We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palmery Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Palmery Resort And Spa to your Saves list
The Palmery Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   82/20 Khoktanod Rd, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in the resort for 2 nights recently. I was a bit apprehensive about our choice after reading very mixed reviews in the last couple of months.
We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is new, our room was clean and modern and the grounds are nice to walk about. It is not ultimate luxury but, for the price, it was more than adequate. Had nice supplies in the bathroom, even bathrobes....It was quiet and only a 10 minutes walk to the beach. The hotel also has a shuttle to the beach every 2 hours. There are no sidewalks in Phuket so have to be careful as walking on the road! The road the hotel us on has some if the best restaurants in Phuket within easy walking distance.
The staff was pleasant and attentive. The breakfast buffet offered sufficient amount of selection for everyone's taste.
Nothing negative to say, it was a very pleasant stay in a very crowded place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    21
    6
    13
See reviews for
23
76
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

It was our first family trip with our 2 year old daughter and I’m so glad we chose to stay at this hotel.

The hotel is nestled in between valleys and residential area with gorgeous view of the greenery.

Weather was sunny yet windy so it was perfect for lazing around by the beach or the pool.

Pros:
- A brand new hotel
- Clean, spacious room and pool (we booked the pool access room)
- Good, courteous, friendly and helpful hotel staff.
- Good spread/variety of food for breakfast
- Location: not exactly near to Kata Beach but you can walk to it from the hotel.
- Hotel provide shuttle service to either Kata or Karon Beach every 2 hours starting at 9am (Phuket Time).
- We ordered room service for lunch on our last day and the food is delicious!


Cons:
- The mattress of the bed is on the hard side so it can be uncomfortable for some to sleep on it.
- The bathroom is big (with bathtub) but the shower area is small.
- There were many flies/insects flying around at the eating area (can be irritating)

Overall, our stay at the hotel has been pleasant and enjoyable.

We are looking forward to stay at this hotel again during our next trip to Phuket. :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Checked out after one night. Dirty, bad service, bad location and without any charm. The pool was dirty and there was black hair everywhere plus old cigarette buds on the terrace. It seemed like there had been no cleaning before we got the room. Even the cleaning staff was rude Anders kicked us out of our room to clean.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

A new and clean hotel with nice service. Surrounded by restaurants, bars and massage houses, where u can enjoy whole afternoom. With shuttle bus to Kata beach which u can spend a whole day with nice seafood, wave n sunshine! We have our 4 days stay here for honeymoon, hotel has upgraded us to pool access premium suite with welcome drink n fruit! Also a pair of swams were lying on our bed! A big surprise for my husband, thanks again for the caring n heartful arrangement!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Staff will not help you. Cannot book anything, have to argue to get them to do anything. No room service until 11am, no local knowledge. I cannot fathom where they dug the staff up from.

We had no hot water for the whole stay, every day we asked them to fix it and they didn't. They refused to deliver wifi passwords to our room.

They forgot our room service orders.

They told us other rooms were booked out but we were able to book another room online.

Room not cleaned properly ever.

*********VERY BAD STAFF *********

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights.The word resort shouldn't be after the name of this accomadtion. To walk to Kata beach, takes about 10 minutes, not a bad hill walk, Front counter staff, not friendly, or helpful. If this was your first stay in Thailand you would be very disappointed. We had a pool access room, there was no where to hang wet items to dry. And no where to sit out of the sun, by the looks of the patio, I would say it never gets a scrub down. Over our stay they didn't change the bed cover once, all they did was make the bed, and not well.When we arrived we put 4 pillows from the bed on the couch, these were not moved for the whole 7 nights. Not once did they clean the shower, and only chose to restock some bathroom items on some days. We found the buffet breakfast to be ok, get your own coffee, As the staff just stood around looking at you.This wasn't cheap and there are far better places to stay, where the staff are more pleasant and more helpful, and your room gets cleaned, and items restocked, as this is what you pay for. Shop around.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Selected to stay here based on online pictures and previous positive reviews. How I wish we didn't.

Service- Lacklustre and very unmotivated staff. We have travelled to Phuket at least once a year and staff here have the least warmth towards guests. The ladies at the restaurants sit collectively on a table to chat after breakfast hours and will not even bother to greet passing guests or smile. Even the housekeeper looks most annoyed for being at work and gives a wake up call when she does her daily 8am sweeping of the main corridor. one or two staff were nice n friendly but could not make up to the other unwelcoming collegues.

Room- very ordinary looking. Far from the 4-star rating given. Maximum, a 3-star? Lack of maintanence is evident everywhere in room. Scuff marks and large cracks on the wall behind tv unit. Light in the wardrobe flickers with a crackling sound all night despite the doors being secured closed. Paint chipped off the wall all around the bathtub tap. Beds are bamboo-like, extremely uncomfortable and the reason we checked out early despite having paid another night here. Pool excess room is nice and rather quiet as not many other neighbours. Swipe card entry occasionnaly works with one go but usually takes 4 to work. You only get one keycard per room and they will not provide a second (reflects this is a budget hotel again).

Location- a 10-15 minute leisurely stroll from beach. I like that we are slightly further from hustle and bustle of beach front but close enough to fresh fruit shops and several convenience stores. Security personel Often seen smoking or busy watching youtube making me wonder if we were supposed to feel secure or more threatned.

Food- if there was Macdonalds, I definately would have avoided their breakfast bar. No hot food available if you are vegetarian other than the friendly chef's smile for sympathy. Salad bar looks 3 days-old all the time with little to select. The pancakes are a reflection of either the chef needing to go for more lessons or the fact that the pancakes and waffles were pulled out of a pre packed mass produced fresh from the nearby convience store. Aweful breakfast which I might consume if I was drunk.

Will definately not stay here again and will advice friends and family to stay away. For a little more, there are much nicer hotels in Kata with better amenities and service. If this was my first time in Thailand and know little of the culture and service, I might avoid coming backto the country but thankfully we know that this was just one rare black sheep. One to forget.

Room Tip: Pool excess or suite might be a nicer selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Palmery Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palmery Resort And Spa

Address: 82/20 Khoktanod Rd, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palmery Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If what you’re looking for is a conveniently located resort in Phuket, look no further than The Palmery Resort and Spa. This unique resort is located in the embrace of scenic Kata mountain with only a short distance from the famous Kata beach. From here, you can easily access to all that the lively city has to offer. This modern resort is in the vicinity of popular city attractions such as Phuket Surf and Kata View Point.Uniquely designed resort enables you to relish the beautiful vistas of nature and offers you superior services and a excellent variety of amenities. The Palmery Resort and Spa is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. As soon as you enter the room, you will find yourself relax in harmony and peaceful atmosphere. You will enjoy the view of vivid green garden and swimming pool that you can access directly right from your balcony.When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Phuket, make The Palmery Resort and Spa your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Palmery Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palmery Resort And Spa Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palmery Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.