. Definitely would come back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just got back Monday, what a fantastic experience. The hotel is set in a beautifully designed tropical oasis. The traditional decor has been thoughtfully put together. If you are thinking of staying here please do. The staff are the best I've every experienced , the service is second to none. I was unwell while I was visiting (nothing relating to the hotel) one of the reception staff bought me some flowers and a get well card, who does that these days? Almost everyone we met asked how I was feeling. The rooms are ample, the beds enormous and comfy. we slept very well as the rooms are dark and it's very quiet at the Sawasdee Village, no traffic noise. Blissful. Breakfast is buffet style and everyone's taste appears to have been catered for, there is a lot of choice. One thing to point out, don't take beach towels with you. You are given a beach bag and towels, which are replaced daily. How good is that? Go, you'll love it

Room Tip: I think the room are mostly the same, it's quiet wherever you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My partner and i decided upon this resort based on the reviews from tripadvisor and we couldn't be happier with this choice! We used this resort as a stop rest and go option as we had to leave for a tour inland then back again into Phuket. After a long flight we were so tired we justed wanted to get to our room to sleep. Upon entry the staff were so welcoming and gave us great comfort upon arrival, as we walked through the resort with a lovely receptionist lady escorting us, we already felt relaxed and had a sense of trinqulity with the sound of the water fountains and surroundings. The rooms were gorgeous with a traditional thai feel - free wifi and free breakfast included. I loved how the shower was set up with that tropical jungle feeling. During the day we could see the true beauty of the resort, the buffet breakfast was enjoyable in a gorgeous restaurant set up. The resort is located on a quiet part of Kata beach not far from all other main locations in Phuket. It sad that we didn't get to stay longer but we will definately next time. Thank you Sawasdee Village.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We located this place based on TripAdvisor reviews. Overall it met all of our expectations. The room are somewhat smallish. Service was very good. Breakfast outstanding. The pool areas was very nice, intimate, and inviting. The bar and snack service at the pool was excellent. The room has a bit of an oder as well as an odor eater device. Not a serious problem but something to be endured. The restaurant in the hotel was outstanding. It had a great proximity to shops, massage facilities, restaurants, etc. The hourly tuk tuk ride to/from the beach was very nice and we used it frequently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.