We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kata beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Beach

Kata Beach
Pakbang Road, Kata Beach, Phuket, Thailand
66833986108
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$45*
and up
Private Tour: Phuket Introduction City...
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Kata Beach
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This cozy, secluded beach features calm waters and is a favorite for families and couples to relax, snorkel and body surf.
Sydney
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“kata beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

lovely beach with heaps of places to eat and drink. Plenty of shops endless...Great place to just sit back and relax

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    412
    131
    47
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous beach wasn't crowded even on a hot day. We hired a sun bed and umbrella for the day for 100THB. Cheap beers and soft drinks available. We were able to leave our bags and swim.

Tuk Tuk was 400THB each way from Patong.

A must see when in Patong!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Too many peddlers and water is quite dirty. Worth a look if you're in the area. Check out Nai Harn beach instead.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Big beach less people, great subset view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

They say this is the infamous beach in phuket, because usually people only go to patong or karon beach.

Its location is a bit further away from karon beach, but the view was magnificent.

It has surf board rental, it beach was not too deep but has big waves, so i think its very nice for surfers lover. I dont know exactly, im not a surfer. But the view for sunset was great!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolute Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A beautiful beach! We rented sun loungers and were able to run a tab of food and drinks. This was the absolute ultimate in beach / island holiday. Relaxation with every need attended to. Definitely our favourite beach in Phuket.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kata Beach also viewed

Karon, Phuket Town
Karon, Phuket Town
 

Been to Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.