We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee Village

Save Saved
You added Sawasdee Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sawasdee Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF + SPECIAL BENEFIT
Ranked #8 of 49 hotels in Kata Beach
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

After being stingy with our hotels throughout Asia, we splurged on a 2 night stay at Sawasdee Village. This place was amazing! from the moment you walk down their tropical pathway to the reception, i knew we were in for a treat! the front desk has good english and are more than helpful with check in, check out, and arranging airport transfer (about an hour, 900B for an outside taxi). they even give you a nice little picture keepsake!

the grounds are absolutely beautiful! a mix of thai and moroccan flair, with tropical foliage, lanterns, wooden walking platforms, and giant birdcage like swinging lounge chairs. even the walkway to the restaurant is suspended over a beautiful koi pond. but the centerpiece is the pool! i never hang out at hotel pools, but nearly spent our entire daylight hours lounging by this tropical paradise! swim up bar, tropical plants and water fountains surround the pool. it is by far one of the best pools i've ever seen.

the included breakfast was a spectacular buffet of asian and western food, and plenty of it! the coffee is strong and did i mention Nutella? they have a jar of it, and for people like us who don't treat ourselves to sweets, this was an awesome treat for us!

the rooms were absolutely charming and romantic! with a sheer, gold speckled mosquito net draped over the bed (you don't need it, but they caution that mosquitos are frequent in thailand), it made us feel like royalty. in room PC's, free wifi throughout, fresh fruit, 4 free water bottles per day, large soaps, coffee and/or tea, mini fridge, closet safe, umbrella's, good toilet paper, rain shower, cute little patio porch....i could go on and on! and the beds were dreamily comfortable! so if we pay 17 US dollar/night lodging, we get just that. BUT if we pay 100 US/night, we get the Sawasdee Village. it's nice to have a more reserved crowd of people instead of bunking with the heavy drunk crowds of patong beach.

btw....they spray for mosquitos every night and they play a very tranquil, low key music throughout the grounds. as for location, it is a short walk to kata beach or they have a shuttle that leaves every hour from the hotel to the beach. also within 5 minute walk to plenty of shopping, dining, and everything else!

it was beautiful, amazing and if we weren't middle class Americans, we would be happy to stay here forever!

Room Tip: i don't think it matters! they all seem perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us that would be great to hear that you have a wonderful time with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    223
    68
    24
    10
See reviews for
86
503
38
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and we absolutley loved it. A great hotel because it had great staff, lovely pool and surroundings and room was brilliant too. The staff were so attentive and polite, nothing is too much trouble.The free shuttle to the beach was convenient and the breakfast had a wide selection of well prepared food. We ate in the restaurant one night, it was a little more expensive than other local restaurats but worth it for a treat as the food, atmosphere and service was superior. We visited the spa twice and both times, there was a wide coice of treatments and it was a relaxing experience and we got a discount as we were staying at the hotel. Would definetly say here again! Can't wait to go back, definetly one of the best holidays I have been on.

Room Tip: Some rooms are next to the pool and others are in a seperate area, so depends what you want, seperat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us, that would be very nice to hear that you have a great time with us and definitely come back - we can't wait to welcome you back.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went to this place on a whim and it was very nice. We went mostly based on how it looked in the pics, a mix of Thai and Moroccan (?) But very nice decor in any event. The staff are very nice and speak good english, very helpful. Off the bat I was kind of suprised it was wedged on a busy street in what kind of what looks like a dumpy area, but once you go inside the main entrance, it envelopes you in the property. Lots of little places to sit and hangout, in the public areas, they are big on swings so there are a bunch. Very cool 'library' with couches that are swings and pillows all over...very cool. The pool was nice, saltwater, and one of the highlights of the stay. For the actual room, I found it a bit small for what I was expecting, but a king bed, comfortable and rain shower big enough for two. Hot water was lacking the first day, but by the second after I said something it was fixed soon after. I would be apprehensive about staying there more than a long weekend for the room size. But you arent going to spend much in it anyways. Restaurant was great! Great breakfast with US, Europe, and Asian foods on the buffet. And the lunch and dinner menus were great tasting and reasonably priced. And once again, the restaurant ambiance was very cool! One of my favorite little things, with any coffee you get, they give you four, yes 4, types of sugar to choose from! I loved it! I would like to go there for a long weekend and never leave the property, wish there was one in Singapore! About 15min walk from the beach, or they have a shuttle we didnt use. Recommend for couples for 2-4days.

Room Tip: The ones on the back of the property are quieter, all have sitting areas outside them, there are sev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That was great to hear that you have a wonderful time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back for your long weekend.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Beautiful gardens with a tranquil ambience. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Food was lovely with a stunning setting and spa treatment were really good too.
The only thing is the rooms were quite small and dark but forgivable because everything else was stunning!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That was great to hear that you are satisfied with our garden and service. We hope to welcome you back for you next holiday.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is my first time to Phuket. I had a good experience in there, the hotel is very beautiful and unique, staffs are very nice and food is genuinely tasty. If I have chance, I will go to stay there again. See you next time !!!!f

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. That was great to hear that you have a good experience with us and we hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had booked and prepaid my last 3 nights in Thailand here. I spent more ($104US) than any of the other hotel in Thailand and it was by far the worst hotel I stayed in. I can't stress enough how it is not worth the money. The photos on Tripadvisor are deceiving because many of them are from the Baray Villa next door. I will start with the pros. The garden is lovely, it is beautifully landscaped and it feels like you are in a serene location. The location is good and the restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. However a lovely garden does not make up for the quality of everything else which is clearly lacking.

Cons:
-The pool is small more than 5 people and it gets claustrophobic
-No one comes by with water, or cold cloth as they do at other cheaper hotels
-The pool ruined my white bikini-turned it brown and I never got an answer as to why
-The staff was ok but not Thai friendly or helpful as I had experienced at other hotels
-The rooms are small and dark like the bottom of a wooden boat. The rooms need to be updated and are dirty, I had cobwebs, dust in the corners, some sort of ant/bug infestation that hadn't been cleaned by the maids and when I told the front desk about it they agreed it was gross (I showed photos) but didn't send anyone to clean it.
-The towels were old and frayed
-The room smelt of humidity and the sheets were always moist
-The shower ceiling had wires and dead bugs in it, there was mold, the amenities were cheap
-The tv only had 3 English channels and didn't even have BBC or CNN
-For Privacy you need to keep your blinds closed as everyone can see you which makes the room even darker.
-Breakfast was very average
-After 2 nights I asked for a refund for my 3rd night as I wanted to leave or an upgrade, they tried to only give me half of my last night but did finally return the entire amount.
-The rooms need an overhaul and it is confusing because a lot of the good reviews I believe are for the Baray Villas not the Sawasdee Village. You can find much better value elsewhere (Senses Resort in Patong). I travel a lot for work and have stayed in so many hotels that I want to be comfortable, for those who travel less maybe this standard is acceptable but not at the price they are charging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

what's is this hotel it's soo clean it's so friendly what is this villa look like king in it but have to put more light at the pool at night and remove more trees at the pool to sun inter the pool otherwise it was look like heaven ........

Room Tip: all rooms with pool access is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment on TripAdvisor. According to your recent stay with us that would be great that you enjoy staying with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach
Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.