We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kata beach special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chanalai Flora Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chanalai Flora Resort to your Saves list
Chanalai Flora Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Koktanode Road | 175 ถนน โคกโตนด, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 189 Reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kata beach special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

if you are thinking a nice relaxed beach away from the bustle of Patong,
Kata is a great happening & beautiful beach.
And Serene is only a short wander away. . past plenty of shops & restaurants!

Our stay at Serene was only a short 4 nights, but we loved the place.
Small enough to care and cater for your needs, but big enough to get away from the crowds
& tourists!

We had an issue with the TV reception on the only english channel we could find,
the manager was kind enough to offer us an upgrade. .

breakfast was great. . .plenty of options. . . .but a visit to one of the local coffee houses is recommended if you want a decent brew!

We thought Serene was both good value & an excellent choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    78
    38
    19
    19
See reviews for
31
76
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed 3 weeks @ Serene Resort located round the corner from main road old resort but quiet & clean, room staff excellent, expecially Noi who cleaned our rooms she went out of her way to help my 33 year old daughter and son for several days when she was sick, 2 pools swim up bar & spa, buffet breakfast great variety, short walk to minimarkets ATMS unlimited choice of restaurants great shopping for everything We strolled down to Kata Beach daily for early morning swim water was magic not many at beach then. Only complaint large group of loud Russians who liked to party to all hours of the morning. Many people complained but they continued. Excellent spot away from the noise and main shops etc would go back there & recommend it good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for three nights, front desk was not helpful in booking any activities, they just handed the phone to us, you are better of going to town to one of the booking agencies which are great. Room was not very clean, sheets were stained. No wifi in the guest rooms you have to sit in the lobby. However it is centrally located in Kata Beach and very cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent 1 night at this hotel before we proceed to Phi Phi, my review as follows:

1) Location:
Approximately an hour journey from Phuket Airport, this hotel is located on higher ground with plenty of shops nearby including 24 hrs minimarket. Kata beach is about 5 minutes walk the most with plenty of restaurants along the way.

2) Check in and Hotel Building:
Very small lobby, doesnt look classy at all. Hotel building is old. They have 2 swimming pools - the pools look ok/normal. As the hotel is located on higher ground, one need to climb/walk-up few stairs to get to their respective room/block. However, this is still manageable, stairs are not challenging even for elderly couples. Check in was fast. Welcome drink is too sweet for my liking. Not refreshing at all.

3) Deluxe Room:
Very spacious, Nice deco using solid woods. Bathroom is very clean. Our room balcony overlooking Kata Beach. Overall, the room is good and clean.

4) Wifi:
Strong/Reasonable signal and speed throughout the resort and it is free.

5) Buffet Breakfast:
Quite good spread considering the room price that we are paying.

6) Staff Performances:
Quite friendly mostly - as expected in Thailand.

Overall, for the price we are paying (under USD35), definitely this resort is brilliant and totally worth the price. This resort is not posh nor luxury but is a simple, clean and relaxing hotel overall. Strong 3 star resort in my opinion.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have ocean view. They have elevators too in their building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location as all amenities are nearby. The staff were fabulous and very helpful. The tour office at the outside entrance to the Hotel were very helpful and assisted us with all our tours and all went like clockwork. The room was very clean and constantly serviced. The pools were clean and always occupied by happy people. The beach is a ten minute walk down the road, plenty of places to eat and shop. We had no complaints at all during our 10 night stay at this Hotel. We will go back.

Room Tip: The 1st or 2nd floor rooms are best as the pools are always occupied by families enjoying same, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This resort is at the end of Kata beach and is handy to walk to shopping, beach, taxis and restaurants. The staff are quite friendly. We had booked a superior room but got upgraded without being told to a deluxe room which was very large. The deluxe rooms were in a new building but the downside to them is that there is no hot water in that building, which we were not told until about the fifth or sixth time we asked someone to come and look at our hot water. We requested to be changed into a superior room so we could have hot water but those rooms only had lukewarm water and no pressure. Our room had a view of the concrete wall of the neighbouring building, when we asked to get a room with a view since there was no hot water they said no because we had been upgraded. Breakfast buffet was ok - toast, cereals and Asian stle foods. The two pools were nice and the resort was quiet. Would recommend this hotel but not for those wanting hot water!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks like it was a good hotel 5 years ago but it looks like time and bad Profit has taken its toll. We asked them to call a tour company for us and they charged us for the call, the pool is randomly cleaned and When done not well enough. Bathrooms are old with old and stained towels, matrasses are plastic covered, the staff not helpful and at times look like they would rather surf the internet or be somewhere else than help. This hotel has major issues and should look over this. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Address: 175 Koktanode Road | 175 ถนน โคกโตนด, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanalai Flora Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.