We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy & dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kata Palm Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noisy & dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The place is noisy with several people crammed into one room next to us. Walls are paper thin.
The people were very nice on check-in and upgraded us to the pool access.
They were doing improvements and the workout room was unavailable due to plastering ceilings. Would have been nice to know they were working on the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    324
    118
    25
    21
See reviews for
181
288
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

On walking in you can't help but be amazed at the appearance, and the room we stayed in was amazing, with an outdoors jacuzzi bath. But there was something missing, the breakfast was nice but didn't excite, the pool was the best I have swam in, but the atmosphere and service around it was lacking. I would say that it is really a 4 star in aspects but only a 3 star for service, which I think is very important. But it does have everything in place with a little work to become a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, this was just a beautiful resort to end our trip in thailand. Our room was spacious, clean and just looked wonderful. Our balcony looked out onto the pool and gardens. The staff were friendly as accommodating. The buffet breakfast was the best we had in Thailand. The dining area was open and was surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers. It was also a 2 minute walk to the gorgeous because. A 5 minute walk down the road takes you to a little lane full of restaurants. Not only was the resort amazing but Kata beach is such a lovely part of Phuket.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights and it was a great stay. We had the deluxe room which was big and spacious. Aircon was amazing, room was always cool when we go back to the room. The only thing we didn't like is the bed which is quite hard..but that's a personal opinion..
The hotel is a few minutes to the beach which isn't too bad. There's a free shuttle to the beach, but only at certain times.
Breakfast was good, had several selections and was available really early (6.30am) which worked out well for us as we left at 7.30am.
The pool was great, our toddler enjoyed it very much.
There's lots of restaurants and shops around the hotel so we were spoilt with choices..the friday buffet the hotel does was great.
Overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were surprised by the warmth welcome from the front desk staff who come to us and assist us from checking in, instead of queuing at the front desk. However, they need to improve on items in the room. First, can't pour water from the electric kettle (somehow the pump doesn't work). Second, toiletry spray doesn't work again (though it smell quite nice, but we can't try). Third, toilet floor was all wet after shower and it looks like water is leaking from sink? bath tube? Fourth, there is a strange smell on beach towel. Anyway, the resort environment is nice. It could be we are so unlucky checking in that room with all these faulty items.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have stayed at this resort 3 times before. It is very clean, lovely rooms, great breakfast and 2 pools for relaxing. Close to good restaurants and the main restaurant out the front is very good and reasonable prices. % minutes walk to the beach with the hotel offering free beach chairs, but you need to be early for one or wait till the afternoon and ask for one then. Unfortunately the man who looks after this area does not keep it clean. Only let down.

Room Tip: I always choose a room on the top floor so I do not have to hear people dragging the furniture aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Kata Palm and I can't think of anything I would fault. OK the rooms are a bit dark and the balconies don't seem to get any sun but the grounds are amazing. I did think it a bit odd that the beautiful curtain-hung sofa was covered in waterproof fabric... functional I know but a sarong over the top wouldn't cost the hotel a lot of money....
Service was great and I loved the music playing as I sat poolside (or sat at one of the 2 swim-up bars)
The pool-access rooms look cool, but not necessarily worth the extra money...
I didn't have lunch or dinner here but the breakfast buffet meets all tastes and the other restaurants looked busy for lunch and dinner.
All in all a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Palm Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.