We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foto Hotel

Save Saved
You added Foto Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Foto Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   218/9 Kata - Saiyuan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Our room (203) had fantastic views. We even had a bath on the balcony which we were able to use as there was no one overlooking our room. The breakfasts were amazing with a choice of two local dishes which was changed every couple of days and a western choice. Additionally there was also fresh fruits, fruit juice, toast and preserves, salards, pastries buffet style. Breakfast was until 1 p.m. so we tended to have a leisurely breakfast late morning. The bed was one of the best we have ever slept in and was enormous. The hotel arranged for us to be meet at the airport. We had the most amazing Thai massage on the beach which was by far the best way, who wants to be inside when you can have the experience outside. We took the free shuttle service to the beach. Massage costs are the same everywhere. The best food we had was a short walk from the hotel. We went to After The Beach for cocktails and fried squid and then to Baan Chom View for dinner. They both had good views on an open terrace. Just turn right from the hotel. We also went to L'Opera in the town for steaks, kebabs and salmon. The only comment I could make re improvement would be for the shuttle service to be run more frequently. It only operates 3 times to the beach and twice back but taxi fares are cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    82
    30
    9
    15
See reviews for
18
149
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Ozone Hall. Our room was at the block closest to the reception so we did not have to walk up and down many flights of stairs as compared to those rooms that are located further away from the reception.

The room was as seen on the website. Spacious, while there wasn’t any enclosed wardrobe or closet for clothing, there were plenty of spaces around the room to store away the luggage and shopping. The placement of the aircon, blowing from behind your head, and the TV, at the side of the bed, were rather odd.

Love the design of the pool and the lounge chairs which provide great shade in the heat of the day. Breakfast was a lovely affair served ala carte, with toast, salad and fruits.

Check in and check out was too slow. Even though we checked in at 2pm, we found that the room was not ready and we had to wait for 15-20 minutes after the doing all the paperwork for housekeeping to confirm that the room was ready. Same with check out, we had to wait another 15 minutes for housekeeping to confirm that we were good to go.

We drove so transport to and from the hotel to other places was not a problem for us. It’s a steep climb for those who choose to walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I went to Foto Hotel 21-14 Feb. very lovely for vacation. Bigger bed, Hotel design from who love photography concept. You can see grate view sunset at Swimming pool.

Hotel have 2 view
1.Ozone Hall(garden view sometime you see only tree not any view)
2.Ocean Hall(sea view)

and 2 type
1.bath outside room
2.bath in bathroom

Room Tip: 2 view 1.Ozone Hall(garden view sometime you see only tree not any view) 2.Ocean Hall(sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed one night at a Deluxe room and had a late checkout.

Arrival:
We went there by car and it was relatively easy to find this gem as they have a sign on both sides of the mainroad. They also have their own car park where you can park you car or motorbike.
The lobby was already eye candy during a short wait for our check-in. There were two iMacs and several photography books to avoid boredown while waiting. Our check-in was on time at 2 P.M..

Location:
It's located on top of a small hill and to reach the beach you have wait for the hotels shuttle bus, rent a motorbike, take a taxi or walk by yourself. The way down is quite steep and during the day there is a lot of traffic. You should think twice if you really want to walk. I strongly recommend to rent some vehicle or take a taxi to go to other places. There is also a nice viewpoint just a short drive.

Room:
Our Deluxe room was very spacious and had a direct access to the rooftop with lots of chairs to chill out. Though it didn't have seaview. There is a main console to operate all lights, the TV and the air condition. The room and the connected bathroom were both clean and had a good smell. The bathroom is equipped with a toilet, shower and a baththub.
Everything in the minibar was complimentary! We got four bottles of water, two cans of coke, coffee (local roasted coffee with a French Press), local tea, snacks and two yakult milk drinks.
The only drawback was that we could hear the air condition cooler from outside during night as it was relatively loud. Also the air condition was on top of the bed and it felt a bit strange to get the wind from that direction.

Facilities:
We walked in the SPA and it looked very welcoming, though we didn't try it. There is an elevator which you can access from the same floor as the lobby to go up to the top floor where the restaurant and swimming pool are located at. From the swimming pool you will have an amazing seaview. There is also a nice rooftop area where you can sit and relax.
The restaurant has just a small menu, but the food and drinks are very delicious. Another interesting fact is that they serve breakfast until 1 P.M. - yes, it's true! :-)

Room Tip: Take a deluxe room if you want to have direct access to the rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We LOVE Foto hotel. It’s a very well designed hotel, great pool with fantastic view and the most comfortable HUGE bed. We had the ozone room with a tub on the balcony, it was on the lower level so lots of stairs but with lots of privacy. Sometimes we get the buggy when we are too lazy to walk the stairs. The room was clean with free mini bar and bottles of water. The menu at the restaurant is limited but the foods are delicious. Breakfast come with 3 choices of set menu, 2 asian 1 western and buffet of salads, fresh fruit, toast and pastry. There is free wifi which they need to improve as the connection is bad. The pool is fantastic and surprisingly quite, most of the time there were only 6-10 people at the pool.

From the airport we took a mini van which cost 800 THB for the two of us, we went to the taxi meter stand but we had to wait for at least an hour for the taxi and was approached by the guy with the minivan. It was approximately an hour drive from the airport. Going back to the airport we took the hotel taxi which cost 1500THB, which after we have paid we found out the taxi from the small taxi ‘shack’ in front of the hotel only cost 1200THB.

The hotel is on a very steep hill, hence the fantastic view. To the left of the drive way there is a bar/restaurant and to the right about 10 minutes walk there are 3 restaurants, we went to the middle one and it was not bad. 10 minutes walk down the hill to the left of the drive way will get you to more eating places, turn to the right at the bottom of the hill and keep walking for a further 5 minutes and you will be at the junction which lead you to kata town. You can take a tuktuk back up to the hotel for 200THB. The hotel provide shuttle to kata 3 times a day and kata to hotel twice a day.

There are 2 beaches close to the hotel. Turn to the right at the bottom of the hill to get to Kata beach and turn to the left (another 5 min walk and you will see a set of stairs that will lead you down to the beach) to get to Kata Noi. We prefer Kata Noi as it’s a quitter beach. You can rent a pair of sun beds for 200THB. You can get towels and a beach bag from the hotel.

The hotel provide motor bike rental for 350THB a day with 3000THB deposit (or equivalent to in other currency). It’s a great and cheap way to see Phuket, just drive cautiously especially if you drive at night as Phuket has lots of hills and there are drunk people on motor bikes.

Overall, this hotel is fantastic. Yes lots of stairs and hill but it’s manageable even though I’m not the fittest person. We’ll stay at Foto hotel again if we go back to Phuket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Two nights in Foto Hotel were awesome. We love the style of this hotel from the first step inside. The receptionist ( man with glass) has the best hospitality attitude although he was by himself and a bit busy. The room has such cool design. We got the Ocean Hall room with bathtub at the balcony. The relaxing atmosphere of the room and the pool kept us from wanting to see the beaches. My husband who had problem eating in Thailand really enjoy the breakfast, so did I because there are both western and Thai food.
I sure wanna go back to stay in this hotel again if I go back to Phuket!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed only one night with a friend at this hotel for a quick weekend get-away. Would I stay here again? maybe if I had more time.

Positives:
- very cool design, starting from the lobby all the way to the rooms and the pool upstairs. It's definitely a cool yuppy place.
- The pool is open even late at night
- the offer a limited number of motorbikes you can rent
- free WIFI in lobby
- very quiet

Negatives:
- not easy logistically: it's about a 1 hour+ drive to the airport. That's our fault for not researching this in advance, but we wouldn't have picked it for our short getaway. Airport shuttles drop off there, but don't pick up. Taxi ride to airport is not cheap.
- shuttle to Kata beach is only a few times a day and not really convenient.
- nothing really closeby that's walking distance, so you need to hire a taxi or rent a motorbike. We wanted to rent one, but they were out
- WiFi did not work in rooms, only in lobby
- walked into room that was stuffy and smelled of insect repellent, while 2 mosquitoes were still flying around the room
- pretty slow service at front desk

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Foto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foto Hotel

Address: 218/9 Kata - Saiyuan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Foto Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foto Hotel is a stylish design hotel at Kata Beach created from a deep passion for photography that will inspire and delight with striking modern design and cool contemporary interiors. Enter the monochrome world of our Kata hotel and relax at the rooftop Silhouette Pool and Playground with panoramic views over three stunning west coast beaches and savour the exotic flavours of Phuket at the poolside restaurant Tiffin Mama. Escape to the Bokeh Spa at this serene Phuket boutique hotel for a rejuvenating treatment and unwind in the supreme comfort of your private Hall with the latest technology gadgets and luxury amenities. Capture a unique view of the world at Foto Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Foto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foto Hotel Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.