We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is not worth it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chanalai Flora Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chanalai Flora Resort to your Saves list
Chanalai Flora Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Koktanode Road | 175 ถนน โคกโตนด, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 189 Reviews
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This hotel is not worth it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks like it was a good hotel 5 years ago but it looks like time and bad Profit has taken its toll. We asked them to call a tour company for us and they charged us for the call, the pool is randomly cleaned and When done not well enough. Bathrooms are old with old and stained towels, matrasses are plastic covered, the staff not helpful and at times look like they would rather surf the internet or be somewhere else than help. This hotel has major issues and should look over this. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    78
    38
    19
    19
See reviews for
31
76
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst QLD
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place the room was very nice friendly staff very well kept something's need some attention but bit of an upgrade but really had a nice stay. Loved swimming in the pool it is very close to everything we walked everywhere lots of nice restaurants in walking distance

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

All in all a good experience thanks to the efforts of the staff. They are extremely helpful and friendly that it is a pleasure to seem them daily. Had to switch rooms due to noisy a/c and again because they moved us to twin beds...third time lucky. Room is very good and is close enough to the lobby that we are able to tap into wi-fi without having to go downstairs. Not impressed by TV..has no worthy news channel and five HBO channels all showing the same thing in various states of poor reception. Pool is clean and warm but closes too early. Breakfast is good but they start to pack it up a little too early. Close to beach ( five minute walk ) and some good restaurants. Worth the price and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent just one night, We thought that for the price was a good deal. We paid 1035 bath (26 Euro more or less) and the room was big, the bathroom was clean everything in good shape. The breakfast included, could have been better, but for one day was fine. What went on my nervs, was that the door-window from our balcony was falling out twice as i tried to open it!!! This was so dangerous.. me holding the heavy glass door and the wind was so strong , It could really cause a serious accident. My husband called some people they tried to fixed it but the next morning was the same story. This was just unacceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

From the front desk personal to the butlers every staff member is gracious and welcoming. Everyone tries to please, and goes above and beyond expectations. The accommodations are superb. Each unit has It's own plunge pool and is a separate building, assuring privacy. The value for the money is excellent. All in all perfect place! Will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAILAThailand, Manager at Chanalai Flora Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That would be great to hear that you enjoyed spending your time with us

Best regards,
Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-April and enjoyed our stay.

We stayed at a total of 7 hotels while in Thailand and found the overall service standards are way below North America. When comparing this hotel to the others in Thailand, it was on par, but nowhere near what we're used to back home. Don't expect service staff in this hotel (or any other in Thailand) to go out of their way for you. On the rare occasion it does happen, consider it a blessing!

The location is great with a short walk to the beach. The rooms were big but in need of an overhaul. Everything is old and well used, but we can't complain for the price we paid.

The pools were nice and clean with plenty of loungers and umbrellas. We ate lunch at the pool one day and although overpriced, we enjoyed the meal. Breakfast was good with plenty of options.

I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and to those who are looking for basic comforts at a good price. If you're looking for the "perfect" hotel, this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the first floor. So many stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkel en Rodenrijs, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Allthough the location is just a few minutes near the beach, we didnt liked our stay. In fact, it was horrible. During our trip through Thailand, we stayed two separate nights in this hotel. Receptionstaff speaks very bad english and not that friendly at all. Our room was moldy, humid and fairly old. Matresses are covered with plastic covers which made the bed very sweaty and sheets had some stains. The pool is fairly large but not well maintained. After this first night, we decided to spent the 2nd night elsewhere.
During the checkoutprocess, they charged us for 1 bottle of water from the minibar which we didnt used (the plastic seal was "gone" but the bottle was still unopened. They really made a fuss about 25 bath which we eventually payed to get rid of this discussion.

My advice: go spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chanalai Flora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Flora Resort

Address: 175 Koktanode Road | 175 ถนน โคกโตนด, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Serene Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanalai Flora Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in an impressively beautiful province like Phuket, the Tropical Serene Resort is the perfect choice.Ideally located in the area adjacent to idyllic Kata Beach, the resort is in a distinctive setting in the heart of popular tourist venues and beautiful beaches.From the moment you step into our resort, you will receive a warm and friendly welcome from our hospitable staff. Elegantly designed for a superb vacation with your family members amid the natural beauty, the resort offers a wide array of facilities that will make your stay relaxing as much as possible. During the day you can relax in our two outdoor swimming pools and let the water soothe and refresh you.Whatever your purpose of visit is, the Tropical Serene Resort will definitely be the excellent alternative for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chanalai Flora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serene Hotel Kata Beach
Serene Resort Kata
Chanalai Flora Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanalai Flora Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.