We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Local Thai/Western Food Restaurant in Kata” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach

Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach
48/9 Kata Road (Soi Casa Del Sol) | Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
+66 81 970 6503
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 117 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, American, Thai, Russian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We're at the end of Soi Casa del Sol (a large hotel) in Kata Beach, across from Club Med, behind Buffalo Steakhouse, about 50 meters from the main road. A traditional Thai restaurant located in the heart of Kata Beach. Surprisingly, it's difficult to find 'real' Thai food in Kata any longer, much of it is over priced and watered down. The concept of Sugar and Spice is good Thai food, the way we Thai people eat it, sold at a price that is affordable. We serve all your favorites, and special orders are welcome. We also have some Western food for those feeling a little homesick and wanting comfort food after a few days of eating Thai.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Local Thai/Western Food Restaurant in Kata”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Summary: Nice little restaurant with decent food options for both Thai and Western if not sure what you want. Nothing amazing but well worth the visit as a dinner or lunch option if you are in Kata.

Location: Off the main drag but close to the beach and tourist area. Nothing in terms of views or anything like that. You have to find this place a bit.

Food: Nice selection of local and Western dishes. I had the ribs which were very good if you need a good BBQ western fix. The Thai food was decent, but nothing amazing. Pineapple fried rice was quite nice.

Atmosphere: Average. The downstairs is better and feels more open like. But the upstairs is not very good to be honest and would try to avoid this given the ventilation and closed in feel of it.

Service: Proactively friendly. You could tell this place knew how to cater to foreign visitors. They just need to be careful when they get busy as some wait staff had seemed confused.

Value: Good. Not expensive and what you would expect to pay for.

Occasions: Mainly dinner, but I'm sure lunch would also be a good option.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your very kind and honest review. We're glad you enjoyed your experience.

If you have any ideas on how to improve the atmosphere upstairs, we'd love to hear it. We need the space but we're not sure quite what to do. Suggestions can be emailed to onthespot.phuket@gmail.com.

Thanks and see you again.

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    54
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We discovered this restaurant through Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. It was only our second night in Phuket, so still a bit jaded after an awful journey. We were both full up after 2 courses. The food was really tasty, and my wife who is not a fan of spicy food, really enjoyed it as they ask you how spicy you want it. The service was really quick, which was almost a downside as we prefer to linger a bit over our evening meals. We will go back though on our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
I'm really glad you found our restaurant so quickly upon your arrival. Happy you enjoyed your meal and we hope that you'll come back and try something else too before you leave.

Best wishes for a lovely holiday here in Phuket.

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent Thai food served attentively by a friendly staff. Prices very reasonable, especially for the quality. An added bonus is it is on a relatively quite side street, so you can actually relax while enjoying an excellent meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your review. Yes, we thought being on a side street would be a disadvantage, but it's turned out to be a blessing in disguise in that you can actually listen to our music and hear what your dining companion is saying to you! Noise is a big problem in Thailand so we're happy we don't have that problem!

See you again!

Best wishes,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Good food, specially for Kata area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Eaten here a couple of times, people are friendly and they can definately cook. Not completely happy with the ingredients (lots of onions and pinapple in dishes that traditionally not have it) but it was tasty nonetheless and the price is fair, one of the better options for food in Kata. Free fruit at the end of the meal was a bonus. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your nice review, happy you enjoyed our dishes. See you again soon we hope!

Best regards,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had lunch here 3 times and was served good cheap thaifood. My friend had the best cheese-ham sandwich he ever had eaten. Finish with a cappuchino, its to die for :-)
WinterNorway

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohn_Phuke, Owner at Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thanks for your review. If things keep going this way, maybe we won't be so small pretty soon! :-)

Best wishes, and come again,

Ohn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Phuket
Kata Beach, Phuket
 

Been to Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar and Spice - Casa del Sol Kata Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.