We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mom Tri's Villa Royale to your Saves list
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
summer package
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel, restaurant and service is outstanding in every way. The setting, sitting upon the cliffs overlooking the ocean and beach, is absolutely beautiful. The architectural and landscape architectural design of this hotel and property is stunning. Mom Tri, the architect, is a visionary who developed his home into a one-of-a-kind property. The design respects both the Thai style and the natural beauty of this setting providing many private lounging opportunites with ocean views. The swimming pools, especially the salt water pool, is exceptional. Swimming at sunset is an experience you will not forget. The food at Mom Tri's kitchen, including the breakfast buffet, is delicious.
We highly recommend Mom Tri's Royal Villa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    112
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
105
457
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were lucky to visit some beautiful hotels in Thailand such as rayavadee and Anantara but this ranks no 1 for value for money. We were so impressed by the cliff side setting , beautiful decor and amazing views at Mom Tri. Having come from the so called paradise (but in reality filthy and underwhelming) Phi Phi, we were so glad to spend a few days in proper luxury with impeccable service. No messing about at check in . What I loved most was the beautiful balcony with a big L shaped soft sofa ... Where we could enjoy a glass of wine while looking at the waves crashing in over Kata beach. The hotel has some small pools again facing out to sea , but we spent our days below on the beach. There's a trail down some steps to the beach which I loved.
The restaurant is superb - ate there twice. Again amazing setting overlooking the sea. Also visited the spa twice- the best spa that I visited while staying in Thailand. Has a proper boutique feel to it - so if large scale hotels and big crowds are not for you- you will like this hotel. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a fantastic hotel. Stayed here for our honeymoon and could not have been more pleased. The property is set on a cliff with private access to the beach. Breakfast was super and the service made it all the better. Staff was very friendly.

About an hour drive from the Phuket airport ($50 US each way via the hotel car). Many Russians were on the beach, we weren't sure why.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We travel a lot and never return to the same place, however wonderful, because there are so many places to see. But we made an exception for Mom Tri's; we had stayed here when we had one baby and after securing some cheap flights to Phuket decided there was probably no better place even though we now have 2 children.

Stayed in a Beach Suite on upper level (room 14). We had an additional single bed for the kids age 7 and 4 to share, there is more than enough room for this. Fantastic ocean view with a lovely balcony with day bed, great for lounging and for us to sit outside in the evening and enjoy a drink while the kids were asleep. As others have commented, service was great. We started most mornings with a swim at the beach, then pool then breakfast. When we returned, our room had been fully serviced. Food consistently good and so beautiful to have breakfast overlooking (almost overhanging) the ocean.

The resort has been extended since our last stay, however it has been done maintaining the lovely open feel as if it is integrated into the landscape. Even when the resort is full there are so many different spots to relax it never feels crowded. We love the ocean side salt water pool in particular and enjoyed watching the crabs scramble around on the rocks.

Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff. Even though we arrived at 1.30am we were picked up from the airport, then on arrival at Mom Tri greeted with flowers, cool drink and towels. Then on being taken to the room they had laid out sandwiches and drinks

Great complementary afternoon tea and paper. We had a package direct from the hotel which included breakfast, airport transfers, two dinners and two Thai massage at the spa each. It was excellent value. The restaurant is lovely, we ate Thai mostly and really enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Lastly even though this would be an awesome romantic retreat, it was great for the kids and they are made to feel very welcome. They loved the choice of pools, the proximity to the beach and exploring the many 'secret paths' around the resort, plus feeding the carp in the pools at reception.

Although we aren't likely to return to Phuket, if we did we would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Beach suite on upper level has the best views and close to beach and pools. Plus we love the Thai st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is our second time at this hotel, first time was exactly 2 years ago. In simple terms, the first time around I termed this hotel an experience in service of the highest quality and two years on, this consistency has endured and continues to wow us in every way. We stayed once again at the Ocean Wing. Heres a few real examples of their world class service:
- They service your room twice a day
- They deliver a daily unique desert in the afternoon
- They appeared to know whenever you are out and the room is always serviced precisely in the time you are away. Never an intrusion at all
- The staff at Ocean Wing will notice without fail that you are using the pool and promptly deliver a towel and cold water in an iced cup
- In Thailand water from the tap is not drinkable for westerners, so what do the fine lads at Ocean Wing do? They will boil your water in your kettle in your room everyday so you have about 2L of water boiled for any purpose. No joke, we came home one day to notice that water in the kettle had just gone off boil...That is in addition to the free filtered water you get both at room temperature and in the mini fridge
- Want to swim but the pool is being serviced? No worries, the crew will stop work, remove their machinery so that you can swim
- The Ocean Wing crew came out in full on both arrival and departure to greet us and they continued to greet us as if we were people of importance every morning when we saw them
- We are currently staying at the Katathani, not only is it an universe of difference in a bad way in service, attitude and quality of the room. The staff at Mom Tri volunteered to drive us to Katathani in their limo car and the staff member then carried our luggage to handover to Katathani staff before giving us a warm Thai farewell.
- Noticing we arrived after a flight from Australia, the staff at Ocean Wing provided promptly warm toasted cheese and ham sandwiches and iced soy milk
- This is in addition to the many many other extraordinary acts of service which the crew from Mom Tri deliver on a daily basis to each guest.
- Another member of the Ocean Wing staff although clearly changed into casual attire as he was about to head home, assisted us to find fresh towels rather than hand the task over to a colleague

Please note, pretty much all the above were not new to us in that we experienced all of this the first time we visited Mom Tri and this is what impressed us the most, that enduring consistency by the same staff.

These guys go truly above and beyond the call of duty in their daily pursuit of excellence in providing service. I have stayed at fine hotels worldwide and never have I come across such consistency and enduring service. It is also interesting to note that the staff at the Ocean Wing and Mom Tri in general has faced minimal turnover - most are familiar faces from our previous stay. That must say something about this establishment. To the management of Mom Tri - well done and please keep up this good work. Your staff, their professionalism and attitude is an example across Thailand and the broader hospitality industry in my view.

In case management reads this, the exceptional service by the crew at Ocean Wing especially Sae along with reception desk personnel Lynn should not go unnoticed. They are rare professionals across the general hospitality industry.

One last thing, for all the other things that matter to people - great pools, great views, great access to Kata Noi beach, great food in the restaurants and cocktails, clean, modern and well maintained rooms which were unmatched for size even in Thailand. These guys love what they do and they care..trust me on this one.

Room Tip: Ocean Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a week at Mom Tri's and loved every minute of it. The beach front room was large with everything in it you could want. It had a great view of the beach and we loved the cake and chocolates that appeared each day. The staff throughout the resort were always smiling and nothing was ever too much for them from the resort car to take you down into Kata if needed, the front desk staff were always helpfull and the staff at the poolside bar were always there to assist. The breakfast was very nice with all you needed and again the staff were wonderfull. Also the view over the beach at breakfast was delightfull. Certainly one of the best resorts we have stayed in and we thoroughly recommend Mom Tri's for a lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: The beach rooms are large and very attractive in traditional Thai style. they have a great view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My girlfriend is a very picky person so after thousand of research and review she successfully convinced me to booked this place. Wow my gf is always and was right again this time. Amazing room with stunning open view to the beach. Every time wanted to enjoy the fresh ocean air I just opened the huge window to let the coolest winds in. Very romantic and thoughtful and special dinner setup basing on our special request. Staff spoken excellent English and had a great hospitality instinct offered us such an amazing stay. Highly recommended this place to any single German and Dordmundian.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mom Tri's Villa Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.