We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Beauty and Attentive Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mom Tri's Villa Royale to your Saves list
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
summer package
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Stunning Beauty and Attentive Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We just returned from almost 3 weeks in Southeast Asia, and our favorite hotel in our journey was Mom Tri's. The hotel and location are physically stunning --- secluded, set among the natural landscape above Kata Beach, with beautiful aesthetics and facilities. What really set Mom Tri's apart was the General Manager, Dan, and is absolutely superb staff. Unlike many of the 5 star hotels that we stayed at, Dan and his staff seemed sincerely interested in our comfort and well-being during our stay. It wasn't the overly rehearsed interaction that we found at many of the other properties. The staff was natural, personable, engaging, and VERY attentive to our needs. As Dan said when we arrived, "anything is possible." And, so it was...

Room Tip: Any of the ocean facing rooms should be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    112
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
105
457
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Why write a review of Mom Tris when so many others have already? Because the reviews here convinced us in the first place. This is our second visit to Mom Tris Villa Royale and third to the area. The reason we came back, this time for 8 nights in late October, is that it is hard to develop a friendly relationship with staff and to really feel at home at large resorts. At this luxury boutique resort you are spoiled by the staff from breakfast to happy hour to dinner. Your day gets off to a warm welcome at a stunning breakfast location with the waves lapping below. Your room has been cleaned while you are away. No waiting until mid afternoon here. The superb restaurant will make special dishes for you if what you want is not on the menu. We mainly dined at the resort. My wife wanted the traditional spicey Tom Yum soup which was not on the menu but might have wished she hadn't asked half way through to the great amusement of the manager and nearby tables.

The spa center is fantastic. Best I have seen. It even has its own pool. The location is extremely peaceful and down the path is Kata Noi beach (very clean and quiet) and in the other direction you can walk to Kata town for shops, restaurants and also an activity beach. To return after being away is to enter a private peaceful oasis. I am sure there are many other delightful places to visit in Thailand but we both work hard and need a peaceful break and this has everything we need and we are pretty fussy. Why go elsewhere? I am missing this place already.

Room Tip: Ask Patcharee for advice. Book directly with the hotel for the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great resort, we wished we had spent more time here, only visited for a night en route to our island hop with Andaman Sky, who BTW got us a great price here as well as at the other places. The resort is very impressive, maybe a few too many steps for my wife's liking, but how can you get a good view without climbing a few stairs. We particularly liked the decor of our room, which was Asian in ambience with all mod cons too. The dinner my wife had was a great fusion mix of Thai and Western, while I ate pizza and wished I had ordered her food instead. Breakfast was very good, with various delicacies to tease the palate. The staff were attentive and seemed happy, but you never know what's behind the famous Thai smile, do you ?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Beach Wing suite of Mom Tri's. We just had to open up the blinds and there was the sea! Very courteous staff, a room with a great view and a location that is unrivaled- just a 5 min walk down to the beach!
I loved the room as such, so much that we had to pull ourselves out to go sightseeing.
The breakfast spread was humongous and we enjoyed all our breakfasts. Just one grouse is that they don't have an extensive vegetarian menu, so could not sample much from their acclaimed kitchens during lunch and dinner.
Mom Tri's Villa Royale made for a memorable honeymoon!

Room Tip: Go in for a room with the beach view. And be early for the breakfast for a more peaceful breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We picked this hotel from Tripadvisor recommendations and were very pleased. The hotel is a gem overlooking Kata Beach so the views from the hotel are gorgeous. It is a short walk to the beach, which is a pristine cove. Rooms are beautiful and have wonderful Thai artwork. The food is excellent so we ate most of our meals at the hotel. The breakfasts, which are included, are everything we could have wanted. The massage staff is also excellent. If you book on the hotel website the hotel shuttle to and from the airport is included. We were also able to take advantage of special discounts on the website, so although you can get good prices on places like Agoda we found we got the best rate from the hotel's site. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have just spent a week at Mom Tri's and we did have a great holiday but for us the hotel did not have the 'WOW' factor that we were expecting unfortunately.
I will start of with the positives:
1. Location and setting were amazing, the view from the room was unbeatable and it was a pleasure to wake up to in the morning
2. We had excellent breakfasts, lunches and a dinner at the restaurant these were all of high quality
3. The room was very good, large, clean and well kept
4. Access to Kata Noi beach was easy and the beach was very clean, it was also a nice touch to have access to free sun beds and parasols
5. Access to Kata town was easier than we thought it would be it only really takes 5 minutes and the hills aren't that difficult, I would recommend walking rather than pay a tuk tuk for such a short distance

Than unfortunately the negatives:
1. We were very careful during the day to use mosquito spray, but the first two mornings both my and husband and I woke up to several mosquito bites each, we had to ask the reception if they could fumigate the room which they did but for me in a five star hotel this should have already been done. Also, in a country where mosquitos are a problem the staff had the habit of leaving doors and windows open which made the problem worse.
2. The pool area looked a little bit tired, for a boutique hotel I think the sun beds, tables etc should be of a higher quality and it would have been good to have some days beds as well.
3. The pool towels were very old and stained these need to be replaced.
4. General maintenance of the the hotel needed to be improved, paint was chipping off in certain areas, floor tiles were missing and the wood needed to be repainted. Also the worst part was that if you looked over the walls and by a lot of the staircases there was a lot of construction rubble and bags of waste that had just been dumped there and looked very untidy.
5. The reception was mainly ok but on the last night we went to ask for our room bill to be prepared, as we were leaving early the next morning, initially there was nobody on the reception desk, a problem we encountered several times. On the reception desk itself were two plates of half eaten food which looked very messy. When the reception staff member appeared we were half way through explaining what we needed, when the reception phone rang which she picked up and dealt with, she then made a subsequent phone call and just completely ignored us or acknowledged we were there, it was very rude.

So overall we did have a great holiday and we loved Thailand, we did think the hotel was good but not amazing and we both thought that it just needed a bit of maintenance over the next couple of years or it could go downhill. Would we recommend it? Probably, because of the location and setting but with a warning that it needs a bit of updating and cleaning up in certain areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 5 nights her in the Ocean Wing, in a suite right on the cliff. We really had our own "butler", and he and the team were absolutely brilliant. They are such lovely people; quietly attentive and helpful. The bed in this particular suite (Bougogne) was incredibly hard, but we survived.
Unfortunately it rained every day, but we didn't mind staying at the resort. They were happy to drop us off in Kata in the mini bus, and we usually made our own way back up the hill which was about a 15 minute walk.
A minor disappointment was the breakfast buffet, which I don't think was up to the standard of the rest of the resort, although the breakfast room was right on the cliff, so views were magnificent, which made up for the shortfall in quality and variety.
Kata Noi beach could be accessed directly from the resort, although lots of steps and quite a climb. As the weather was inclement, the beach was practically empty, but nevertheless beautiful. We did swim in the rain, amongst roaring surf, but it was a bit scary! The restaurant is of course, well known and much acclaimed so really one didn't have to leave this idyllic piece of paradise.

Room Tip: Ocean Wing is separate to the main hotel, and children not allowed (under 11).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mom Tri's Villa Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.