We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Save Saved
You added Mom Tri's Villa Royale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Kata Noi Road | Kata Noi Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
summer package
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kata Beach
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I have been to Thailand annually for 10 years and found this gem a few years ago. Its quiet, private and simply stunning! Well worth the lil bit of extra $$, we wouldnt stay anywhere else. Views are divine from the entire property and staff always go above and beyond to make your stay that lil bit better. Breakfast is amazing and cocktails are yummy!

Room Tip: The 'standard' rooms are fantastic, no need to pay the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    100
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
97
413
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a perfect stay at Mom Tri's Villa Royale. From Patcharee's warm welcome on reception to the wait staff at Breakfast - we were made to feel very welcome with a friendliness which was professional and not intrusive, just right! We dine twice during our stay which was delightful overlooking the surf on the rocks and the ocean. The food, was delicious, and the wines good (yes wine in Thailand is veeery expensive, which I dont understand as its cheaper in UK to get Australian and Chilean wines and thats further away - maybe heavily taxed?) The restaurant is worth it where-ever you're staying in Phuket. Patcharee was very helpful in answering any questions I had before arriving which gave me a 'sense' of the place before I arrived.

The gardens are beautiful with frogs in the ponds (the sound made us laugh every night!) and lilypads with tropical trees and palms. There are quite a few steps in getting around but we are in our mid-50's and it wasnt a problem for us and we enjoyed the settings on different levels. We stayed in Beachview wing (room 22 the bestI'd say) with stunning views from our room and closer access to the beach down a foreshore path. I particularly liked the fact that it was done in a more traditional style than seems to be the case with the newer room which are a bit more standard hotel like from photo's Ive seen. The bathroom was huge with spa bath, separate rain-head shower cubicle (my husband loved this so he's going to put one in at home!). It was also beautifully lit and mildly scented with oil-aroma. The room also had a separate sitting area which was quite large, fresh fruit basket on arrival, widescreen TV and a mini-bar, wine glasses etc.

Our favourite pool was the rock-pool on the rocky foreshore and we spent many hours lazing, taken in the view and watching the surf break next to you on the rocks. There were beach beds here too and was just a stunning place to unwind. Bear in mind that it is salt-water from the sea, so doesnt have the clarity of the clorinated pools but this didnt worry us at all and enjoyed watching the crabs on the little waterfall rocks which fed the pool. We also would have our lunch ordered from the pool bar here with a couple of beers or wine - just heaven. The layout of the resort with different wings and separate dining room and loungebar and separate reception made if feel very calm and uncrowded that we were surprised to see so many people at breakfast. Breakfast was also delicious and the staff very friendly (even funny) helpful and efficient. It had everything I would hope for in a buffet including beautiful freshly baked bread, eggs to order, bacon, ham, cheeses salad etc etc. The only thing I would have liked and had a lot in European buffet's is some fresh berries (hard in thailand I know) to add to my meusli and yoghurt as I like to eat healthily. But there were plenty of lovely local fruits such as the mango's so Im not critisising.

Will definitely stay here again on my next visit.... Wish I was there now!

Room Tip: If you can, and I hope this wont prove a headache for them, but room 22 in Beach wing was the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have been a regular customer at Villa Royale within the last Years, with more than 10 stays since 2008. The location is superb and the staff is outstanding, helpful and nice. The rooms are big, very clean and offer nice views. The Pools are great and so is the pool bar;
There are only two things to mention: First, that the quality of the food is not still the same than it was two or three years ago. The food is still "okay", but since they changed the executive chef two years ago, the quality is dropping. On our last stay we were really disappointed from the taste and seasoning of the food. Even if the Menue is still the same than it was 5 years ago (a seasonal change could be a great thing for returning guests!), the quality was not. Everything was a little bit "boring" and "tasteless". Second thing are the prices; The Villa Royale was always a expensive place - but much better than its competitors. It seems, that they have been resting within the lest years, while their competitors worked hard... Nowadays they are just to expensive for what they are offering. I hope, that they will work on that (better prices or better quality) or i have to find a new "home away from home in Phuket" soon.

Room Tip: i prefer the beachwing suites on the upper floor or;
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I (50s) stayed here for 10 days in low season. We loved the boutique feel of the resort. It is leafy and cool on a hot day and catches any sea breeze. We stayed In a beach view room which was spacious and quiet. All we heard were the waves on the beach below. The sea pool is great when it is too rough to swim at the beach. Not suitable for anyone with physical access limitations because of the many steps. Also I would not take small kids there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I`ve stayed at this hotel two times now and have only nice things to say about the hotel. Maybe except a small distance to the beach. It`s not directly at a beach. Close to Kata Noi but in the summertime you need to walk (or be driven) to Kata because of the waves at Noi at that time.
The staff knows youre name after a short time, making you feel so at home and relaxed. I pre-booked a massage on arrival - jetlag massage was amazing! The restaurant is one of the best in Phuket with a very good wine list too. The gym could be better, but they have what you need. Several pools - amongst them one salt water pool with a crab family living in it :) Very charming. The pool bar is great for a sandwich or salad in the afternoon. Rooms are very big with such nice balcony with beautiful view. Sat out there every night with a drink after dinner. By the way; don`t miss out on happy hour in the piano bar. Lovely drinks and a nice time to relax and watch the sun go down.
The beds are very large and so comfortable. Slept like a baby every night. Nice cool rooms smelling lovely, turn down service every day - they put chocolate and roses at the bed... Fresh fruits every day and a small treat from the chef (assorted cakes).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel was very special. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The views from all over the resort are spectacular. The service was terrific and the beach is wonderful. The whole property feels very private and intimate, not like some of the huge sprawling resorts we visited in Thailand. Just perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Having spent a hectic 4 days in the Anantara Bangkok Riverside resort and Spa, Mom Tri's was our next scheduled stop, flew Bangkok Airways who provided a good service. Greeted at airport by vehicle from Mom Tri's as we had booked the Platinum package. Cool water and air conditioned comfort and just short of an hour we were being checked in by Ying. Shown to our beach view room number 19, air conditioning was on to cool us after the short walk through green pathways.

The room was great a good size with separate bath and shower. Very comfortable bed and huge.
We couldn't decide which pool to relax by but over the ten day stay took advantage of all and the beach with prepaid loungers. Hotel supplied towels provided from the side of the pool bar.

Breakfast every morning was a veritable feast, fresh fruit, cereal, good breads and the usual bacon, ham, sausages and any choice of eggs cooked to order.

We took advantage of a Tuscan themed evening a set meal with Italian wine. A guest speaker gave a quick review of why he had chosen he wines and they all complimented the food.

Two thai massages were included and were greatly anticipated and we left feeling totally relaxed.

We ate at Mom Tri's Kitchen on two occasions and again the food and service was second to none.

Kata was a short walk down a steep hill with plenty of choice for eating, drinking, organising trips and the ubiquitous tailor shops

My wife and I had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend Mom Tri's for a complete relaxation break

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mom Tri's Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mom Tri's Villa Royale

Address: 12 Kata Noi Road | Kata Noi Beach, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mom Tri’s Villa Royale is a boutique hotel in Phuket situated on a headland overlooking the Andaman Sea and the white sand beach of Kata Noi.Villa Royale is a personal creation of renowned artist and architect Mom Luang Tridhosyuth Devakul, better known simply as Mom Tri, who is a descendant of the King Mongkut Rama IV. Mom Tri opened his private summer home eight years ago to provide guests with a truly royal experience.Thirty-nine suites offer the highest standard of privacy and comfort in Phuket’s last hideaway. Alluring glimpses of its distinctive Thai-style buildings, authentic Thai antiques and art,luxurious modern comforts, panoramic sea views and lush tropical gardens create an atmosphere of calm and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Mom Tri's Villa Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mom Tri`s Villa Royale Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Hotel Royale
Mom Tris Kata
Mom Tri's Villa Royale Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mom Tri's Villa Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.