We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Andaman Cannacia Resort

Save Saved
You added Andaman Cannacia Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaman Cannacia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   212 Kok Tanod Rd, Kata Beach | T.Karon, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 hotels in Kata Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Jus 2 girls out of South Africa for the first time,Our first trip out of South Africa Dec 9 2013 and we got to stay at this hotel for just a week was surreal!!we thought we had died and gone to heaven.The rooms and facilities were spectacular but the best was the service and the very friendly staff,we definitly miss the royal treatment.God bless Andaman Cannacia.

Sinothile Buthelezi

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    110
    43
    17
    16
See reviews for
43
139
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Positives:
- Pretty good view from the pool area,
- Free shuttle bus to Kata and the beach (schedule and mud map of route provided),
- 2 free bottles of water every day,
- Beautiful lobby area always had a few people sitting around relaxing, using the free wifi (you had to pay if you wanted in your rooms).

Negatives:
- Pretty sure wide lens was used to take the photos available of this resort, because the pool is not that big. The very small upper pool with the bar was consistently monopolised by overweight men in speedos, which is not appealing to have a relaxing time!
- Had to pay for accommodation up front, upon check in.
- Porter took our bags to our room and then just turned on the TV and started to flick through channels (without talking to us). We're assuming that was to show us that the TV worked???
- Hotel service book (usually should consist of local services like restaurants etc) just had an outdated menu of their restaurant and an alphabetical list of the hotel services (which made it difficult to find information because they're not all named logically!)
- "King sized bed" was 2 very poor quality (rock hard) single bed mattresses pushed together;
- Room was designed with a day bed cut out with block out curtains, but these curtains didn't cover the corner, so I had sun glaring into my face in the morning. Had to use my hair clips to cover up the gap.
- Tiny verandah overlooking some cleared land for construction.
- Basic amenities provided, some were available for purchase that a lot of hotels would offer as complimentary.
- Daily room cleaning apparently doesn't include clearing takeaway food containers that we couldn't fit in the bin!
- Restaurant service was ok, but they severely undercooked the potato in a massaman curry! (We figured Thai food would have been a no-brainer here!) That was challenging to communicate to the staff, because most of their English was too basic to understand that.
- Breakfast served in the outdoor restaurant had uncovered food teaming with flies/mosquitos - I quickly learned to eat only the hot food that was covered or freshly cooked fried eggs. No coffee machine - only perculated coffee available.
- "Fitness Centre" included one rusted old multifunction machine that was not bolted together properly - entire machine shook when my partner attempted to use it! (He is not one of those overweight men in speedos, so it was definitely not due to that).
- Unfortunate timing of a planned power outage at the exact time I needed to get ready for the wedding we were holidaying for...
- Staff temporarily misplaced my partner's suit he had "drycleaned". (We're guessing it was just pressed though, as the tailor's tag was still stapled to the pants when staff returned it).
- One of the maintenance cupboards in the hallway had a door that wouldn't close properly, so it would open and slam shut several times in the night with the wind. Hence, in combination with the terrible bed, we didn't have a good night's sleep for the 4 nights we were there.
- Had to checkout at 7am, but as the hotel advertised that breakfast would be served from 6:30am, we figured there wouldn't be any issues. Most of the food wasn't ready at 6:45am, toaster wasn't warmed up and the "chef" at the egg station didn't have any eggs...
- Upon checkout, we had to keep the airport transfer driver waiting because they insisted on checking our room before we left, even though we had paid for it. Most reasonable hotels would inform you that they will check it and let you know if there were any extra charges.

TIP: There was no tour of the hotel, nor even a map of the facility. We discovered the shortcut footpath down the hill to Kata after reading a review on here (from around 13 Dec 13). Reviewer was absolutely correct - don't use this path if you have any sort of mobility issues. The stairs are very steep and uneven, and then the slope is very steep and with loose rocks. It's ok if you're relatively fit and healthy but proceed with caution!! I wouldn't recommend using it at night though - could be quite dangerous. Path is accessed from the hill side of the pool.

Getting around town: Some taxi drivers insisted that this resort was in Kata Noi and would try to charge us the higher price. The hotel is in Kata beach, not Kata Noi. Otherwise it's generally a fixed price for taxis: 200B to Kata Noi, 500B to Patong (or 400B if you can negotiate). Don't feel you have to tip the taxi drivers though - they're getting enough of a profit from what they're charging!!

If you're looking for a budget hotel with a pool, and you're not looking for luxury, then this place is probably fine for you. From the photos and the description (particularly being called a "resort"), we expected a lot more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munchenbernsdorf, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We spend 3 weeks at Cannacia and we would do it again. The hotel is verry close to the city and beach, but it is also fare away to spend good time in silence. The service personal is always friendly and helpful. We like the hotel area, it is quite smal and have a good look in the landscape.
Its a verry good place for traveling arount phuket. We rent a motorbike and enjoy it verry much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarfalla, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Me and my family stayed at Cannacia during 2 weeks of October and November. The stay at the hotel was just great! All three rooms we had, had sea view over Andaman sea, they where always very clean and the beds where giant!
The service personal was always nice and happy! The said hello every time you met them and did their work really good! The food from the restaurant and the food during the breakfast was amazing!
Both pools where great! There were both a bar pool and a regular pool that had very good temperature and was really relaxing after a long day at the beach.

I wouldn´t recommend the hotel for family's with young children because of the sharp hill to the hotel. There is stairs that is possible to use too, but they are not in very good shape, but there is no more downsides that I can think of, the hotel was just great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a tricky one to review. The hotel's mountain setting looking up to a huge, beautiful Buddha statue and down on a superb sandy bay with a sapphire sea and spectacular surf is a travellers' delight.

The accommodation is quiet, cosy and lacks nothing in the creature comfort department. Rooms are well equipped with massive beds, global tv, fridge, safe and all the expected luxuries. Balconies are a good size but because of a sloping wall partition with neighbours, a little lacking in privacy

The lobby and adjacent restaurant area are comfortable and border on the stately home.

The food is consistently delicious. The menu is huge and nothing disappoints.

The pool area is picturesque, comfortable and is taken care of by very attentive staff. The beach is a different matter. It is a long way away and not very accessible. We tried the stepped footpath and it was very steep and a long journey. The alternative is hourly bus transport to a sister hotel which is also not actually on the beach.

The Thai and Philippine staff are friendly, helpful and mostly very efficient except for the odd occasion in the restaurant, when your main course arrived before your starter or, a bit more awkward, they both arrived together!

We went with Thomson who were superb in every respect. Their trips to James Bond Island and the elephant rides were brilliantly organised and entertaining in every respect.

The nearby towns of Kata and Patong are full of life - shops, bars, clubs and restaurants and well worth a visit.

I think anyone planning to go to this little gem should do so soon, for I have a feeling that before long this will become pretty much an exclusively Russian reserve.

Thanks to all for a super holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had the privilege of staying for 10 nights in this beautiful, tranquil and clean hotel. We were accommodated in a Canna Deluxe Seaview room which had a breathtaking view and was very comfortable. The facilities are of exceptional quality and the swimming pools were always in pristine condition. Breakfasts were varied and of good quality. The staff performed their duties with excellence and their positive attitude ensured a wonderful holiday. We will return many times and will certainly use this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Exceptional grounds with a beautiful pool area, lobby, and restaurant. The hotel is located at the top of a steep hill and while shuttles are provided they didn't happen often enough to be useful so we made the walk instead. The food in the restaurant was good, but expensive in comparison to what you could find in town.
The front desk staff were friendly, but other staff were somewhat less interested in being friendly. Our room was fairly dark being on the first floor, but did have its own outdoor space. The fitness area was disappointing with 2 of the 3 machines not working. If your focus is to sit around a beautiful pool area and soak up the sun, this is a great spot.

Room Tip: Low rooms are dark. Pay the extra for a great view given e hotel is on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andaman Cannacia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Cannacia Resort

Address: 212 Kok Tanod Rd, Kata Beach | T.Karon, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaman Cannacia Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Andaman Cannacia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Cannacia Hotel Kata Beach
Andaman Cannacia Kata
Andaman Cannacia Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaman Cannacia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.