We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, horrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Foto Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Foto Hotel to your Saves list
Foto Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   218/9 Kata - Saiyuan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Over the past 2 months I've visited Foto Hotel 3 times to try and book a room for friends/family visit. Every single time I just stood and waited at their front desk with absolutely no staff greeting me. I've waited several minutes and all they did was chat or play on their mobile phone. I left with frustration because I couldn't even book a room with them. This has happened Every Single Time. I am very disappointed the only person that probably gave me real service was the security guard at the parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackySangsan, Director of Sales at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Khun N A,

Thank you for your feedback and on behalf of our team we do apologize for the case and this topic will pass to our Front Office Manager accordingly.

Regards,
Jacky
Asst. Sales Manager
Yield Department foto Hotel
T: +66(0)76 680 900 F: +66(0) 76 680 901
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    105
    32
    10
    17
See reviews for
22
176
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good points:
A hotel has a very cool design and creative concept. The room is clean, large, well equiped and private, espcially the bed and the signature big bear is very comfy ;) It's also a good idea to provide those warmheart free mini bar, very cute.
The bar, restaurant and pool on the 3rd floor provides superb view and the food is not bad.

Negative points:
1. Staffs are not that friendly and supportive. Comparing to other 4-5 stars hotels in the same area, the service here is just soso. I've been waiting for the check out process for more than 30 mins. When I started to ask why it's been too long, they just said it wad sone for 29 mins ago but they forgot to tell me! It's ok to forgive if there was an apologize, but i got none. That's why it realy made me feel terrible with their service and manner.
2. Parking lot needs to be urgenty expanded and provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackySangsan, Director of Sales at Foto Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your message and please accept my apology on delay of response. We appreciate you taking the time to give us the feedback. It is a tremendous help for us to know how our guests perceive our services and where we have to focus on improvement to remain an exclusive hotel.

Please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience caused, this case will be shared with Department Heads and amongst associates to avoid any future repetition.

I do sincerely hope that you will provide us another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

If there is anything I can do to make that possible, please do not hesitate to contact me personally to arrange and ensure that your next stay will be a perfect one.

Yours sincerely,
Jacky

Sangsan Panboon (Mr.) - Assistant Sales Manager
Yield Department
tel: +66 (0) 7 6680 900 | fax +66 (0) 7 6680 901
m: +66 (0) 81 370 8044 | skype: sangsan.panboon
email: sales@fotohotelphuket.com | web : www.fotohotelphuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. The staff are all super friendly and the decor is really good. There is an enormous bed, a bath on the balcony and a free minibar with snacks and soft drinks. Breakfast is amazing and the pool/restaurant area has gorgeous views of the beach. Unfortunately this comes at a price as the hotel is up a fairly steep hill, and there are A LOT of steps to walk up if you are at the bottom (near the spa) like we were! However, if you can embrace that (exercise is supposed to be good for you after all!) then this is a fantastic place to be. Very quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of town - great for couples who want a relaxing time away from it all...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First of all, We love your hotel  theme and decoration idea  and We  love The crews in restuarant.
But, Unfortunately, We were not happy with  your POLICY fee charge that was ruined our vacation for the first impresstion.
My boyfriend ,who travel from the states his flight was cancelled due to the bad weather. We only had a 30 hrs  to give you a notice and ask your team for  help and organize this solution for us.

Only one reason your team (front deck) told us, NO HELP IS OUR POLICY. We need to pay 1 night  for no show up. I was asking you "this is  our fault" ?  Do you ever think about our  Life Safey ?  Seem like your POLICY is important more than us. WE ARE PISSED OFF !!!   Even,My boyfriend , he told your team. We plan to come back in this December and STAY with you.  We tired to fix it but you guys are not in the same page with us.  Still NO Help.
We dont understand  at all . this is  way you treat your guest like this. we were ok to pay but PLEASE give us a good reason or help us with any complimentary that made this situation was better. 

I would love to give you a recommend to be flexible  in the POLICY somehow and LISTEN your Customer  for emergency case  . Dont  turn  us down like this  :(. 

 Sorry ,We wont come back to stay with you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

There are just one too many hotels to choose from in Phuket. But probably, not impressive enough to repeat.

foto hotel is one among a few that's worth repeating. The charm of it is their staff, then the food. We have been there probably 3 times already! The chef can still excite us with new menus. Not only that it's creative, but delicious! They make some refreshing salad out of flowers. The drinks all have creative names. They serve lunch until 1pm. so that we dont have to get up that early on our holidays. These are just to name a few. Not to mention the famous "check bear" who welcomes you in every room.

So, we are visiting them again next month!

Room Tip: "ocean" zone is where you see a great view while the "ozone" zone is facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Rooms are terrific with outdoor baths and every extra you could possibly need.

Location is great for familys and couples if you want peace and quiet. Transport would be recommended as it is a steep walk from town. We hired a moped from the hotel as 24hr hire was about the same price as a hotel taxi one way.

Breakfast, fitness centre and infinity pool are all great I don't have a bad thing to say about this place. I would happily go back. We stayed with friends and they even looked to extend their stay they liked it so much.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Room and Decoration was pretty with Teddy Bear.Staff very friendly and helpful.The Location is good it not far from Patong .Swimming Pool so fantastic .Breakfast very good had menu to choose that we need .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foto Hotel

Address: 218/9 Kata - Saiyuan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foto Hotel is a stylish design hotel at Kata Beach created from a deep passion for photography that will inspire and delight with striking modern design and cool contemporary interiors. Enter the monochrome world of our Kata hotel and relax at the rooftop Silhouette Pool and Playground with panoramic views over three stunning west coast beaches and savour the exotic flavours of Phuket at the poolside restaurant Tiffin Mama. Escape to the Bokeh Spa at this serene Phuket boutique hotel for a rejuvenating treatment and unwind in the supreme comfort of your private Hall with the latest technology gadgets and luxury amenities. Capture a unique view of the world at Foto Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Foto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foto Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.