We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How every hotel experience should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse by Montara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boathouse by Montara to your Saves list
Boathouse by Montara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best rates, book direct
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Kata Beach
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“How every hotel experience should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A first class hotel in every sense. Staff are outstanding from front of house to maids and housekeeping. We had a problem with air con which staff did everything they could to fix and our final night was spent in another room when they could do no more. They couldn't have provided a better service. Excellent facilities, cleanliness to the utmost standard, turn down service and fresh fruit with good coffee in the room every day. We had a ground floor family suite which was much more than sufficient with a bathroom which was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G and could have suited a dozen people! Fabulous location right on the beach be warned, and I'm sure there is nothing the hotel can do about it but every 90 seconds or so you are pestered for sales of tat. Not the hotel's fault. Town didn't thrill us particularly as it wasn't that easy to wander around especially where pavement ran out and the traffic whizzes by. But not to detract from the hotel which offers a first class service with accommodation to match. Oodles to choose from at breakfast as you sit watching the waves come rolling in.....wish I was there now.

Room Tip: Ground floor family suite was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    97
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
77
214
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel was a fun experience for all of my family. The Boathouse was right next to the sunny beach, our rooms were beautiful, and the pool was fun. Most of the days we relaxed in the pool chairs and played in the pool, one day the Boathouse helped us reserve a spot for a speed boat that took you to wonderful islands for snorkleing, swimming, and laying in the sun. We were at the hotel during "Tango Night" which was a night where Tango dancers danced for you while you dined over fine food from Argentina. We didn't participate in " Tango Night" but as we were heading to our hotel room we caught a glimpse of what was happening and it looked very fun and entertaining. Lovely hotel with wonderful service, if you are looking to stay here in Phuket this is the place to stay.

Problems:
Breakfast and Lunch can be annoying because of birds and bees trying to taste your food
Pricey Place
Cold pool water

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Boathouse is a small hotel that is located right on the beach. It is not for the budget travelor; we paid about $200 US/nite. The hotel is very clean and the housekeeping lady (Noi) was very friendly and attentive to our needs. We had daily local fruit delivered to the room, and turn down service, and they always left a cute handmade animal out of leave cuttings (nice touch). The room was spottless. The breakfast and service staff were excellent. The food was all you can eat, but because it was low season, we ordered a la cart off a menu versus in high season they have the food buffet style. All the food was amazing. Definitely try the Thai rice and noodle dishes. We rarely had lunch anywhere as the breakfast was so filling. The pool and pool area is small, but beautiful and with great views of the beach. Again, service was outstanding at the pool and at the Boathouse beach area. The beach itself is beautiful and well maintained, with golden soft sand. At the pool they played world eclectic music, which we loved, and at nite they had fireworks and happy hour specials. The pool drinks are over priced (~$10 US each), and the beer is also expensive for Thai standards ($4 US). However, you can buy drinks on the beach for much cheaper, and the stocked fridge in your room has more fair pricing ($2 beer). The hotel has an extensive wine list, but you will pay $$$. The hotel charges premium for cab service from the airport. We found that you can get door to door private airport to hotel delivery for about 800 Baht (or about $25 US). The hotel will charge you double that amount. Most people at this hotel may not care, but if you do your own research, you can save a few bucks.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with perfect views of the ocean (some rooms are better than others). Ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and is good value for money. Rooms are cleaned and freshen up everyday tastefully and comprehensively. Food is very very good and having its own beach area is excellent. The overall service was very good, try avoiding arriving after mid night as did to the dreadful checking experience we ad, but we got over it very quickly the next day. We were for 10 days. Their Spa was very good too. We found the surrounding area ok, the hotel made the trip for my wife and I. April 2013. NR

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Boathouse Hotel is placed on Kata Beach. It is really nice location, everything what is needy is in hotel or few steps from the hotel. Hotel rooms are really nice and staff here is kind. All over the hotel is fast wi-fi free of charge even by the pool. So when is worse weather it is possible to have done some work online while the lounge music plays and waiters from Re Káta Beach Club serve yummy meals and coctails.:-) I also appreciated the opportunity to try real surfing first in my life! It was awesome experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

All in all a good place to stay for a week, although depending on how long you're staying, and how many of you there are; would most likely find better value taking a nearby villa with ocean view (e.g. Katamanda - 100m up the hill).

The location is second to none, being absolute beach front! The hotel rooms are refurbished (as opposed to new), are nice and clean, but I would not say large. There is an unfortunate issue with the bathrooms, in that during the refurbishment they installed glass walls that are only partially covered by blinds – leaving the loo in open view to anyone in the room.

The hotel staff were great, and the room was always kept clean. There was only 1 key for our room which was an inconvenience to say the least, waiting 20+ minutes for one of the staff to come and lock the door for us each time one of us wanted to leave the room and the other had the one and only key. It was only by accident that the previous guests took the other room key with them (all other rooms had 2 keys); however I could not understand, knowing how resourceful the Thai’s are, that another room key could not be produced, when requested at the start of our 7 day stay.

The hotel’s daily breakfast at Re Ka Ta was always a pleasure, as was dining at Re Ka Ta for lunch or dinner. Very attentive staff and a great quality of food! The hotel Spa was exceptional, and certainly worth every bit of the price, when compared to what else is on offer in the surrounding streets.

Room Tip: The beds sizes seemed to differ room to room in that my feet were hanging over the end of mine (I’m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Boathouse on Kata Beach is a very special hotel. The hotel is located right on Kata Beach and the ReKata Beach Club offers an excellent pool and beach location to enjoy the sun and sea and relax. Spent 6 days at this hotel and hardly moved from the pool lounger alongside the pool overlooking the ocean. The staff at the Beach Club were very attentive serving complimentary cold mineral water all day and making sure you have pool towels etc. The meals served by the Beach Club were excellent. Hotel room was pleasant and quiet. All in all a wonderful holiday experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boathouse by Montara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse by Montara

Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boathouse by Montara 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world’s best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Boathouse by Montara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
Boathouse By Montara Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse by Montara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.