We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort but a bad result” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Kata Palm Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort but a bad result”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is a beautiful resort in a great location. Stunning rooms and fantastic spa. However the food was not up to standard and highly priced. The staff battle with English. And in a case of an emergency they werent very helpful. The manager was very good though and dealt with issues fast.

Room Tip: A room with a verander to the pool is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    266
    87
    22
    16
See reviews for
149
216
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

They disabled our key card to the room on the LAST DAY at 11:00 AM. Very rude!!! read for details

On walking in the hotel has a very dark design and lights. It was raining that day so it made the ambiance more depressing. The lobby is small and crowded with people waiting with their bags. The first impression was oh wrong choice of hotel. I felt we are in a hospital environment or nursing home with lot of depression rather than a 4 star resort! The beach is not across the road as the majority of hotels. We stayed in a pool view room and paid 45 Australian + tax on a last minute deal however next time I wouldn't pay that much. So in high season, when the price is in hundred, look for somewhere else.

There is renovation going on and as a result there were constant noise in the room the whole day. By noise I mean a really loud noise where the sound of the digger seems on top of your head. I complained to the manger and asked for an upgrade away from the noise if possible with the nicest pleasee could someone say and the answer was to pay an additional 100$. I was like are you serious we just came from the Movempick which cost us a bit over 100$. Anyway, it was useless so decided to move on.

Mosquito is a major issue.

Breakfast ok. Above average to good.

Swimming pool is the nicest thing about this hotel. In fact to be fair the pool could be amazing. However, the service and atmosphere is not helping.

They had live music at the restaurant outside which helped release the frustration. However, the food is below average. Please note that I had Thai food and I'm not complaining about western food. Their thai dishes was lacking of taste.

Up to here I was saying to myself the location of this hotel is nice. Kata major shopping etc.. is within walking distance so maybe I will say it is an average stay. Until the last day of my stay (the day we were checking out). After coming back from the breakfast, we packed our bags and found we have heaps of time yet. So we decided to go for a last swim until 11:00 am come back for a shower and check out.

**At 11:00 am we went back to the room to find out the key card is disabled. THIS IS EXTREMELY RUDE, inappropriate, not professional and disappointing. IF YOU WANT MONEY FOR LATE CHECK OUT come and take it but don't be rude to customers.

Anyway, I had to walk all wet with my short on up to the reception. She took the card of me and said she will send someone. Later someone showed with a card who swiped the card on the door and left ! so we were left with no card to turn on the lights. So I had to go back to the reception demand my card. Had to wait for them to go inside somewhere put access on the card again and hand it back to me in a very rude way. (Please note it is at that time 11:30 am).

To this end, I wouldn't stay in this hotel again if they pay me! The rudeness at check out is just too much.

Room Tip: Pool access room if within let's say 50$ go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The place is noisy with several people crammed into one room next to us. Walls are paper thin.
The people were very nice on check-in and upgraded us to the pool access.
They were doing improvements and the workout room was unavailable due to plastering ceilings. Would have been nice to know they were working on the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

On walking in you can't help but be amazed at the appearance, and the room we stayed in was amazing, with an outdoors jacuzzi bath. But there was something missing, the breakfast was nice but didn't excite, the pool was the best I have swam in, but the atmosphere and service around it was lacking. I would say that it is really a 4 star in aspects but only a 3 star for service, which I think is very important. But it does have everything in place with a little work to become a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Honestly, this was just a beautiful resort to end our trip in thailand. Our room was spacious, clean and just looked wonderful. Our balcony looked out onto the pool and gardens. The staff were friendly as accommodating. The buffet breakfast was the best we had in Thailand. The dining area was open and was surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers. It was also a 2 minute walk to the gorgeous because. A 5 minute walk down the road takes you to a little lane full of restaurants. Not only was the resort amazing but Kata beach is such a lovely part of Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights and it was a great stay. We had the deluxe room which was big and spacious. Aircon was amazing, room was always cool when we go back to the room. The only thing we didn't like is the bed which is quite hard..but that's a personal opinion..
The hotel is a few minutes to the beach which isn't too bad. There's a free shuttle to the beach, but only at certain times.
Breakfast was good, had several selections and was available really early (6.30am) which worked out well for us as we left at 7.30am.
The pool was great, our toddler enjoyed it very much.
There's lots of restaurants and shops around the hotel so we were spoilt with choices..the friday buffet the hotel does was great.
Overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were surprised by the warmth welcome from the front desk staff who come to us and assist us from checking in, instead of queuing at the front desk. However, they need to improve on items in the room. First, can't pour water from the electric kettle (somehow the pump doesn't work). Second, toiletry spray doesn't work again (though it smell quite nice, but we can't try). Third, toilet floor was all wet after shower and it looks like water is leaking from sink? bath tube? Fourth, there is a strange smell on beach towel. Anyway, the resort environment is nice. It could be we are so unlucky checking in that room with all these faulty items.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Palm Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.