We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee Village

Save Saved
You added Sawasdee Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sawasdee Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF + SPECIAL BENEFIT
Ranked #8 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Oulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Have been in this property twice and it tells a lot. Hotel have excellent location in it´s own quiet. It´s unbelievable walk thru to gate to hotel area and face totally different sound world and breath fresh air after busy streets of Phuket. Even odors are thought. Service class is excellent and you feel yourself welcome every moment. Also hotel spa is worth to visit.

Room Tip: Ask farthest poolside room, there´s jacuzzi just front of it´s terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your second visit, we are very pleased to have you with us once again and that would be very great to hear that you have a wonderful time with us.

We are looking forward to warm welcome you back in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    233
    71
    24
    10
See reviews for
89
515
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we stayed at Sawasdee Village resort in August 2013. We had the most wonderful experience! Being our first time in Phuket, we were not sure of the area or where to go or what to do, but the hotel staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful from the moment we entered the lush resort. The welcome drink was delicious and we were not disappointed in our room. The staff orientated us to the room, the services and the area which was very helpful. I loved the free wifi, and the free dvd player in the room (no other hotel we stayed at had the DVD player). The breakfast was delicious! It had such a wide range. The pool bar with the happy hour from 4-6pm cocktails were great, just what we needed after a big day exploring the area.

I loved the gardens, the fact that the road noises just disappear when you enter the resort complex, the beautiful authentic Thai theme, and the fact that every single one of the staff go out of their way to say hello.

The mosquitoes weren't a problem during our stay, the staff come around and set up your room for bedtime, including spraying for mozzies and setting up your net over your bed, as well as citronella flames throughout the resort.

The resort is located about a 10-15 minute walk to Kata beach, but has a free shuttle service every hour until 1800, and taxi services are a bit more pricey in this area we found, so we rented a motorbike from Kate Kwan tours across the road, and they were also brilliant. We lost our bike key and had to pay 400THB to replace it (which we were quite happy to do), they loaned us another bike, but when we returned at the end of the day, the hotel staff had found the key and gave it back to the tour office, who gave us our money back! Needless to say we continued to go there for everything! The laundry lady in the tailor shop next door to Kate Kwan tours is also really nice, really funny, and does a cheap laundry wash!

Overall this resort was the best resort we stayed at on our trip to Thailand, and we regretted having booked another resort for the other half of our stay.

Thankyou so much Sawasdee Village for making us feel at home. You definitely deserve your trip advisor award! We will definitely be back next year!!

Brooke and Brett :)

Room Tip: I wouldn't get a room facing the pool as there is not much privacy, we stayed in one of the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. We are very much impressed with your comment and it encourage us to maintain our service. We can't wait to welcome you back for your next trip.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just fantastic! We selected this hotel for its smaller size, convenient location and traditional Thai theme! It boasts a beautiful pool surrounded by a luscious tropical garden with numerous water features! The rooms are clean and nicely furnished! The staff is friendly and courteous! At least one dinner at the hotel restaurant is a must, they serve delicious meals! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is in search for a "slice of paradise" and we will definitively stay again on our next trip to Kata Beach!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be very nice to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next trip in Phuket.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over...
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a total of 3 nights in the garden deluxe room which was facing the pool. The resort itself was beautifully decorated, but rather intimate in size. In terms of the room, it was rather small with little mobility. The TV and wireless internet was great and service was fast. The bathroom was small in size and the shower had a wooden planked floor. The bathroom sink was a little high to bend over. The beds (two single) were surrounded by mosquito netting; however, our netting had a hole in it. Our window was facing the pool and we did not have one opportunity to open our blinds, due to the fact that sunbathers and swimmers were sitting just a few steps from our room. Privacy is definitely an issue if you are looking for that; especially if you book one of the pool access rooms.
Aside from the small room and tons and tons of mosquitoes all day and night, the resort was absolutely beautiful. The grounds are stunning with greens and golds and pinks. Flowers, statues and plenty of resting areas are provided. I must say my favorite place in the resort was the library. The library was decorated magically. It housed large swings cushioned to the max with large tastefully decorated and colorful cushions. It was definitely comfy and glamorous. In terms of the breakfast, I must say for a 4 star this is definitely better than some 5 star resorts I've stayed in. Breakfast included anything and everything you could think of. Items were changed on a daily basis so you never get bored. From smoked Makrel and Salmon to fresh pastries to exotic Thai cuisine, to homey favorites, breakfast was served up right and always with a professional smile.
There were a few things needing improvement I thought. On one occasion my friend with whom stayed with was sitting an enjoying the sun, and a few outsiders ventured into the resort and were walking around and asked my friend how it is. I think for safety issues, the resort should not allow non-guests to walk about unescorted. Moreover, the resort also lacks a full time driver on premises. We asked about two times on two separate occasions if they had a driver we could rent for a day. They said local taxi was available and they could call one for us. We hoped to have a familiar face on our day excursions due to safety reasons and having a trusty resort driver on hand could make an excellent addition to improving transportation options. The resort does provide a free shuttle to the nearest Kata beach, which is handy.
Overall, this resort provided us with excellent and efficient customer service which is always priority to guests. Little touches never went overlooked such as offering of a free framed keepsake photo, to personalized letter head, welcome greetings and fruit. I would definitely recommend this resort for those looking for an exotic Thai escape from the hustle and bustle of Phuket. Moreover, I would definitely come back; however, I would choose to book the Baray Villa within the Sawadee complex. It is much more spacious and glam. We had toured it on our final day and once we entered it we regreted not to have booked it instead. Baray Villa could definitely make you feel royal and away from it all. I'm sure it would be an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Don't book a room by the pool if you are seeking privacy. Mosquito warning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. We feel very thankful for your comments which are very valuable for us to improve our service. Regarding to the transfer service, we are terribly sorry that we are not able book for you for some moment due to high occupancy, then, it is always fully booked. In addition to these, we are very concerned of guests' safety issues, we ensure that we will improve this matter.

Thank you once again for choosing Sawasdee Village as your accommodation, and we are looking forward to welcome you back to The Baray Villa in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed at this amazing hotel a few times now and have now booked again. It is simply amazing.
When you step behind the walls you step into paradise, from the gardens, to the pool, the unique Thai room stylings to the lemongrass incense burned throughout the grounds- so relaxing.
Breakfast has a huge selection, bed is comfortable, room spacious and clean, unique bathroom with every essential needed. Pool is sensational. Great location away from the hustle and bustle, ample of eaterys in walking distance.
Each time we have stayed longer than 4 days and each time we have received a framed photo of the 2 of us at the hotel.
This resort is an experience not just a place to stay.

Room Tip: If you book early enough you can ask for a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Words cannot convey how achingly beautiful this hotel truly is! I have honestly never seen anything like it. I would imagine this is what it's like to stay on the grounds of some royal palace in Thailand. The moment you cross the threshold the smell of lemongrass will intoxicate you, the welcome guava juice and iced towel upon arrival are the perfect touch. The pool is divine and the swim up bar will have you there all day :) Complimentary shuttle service to Kata beach and a vast delicious breakfast buffet are both excellent amenities. I frankly care nothing for Phuket, but I would visit Sawasdee Village as often as possible as long as I live.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel away from the crazinessof phukett. The breakfast buffet every morning was great. The hotel is so beautiful with all your own lil cabins. The porch was great to have drinks at night or morning coffee. I highly recommend this hotel in phuket and the staff there. The pool was small but very beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.