We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Hotel but renovation required and promised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chanalai Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chanalai Garden Resort to your Saves list
Chanalai Garden Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   247 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
pattaya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great Hotel but renovation required and promised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We've stayed for 2 nights at the end of April and enjoyed the stay very much. Kata Beach is beautiful and the Hotel has 2 nice Pools too. The Rooms are big and the tub is not usual for Hotels in this price range, The Rooms were clean and the staff is very kind.We've been at the end of the Season and not many other guests been in this Hotel at this time what makes our stay even more comfortable

Only problem was the old Name of the Hotel whihc made a little trouble for the Taxi Driver to find it because we booked a room in Chanalai Garden but the sign and all other stuff used the old Name Tropical Garden resort. Also some repair and renovation activities are required but the Hotel promised to close now for a while and renovate anyway due to the new Owner and belonging name change. Bad was that the A/C in our room damaged in the night and we had to move into another room which wasn't prepared due to the fact that they close for renovation.

At the end I really recommend this Hotel and hope they keep the promise and renovate the required things.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    122
    63
    30
    32
See reviews for
49
137
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel this spring and was really happy about it. Read some reviews here on tripadvisor, some pretty negative, which I don´t understand. Some complains about the sevice, we only experinced great service and nice staff. After a week, we talked to the staff since we experinced some noise at our room, and in 5 minutes we were given a new room with sea view, no extra change. Also they have 24/7 service, if you e.g. need toilet paper or fresh towels, just call the service room and they will come to your room to fix it.
Also some reviews mentions the breakfast.....what not to like??? - there are toasts with butter and jam, 3 different thaifoods (different every day), pancakes, french toasts, ham, sausages, bacon, freshly made omlets and fried eggs, fruit, and diferent kinds of cerials.
ROOM.
Both rooms we had were nice and roomy. Cleaned every day, and had safety box. Nice big balconies, and well working (although a bit noisy) aircon.
Great space for hanging your clothes, and a little sitting area.
POOLS:
Both pools are nice, and were cleaned every day. We didn´t have any problems getting sunbeds, but in case the hotel is fully booked, it might be a problem. The bigger pool had a pool bar - though quite expensive when thinking about you are not allowed to bring your own water. One day I forgot a shirt and my sunglasses at the pool, but when I came the next day a staff member came and gave it to me :D
HOTEL AREA AND LOCATION:
The hotel has some nice gardens, a pool table, free internet room, free wifi in lobby.
There are also a restaurant infront of the main entrance, but didn´t try it.
Also there is a place to book trips in the lobby, and not more expensive than booking in town. Also own taxi service, and after talking a bit with them, we got same price as a tuktuk for a trip around the island.
The hotel is located at the very south-end of the city, which means you have a 700 meter walk to main street.
Just across the street you have acces to the beach, and two great restaurants - very cheap, great food, and a sea view. At the beach closest to the hotel you can do some snorkeling. There is not a big reef, but some corals, and great marine life, saw many morenas. At the other end of the beach the reef should be better, but couldn´t snorkel there due to pure visibility at that end.
ALL IN ALL:
A nice hotel with nice rooms, nice staff and great breakfast. Again I don´t understand what some are complaining about, of cours they might have had a bad experience, but remember, if you want 5* hotels you have to pay for a 5* hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had visited this Resort (under its former name) 3 times in the past 4 years and found it pleasant so was very disappointed with my trip this week. First hassle: arrived and told the room I had requested had air conditioning problems so we were being upgraded to a 5 star room in another resort, only 2 minutes away. Fine but that 2 minutes was by car, the new resort was way up the other end of Kata and nowhere near the beach. So I declined this offer and asked to stay put. 2nd problem - I asked for one of the rooms with few stairs (having arthritis it's hard to manage them), so where did they put us - the highest level possible. Admittedly the view from the room was fantastic but the 127 steps to the restaurant for breakfast was not fun when there was a power black-out and no lifts. Even with the lifts in service there are a huge amount of stairs to climb. 3rd problem: my bed springs were broken; bed linen was stained and pillow cases a dirty yellow colour. An ash tray that was on our balcony full of cigarette ends the day we arrived was still there the day we left (we are non-smokers and had requested a non-smoking room). What's more when we checked out they claimed it was missing! Likewise when we checked out I had an argument about a bottle of water they claimed we had taken from the mini bar - petty but the reception staff are so rude there was no way I was going to pay for something we hadn't had.
Now to breakfast- OK if you like rats running through the restaurant, a constant septic smell and Russians who allow their children to pick up food with their fingers and then put it back. The quality of food was OK although they are very stingy with pasties - about 1 plate per hour comes out which is swooped upon immediately (once again by the Russians) who not only pile their plates high but also put them in their bags for later in the day.
Previously I have enjoyed the main pool in the resort - this time the water quality was so bad I would not go in the main pool or the smaller one for fear of catching something nasty. Not helped by watching other guests (surprise - Russian again) putting babies in the pool with no nappies, allowing older children to urinate in the pool or on the pool retaining walls and then washing them off in the pool.
Overall the place has a run down feel to it. if you look closely there has been very little attention to basic maintenance issues - both inside and out.
So what was nice about this place? - the view from the room early morning or early evening - the rest of the time the view was of wall to wall people- never seen the place so crowded. The general staff ie housemaids, gardeners etc were all lovely, as are the locals in town. The proximity to the beach and local restaurants is great and things like supermarkets, transport to Patong etc are close by. However, this will be my last ever visit to Kata and definitely to The Tropical Garden.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms but beware of ones high up due to number of stairs and frequent power cuts rendering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is nice and across the road there is a beach. We arrived at 11 am, we had known that the room is ready only at two. To our great surprise they gave us the key in 30 minutes after our arrival. The room was very comfortable and in the morning we opened he balcony door and listened to bird's chirping. It was very relaxing. The stuff was very friendly and always smiled at everybody so did we. Yes, the road is very busy but be very attentive and all will be fine. The beach is clean and water clear. The sand is very soft but hot))) I imagined we lived in the jungle)))) The only disappointed thing was - spots on the towels and sheets, no they weren't dirty o course, but I think used lots of times. If you are a pedant take or buy your own towel. There are 2 swimming pools and one for children! All in all this hotel brought us only good impression. )))

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I think we expected a more modern hotel and also after long drive from airport to Hotel we did expect the normal welcome drink and nice warm towel just to freshen up. We were told our room will ready in an hour and a half and given drink-vouchers which could only be used between 6-9pm. The lift was out of order for 3 days luckily we were on 3rd floor so not too many flights of stairs!!. It is very convenient across road from beach but that road is very busy till early hours of the morning so try get a room further back. The staff at breakfast were not very friendly at all. All in all would not stay there again. They were kind enough to present me with a cake in my room for my 60th birthday and it was lovely and fresh!! The pools are lovely with bar and food service.

Room Tip: Stay towards back of Hotel front rooms very noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have just returned from 4 nights there, after staying at Patong merlin this place seemed like a huge step down in all regards. On arrival while checking in my wife noticed two huge rats running down the stairs in reception, she shrieked and I when running in time to see one of them heading into the garden off the stairs. But by then I had passed over my credit card for full payment up front, this I see is a new trend, even though I booked through booking.com still full payment upfront. Confirmed the rooms I had requested we were getting and the correct standard of room. The surprisingly unhelpful staff confirmed yes on a few occasions but once the keys were passed over not the right rooms or wing. After some heated discussion they said you can shift tomorrow, unhappy but not much choice. Once we arrived at our rooms in the most far away wing from reception, exactly what did not want, we find twin beds not doubles in both rooms and they are not connecting as requested. These rooms appeared smaller than we paid for also. Both rooms had stained bedding and one had a blocked toilet so daughter and partner had to shift to a room one floor higher, this looked like the room we paid for. Trying not to get angry and ruin our holiday.
Next day we shift to correct wing, but only one of had been shifted the other room they had not moved the bags over, which they do by van the place is so far stretched out over the hillside.
These new rooms still look smaller than paid for but view is good so we stay, our room smelled like cigarette smoke so I phone reception who got housekeeping to come to the room and with no English and no interest we were forced to stay in this room but had to open the doors while we were inside.
A few other annoying things the breakfast was well below any other hotel of similar price and rating in Thailand, little choice, flies on the uncovered food, one toaster with one slot so long queue for toast, we paid mafia money for wifi but it only worked sometimes and never worked on my cellphone, there was free wifi in the lobby and I did sit there for a few hours trying to get a picture of the rats but never got one, my wife was walking up the stairs on our second day and a rat came down the stairs to greet her, never had an issue with English at any hotel in Thailand but this hotel the staff forget all their English if there was a problem.
Overall rundown, old looking, not great staff, too many steps in the heat, poor breakfast, poor and overpriced internet, small rooms and the plus side nice pools and is handy to the beach

Room Tip: Wing 2 is the closest to reception, only floors 3 and 4 have good view. Still three flights of stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel has both pros and cons, it just depends what you're looking for. The location is literally across the street from beautiful Kata beach, and in walking distance to the area'a shopping and dining. Our room was on the west end, and balcony opened onto the pool area, which had a nice view, and was relaxing and probably the best part of the hotel. The rooms are a bit dated, with barely running faucets and toilet, nasty smell coming from bathroom drains (seems to be the norm in Asia)somewhat worn bedding, and an ancient TV set. But there are a decent selection of English channels, which kind of made up for it. The overall feel of the hotel was that it had seen better days, and although fairly clean, had a sort of dirty air about it. (Probably all the rust and random grime in the room). All in all though, the stay was enjoyable, and it's easy to overlook the cons because the pros outweigh them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that backs onto the west end pool for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chanalai Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Garden Resort

Address: 247 Koktanode Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Garden Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanalai Garden Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Tropical Resort Group offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely: Tropical Garden Resort overlooks the Andaman Sea and offers an environment that helps you escape your everyday cares.Tropical Garden Resort, a four-star sea view resort, located on the small hill over looking the Andaman Sea and a minute walk to the beach.Retreat your self with sea sun sand on tropical island of Phuket. Just one block from Kata Beach, the resorts easily access to the nearby shopping areas and natural tourist spots on the island. Only 25 mins to Phuket and Patong and 15 minutes away to Promthep Cape,the most spetecular sunset view point on the island.The resort is outstandlingly located on the lush tropical foliage hill side overlooking Andaman Sea and just 200 metres away to Kata beach.Varied choices of eateries shopping,diving shop,surfing shop and some tourist spots close by ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Chanalai Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Garden Hotel Kata Beach
Tropical Garden Kata
Tropical Garden Resort Phuket
Chanalai Garden Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chanalai Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.