We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kata Palm Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Kata Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very clean and friendly.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Will start with the negatives, firstly the position. Yes it is only one street back from the beach, which by the way is filthy but there is no cut through and you have to walk right around to get to it. Secondly the beds are rock hard, not firm but hard like a board and if you had hip problems you would not be able to stay at this hotel. On the positive, the rooms were spacious, clean, quiet and the aircon was brilliant. The service was good, pool was lovely and breakfast was fine, not 5 star but reflective of price paid. Would not like to be here and by that I mean not only the hotel but Kata Beach in the high season as there was just enough space now but it would be intolerable with any more people and there would be fighting for pool lounges and crowds at breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    287
    93
    23
    18
See reviews for
161
242
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed as part of a group in April 2013. The rooms were decorated as standard in most Thai resorts. Hard bed and old style tv. Bathroom had a shower bath combo. The tiles had seen better days and were quite mouldy. Great view of the pool from the balcony. Breakfast buffet had great selection. Nice gardens throughout resort, but make sure you bring mozzie spray. The pools were the highlight of this resort. Both have swim up bars. Two large pools with the back pool having waterfalls you can swim under and was great for kids with it's meandering design. Hotel is located close to shopping and some great resturants nearby (check out Mama's for a great well priced menu in a clean, nice setting)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My third stay here in 13 months and I stand by my previous reviews regarding this hotel’s location and great pools. I would happily stay here on future visits.

I did notice a change in staff and they weren’t as responsive and friendly as in 2012 but they weren’t rude by any means.

Pool – top notch. There are two pools and you can always find a quiet spot in the sun or in the shade. Pool bars in both pools but they shut quite early at 7pm.

Breakfast – your average Thai buffet breakfast style. Does the job without being spectacular. Could do with a bit more fresh fruit and covering of the cold meats and tomato with the mosquitos around. One very annoying thing is there is a few cats that wander around the breakfast area. On one morning, one of my friends had his leg scatched by one of the cats while they were fighting another cat. They should really do something about these animals.

Rooms – I stayed on the ground floor for the first time. They have adjoining rooms if you want them but even if you don’t, the walls are quite thin and you can hear people talking in the room next door. I never noticed this on the 2nd level rooms. The bathrooms on the ground floor are newly renovated and modern with big glass windows. I was in a superior room 109. The overhanging shower head in addition to the normal shower is a good feature. The rooms are extremely dark with the curtains drawn so you can easily sleep in and not know it.

I was told the second floor rooms didn't have a fly screen door to the balcony so you either keep it shut for the mosquitos and use air con only, or you sit outside with the door shut.

Housekeeping – do a great job each day.

Bonuses – 2 bottles of water free each day. Free wifi throughout the hotel (but sometimes a bit flaky and can only be used on one device at a time).

Location – close to the beach, restaurants, massage places, suit shops, bars, other hotels. A 500 baht tuk tuk ride to Patong (15-20 minutes).

The big selling point of this hotel remains the pool area. If you have kids or love lying by the pool and in the pool, then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Choose a room on levels 2 and above to avoid the thin walls of the ground floor superior rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here in 2012 and LOVED it. The HUGE lazy pool was a hit with us and our Girls. Loved the room we had pool view. The Girls loved their "princess" looking daybed. The breakfast buffet was great, dinner too. It was a short distance to the beach. They were always very helpful up front, our driver took us everywhere we needed. We would stay here again FOR SURE!!!! Only thing was the beds were hard. But you're in BEAUTIFUL PHUKET, who cares. We did elephant trekking, go carts, shot guns, saw the buddah temples And saw the cobra show which was all arranged by the hotel. WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED Phuket!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I spent a week at Kata Palm with friends in April 13. It is a little older than the pictures on the website imply. The location is good from the point of view of shopping and restaurants. It is a 10 min walk to the beach. Checkin is slow and cumbersome. English is poor and the systems appear to be outdated. The tour guide desk is very helpful. Rooms are clean, towels are a little hard, worn and thin, beds are fine, although a little hard and the pillows a tad lumpy. Toiletries are rubbish and the toilet rolls are 1-ply. (I eventually bought my own). Rooms are a little dark at night so do your makeup before sun down! Rooms are cleaned late in the day. TV's are old with few English channels (there are several Russian channels). The only English movie channel I could find was dubbed in Thai. Breakfast is average with no healthy choices (2 cereal choices,both sugar coated, chocolatey stuff), juice is sugary cordial, not fresh, ham is processed, there is only one choice of cheese which is the processed, sandwich squares variety, fruit selection is poor and tasteless, Asian selections are swimming in oil with overcooked, soggy noodles. Vegetables used are frozen, not fresh. There is a poolside restaurant and I don't recommend their food either. It is slapped together, and once again, cheap, processed food is used and I believe MSG may also be used (I had a reaction). The pool, that meanders through the well maintained gardens, is lovely. The fitness centre is tired and old. There are only 6 or so machines, two of which were out of order when I was there. The carpet in the fitness room was dirty. There are better hotel choices in Phuket.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms. Hang your "please make up room" sign outside your room whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in March 2013 in the Kata Palm Resort Hotel and we had a great time. The staff was very friendly and always wanted to help. The rooms was clean and nice to stay in. The breakfast was also great and caters for everyone's taste. We were a group of 6 and we had rooms reserved next to each other that was very nice. The hotel is a block away from the beach so it is a 3 minute walk or the hotel can drop you off if you require so. The hotel is very central to Kata and close to all the important activities. I can recommend this hotel as value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room that got a exit to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromana, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My first impression walking into the room was "wow the musty smell, I can't breathe" but once we circulated air that smell appeared to go away.

The rooms were nice, bathroom clean, ac worked a treat. The staff were also really friendly and it was in a perfect location for Kata Beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kata Palm Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.