We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sawadee is not Baray Viilas” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sawasdee Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sawasdee Village to your Saves list
Sawasdee Village
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% OFF + MORE BENEFITS
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 993 Reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sawadee is not Baray Viilas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

March 2013 . Just spent 6 fantastic days at Ayarahilltops , they even phoned Sawadee as we left to request our room is ready at 1pm . We arrived at 1.30 to be told the room will be ready at 2. No smile no greeting . The room is no better than a small log cabin with a shower cubicle stuck on . The cabins are adjoining with no space between or privacy . The pool area is no better than that of a municipal pool , chairs on top of each other , but fear not the Mosquitos still find you . There is nowhere to relax in private other than a dark small bedroom . I did find the architecture of the dining room fascinating , more Arabic than Thai . But in a hotel boasting a 4 star rating , there is no air con , the current temp is 38 degrees and humid , good for breeding more Mosquitos . This is a 2 star hotel living of Baray Villas 4 star rating . Over priced and way over rated . It is also up a dirty filthy side street away from all amenities .

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    246
    73
    25
    11
See reviews for
97
550
42
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked in here for 8 nights as part of our honeymoon.
While the grounds and pool itself are lovely I can honesty say the room has been a serious let down. For the money we paid the room is so small, the big bed takes up all the space, you can't even open the (tiny)wardrobe fully and there is only one other drawer to put clothes and store things, no where to store the suitcases etc.Way too small for 2 ppl we are falling over our belongings...and we are light packers!

Also the room smells of very badly of damp.
When I complained to reception about this I was shown another room with the same issue. I was given a de-humidifier in my room which is in the middle of the room because there is literally no room for it and the room still smells.

Every space has been taken up with an ornament, tea cup, book, laminated instruction sheet, or other item which really clutters the already stuffy space.

As previous posters mentioned our room is by the pool so the curtain has to be drawn whenever you are In the room (unless u don't mind everyone staring in at you) and that means you have no natural sunlight coming into the room when you are in it which may sound like a small thing but is kind of depressing when the sun is shining outside and you have to turn the lights on in the middle of the day.

I asked about upgrading to the villas (which look much bigger) but the price is unfortunately out of my budget, so just want to let people know that the sawasdee village is not at all the same as the sawasdee Baray villas and would recommend spending the same money on better more spacious accommodation that is widely available in the area.

The rooms in this otherwise lovely resort do not at all deserve the star rating and so people beware that the villas are obviously what are getting the good ratings for it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had read previous reviews about the rooms being small but because the pictures did look so pretty I decided maybe small would be romantic. The hotel grounds are beautiful, lush shrubs, trees and plants and little walkways with large hanging swings to relax in, metal sculptures that catch the light, it really is very pretty and romantic
The pool is small, I think if all the guests wanted to lie around it there wouldn't be enough sun lounges as there isn't enough room, spotted lots of towels on the loungers long before any bodies appeared on them, I didn't think people still did that........ nice small swim up bar.
The restaurant is spacious for the size of the hotel and very traditionally Thai style, there was plenty of choice for breakfast and the staff work hard to keep your coffee topped up, smiling all the way of course. Our deal included one set meal of 6 or 7 dishes each which was very nice, though they bring all the dishes at the same time, small point, but it makes it less relaxing meal as we ate faster to stop it getting cold.
As previous reviews have said the rooms are small - a large and very comfy bed though - in a dark wood cabin style, but its is difficult for 2 people to move around at the same time.
We kept the curtains drawn as anyone walking past can see in, so the light has to be on all the time. At first we thought the room romantic, but decided it was so small it was actually claustrophobic, we could not have stayed longer than 3 nights, yes, you don't go to Thailand to sit in an hotel room but after a long day in the sun you need a cool, fresh airy place to chill before heading out
All rooms have a small outside sitting area, ours was fronted by the little stream which runs through the grounds, again full of plants and fish, but we only used for have an hour at it was sweltering and there was a problem with the dreaded mozzies; its to be expected, if you book a hotel that's like a tropical rainforest. Other reviewers have mentioned the mozzies but the WARNING BELLS should ring when you are provided with, and pointed out, that there is spray for the room, your body and after bite and despite much use of sprays we did get a few bites:-( . They are trying to resolve the issue with mass spraying every night, but it's not what you want on a short stay
We didn't use the spa so can't comment
The grounds and rooms are all kept immaculately clean and the air throughout the grounds smelling of lemongrass or jasmine, or maybe just the spa!
I wouldn't say don't go to this hotel, but for us the hour and a half journey from the airport as it was midday and there was much roadworks - not the hotels fault, - it wasn't worth it
TIP:
We had a walk past the Baray Villas within the grounds and wished we had paid the extra, from the outside they looked amazing, none of the space issues and private swimming pool

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked a Garden Room (which was right beside the pool) last Valentine's, and I consider this one of the best hotels I've been in. The room had a large and cozy bed and a large TV screen which can also be used as a computer. The bathroom was different from the other hotel bathrooms I've been to because the floor was made of wood, which gave it a "nature" feel. They also provided complimentary bottled water, fruit basket, and a beach towel and bag (not to be taken home though).

I also loved the reception area, which had a computer visitors could use, beautiful chairs perfect for just lazing around, and nice books you can read. This area was also air conditioned, just in case you wanted to cool off from the heat outside. I also loved the over-all interiors and feel of the hotel because it was like you were in a rainforest, which would also help you take photogenic pictures of the place. I especially love the pool, it was very clean and there was also a poolside bar which served delicious cocktails (I tried the mojito which was very good and refreshing!) The staff was very attentive and you know that they value your opinions and needs.

For the services, they provided a shuttle every hour until 6pm to and from Kata beach, which was a 10 to 15 minutes walk from Sawasdee. So just to give a heads up, this is not a beach front hotel, but the walk was relatively ok since you'll be passing by a lot of establishments. The breakfast buffet had a varied selection of breakfast items from fresh fruits (which was really yummy), bread, cereals, omelletes, and other breakfast staples. There is also a discount if you wish to upgrade to their Baray Villa (discount only available to Sawasdee guests)

Overall, I did not have any problems with the hotel, and actually enjoyed my overnight stay here. I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The poolside room was nice and we did not have any problems with mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us and we hope to welcome you with longer stay in the near future !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the garden room was fantastic. The room was a tad bit small but the sitting area outside the door and the bathroom layout was well designed so it's very comfortable afterall. Also, there are various seating areas along the winding forest path and pool area that it's just fun hanging out at the hotel.
The restaurant and the spa are well worth a visit, especially when they offer 10% discount at both places for hotel guests. The restaurant not only have a great food menu, their signature drinks list is to die for. You have to try the creamy coconut rum drink served in a young coconut!
The spa is simply the quintessential spa experience anyone should look for. The private steam sauna, adjacent to the cool water pool and shower that are open to the sky make the whole experience authentic and special.
The only downside is the mosquito population living in the hotel premises. I guess it's a necessary evil. The complimentary mosquito repellant and sprays are very thoughtful and afterall necessary.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on Tripadvisor and that would be very nice to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

If you have read other comments you will realise this resort divides people. It has lovely staff, beautiful gardens and pool, adequate breakfast, but the garden rooms are seriously tiny. And dark. Maybe the Baray Villas are bigger and better. The location is good for Kata Beach access. I was glad to have read other reviews before arriving as I was neither surprised or disappointed by the small rooms. It was actually very funny manouvering around with 2 people and 2 pieces of luggage. We only stayed for one night-our last in Thailand - and it was a lovely place to end our journey.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. That would be nice that you are appreciated with our service and we do hope to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the first time EVER we have left our hotel without any complaints whatsoever.
The hotel itself is beautiful, service spotless, location perfect( away from the main busy road but 10 mins walk to town and beach), breakfast super delicious..
Nice swimming pool, picturesque garden. The staff could not di enought for us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at Sawasdee Village, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you have a great time with us and we can't wait to welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawasdee Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Village

Address: 38 Katekwan Rd., Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sawasdee Village 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with 2 types of our accommodations; 40 Garden Deluxe rooms for easy and convenient lifestyle while The Baray Villa, the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand with all 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sawasdee Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Village Hotel Kata Beach
Sawasdee Village Kata
Sawasdee Village Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawasdee Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.