We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Kata” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse by Montara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Boathouse by Montara to your Saves list
Boathouse by Montara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 4th nights
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 431 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Kata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We usually switch between the Boathouse and Villa Royale on our trips to Kata. Now we will only stay at the Boathouse!!
We love the way they have updated the rooms. We had a family suite which was lovely (don't really know why they need such an enormous bath).
Some old faces and many new ones but all the staff were lovely.
We had a few issues but all were addressed promptly. The new GM Marie takes every comment on board and reacts quickly.
I read below a comment about "sticker shock" - but I think the Boathouse is excellent value for money.
We had NYE dinner at Re Kata and another dinner at The Wine and Grill.
We will certainly be back but probably not at Xmas. Kata beach was so busy!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    109
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
82
228
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is on the beach and for the most part was ok. The night we check in , 2 rooms we went into the bar and ordered 1 drink each. Got the bill and it was over 25.00. I was like where am I the S. of France or Thailand. I think it is overpriced for what you get. We had 2 rooms and spent over $4000.00 and could not get a 45 minute late check out. I tried to understand but it ate at me and I decided to write. Small hotel across the street 70.00 a night. Wish I had stayed there. Sticker shock hotel and in Thailand.

Room Tip: Get a room opposite the pool since they have loud music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After reading thousands of reviews on Tripadvisor, I decided to book the Boathouse for the beach vacation I was looking for. I can't remember how many times i said 'this is so perfect' since arriving at this hotel. If you are like me who is looking for a 300 usd a night beachfront hotel in Phuket, Boathouse is the perfect choice for you. Love it here! So sad to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Another New Year trip to Boathouse.The location is unique with outstanding Thai service.Their best asset the staff.Also my sincere congratulations of revamping Rekata you really did an excellent job with a great kitchen as well there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I can't remember when we first discovered the Boathouse, but it must have been well over 20 years ago. We found it in a Travel Brochure which listed it as "Something Special". It still is all these years later (and a change of ownership). The new deluxe rooms have been tastefully renovated. The Restaurant as ever superb (except the wine prices!). The beach in front of the hotel gives you fruit kebabs and iced water and cold towels.... In the "old days" they would rake the beach so you felt you were settling down on a pristine surface. Perhaps that could be reinstated?
I celebrated my birthday there and was presented with a special cake and flowers. A joy to be there, and we will be back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

From the moment you check in you just know when you have chosen the right hotel for you, the GM welcomed us upon arrival (a nice touch to make you feel special) we were shown to our room, we chose a delux double , it had the biggest most comfortable bed with fluffy pillows, plenty of space, the bathroom was a little small perhaps but had a great rainshower. In general the room was well furnished and had an expresso coffee machine and they were very generous with bottled water.
We had a small terrace and a huge communal sunbathing area with a large "sala" where even the wifi worked very well.
At the Rekata club area there are plenty of sunloungers and VERY attentive service,(special mention to MOD for looking after us) a small pool and just steps from the beach where there are the hotels own chairs and parasols and again with great service, lots of cold water and beach towels.
The beach is public and although the guys there keep it relativly clean, Kata beach is rather dirty, I found lots of broken glass . The sea wasnt calm, big waves at low tide but most people seemed
to like jumping in the surf.
Breakfast was super, a small buffee with juices, smoothis,pastries etc and you get a fully cooked breakfast made to order.
We ate just once at the Boathouse resturant, it was fantastic, we had the Thai tasting menu, it was just perfect .
If coming to Kata again this would be our number 1 choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Check in was great and we were taken into the lounge which overlooks Kata Beach where the General Manager introduced herself to us. A nice touch - I was impressed to start with. Our room was on the ground floor where we stepped out to the pool area and beach access. The bed was huge in fact too big and really uncomfortable - too hard for me. It really encroached on the space. The bathroom was compact with modern clean lines but unfortunately did not have a bath. I believe a bath is essential for a property of this price. (AUD260+ per night) It is lovely to soak in the bath at the end of the day. The facilities in the room were fine. Coffee lovers will like the coffee machine however we did not use it. The buffet breakfast was limited and the same each day and you choose your main from the a la carte menu again it was limited for a long stay. I found the staff to be friendly and nice but didn't explain what to do and stood around and chatted a lot of the time. I would say breakfast was the busiest meal of the day. The Re Kata Beach Club was great and the pool area the best. Fantastic music played all day as you sat in the sun by the horizon pool and then at night out came large cubes and seats that they lit up. Very pretty. The beach area was good and the staff attentive bringing cold water and nibbles during the day. My husband had booked the 2 day cooking class but it was not of the standard they all expected. The chef was not a good teacher and they were most disappointed and cancelled the second day. A bottle of wine was in our room at the end of the day. Again a nice touch. It was disappointing that the Beach Club did not attract people at night time. We were told that it was a quiet time however the hotel was full as we had to change rooms on the last night. There are only about 38 rooms so it puts it into perspective. The second room we had was upstairs and next to the main airconditioning vent so was noisy. As it was only one night it was OK. We checked on the cost of the hotel transfer to the airport and it was double the cost the same company charges. You are better contacting the company directly. It leaves a bad taste really. We had a complimentary massage the hotel offer in their spa and when we went for it they tried to get us to purchase a longer session. Overall we enjoyed our stay as we have been to Kata Beach before but we were disappointed with the hotel as it is expensive and didn't live up to the hype.

Room Tip: Beach access rooms on the ground level are good. There are also rooms that have a walk out lounge ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boathouse by Montara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse by Montara

Address: 182 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boathouse by Montara 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boathouse Phuket, Thailand, has been an architectural and culinary landmark on Kata Beach since 1989. A favorite with discerning visitors, it appears on numerous lists of the world’s best small hotels. The Boathouse Wine & Grill has been distinguished with Wine Spectator Awards since 1995 and has been credited with the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence since 2006. New additions to the property include extended family suites, a 2-bedroom beachfront Penthouse suite and a rooftop Sunset Lounge. A beach club and spa and a chic boutique shop with a gourmet café. The fantastic beach location, personal friendly service, intimate atmosphere and stylish gourmet restaurant with one of the best wine cellars in Thailand make it the ideal location for beach, food and wine buffs. Weekend Thai cooking workshops from 10 am - 1 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Boathouse by Montara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Hotel Kata Beach
Mom Tris Boathouse Kata
Mom Tris Boathouse Hotel Kata
Boathouse By Montara Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse by Montara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.