We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and friendly resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andaman Cannacia Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Andaman Cannacia Resort to your Saves list
Andaman Cannacia Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   212 Kok Tanod Rd, Kata Beach | T.Karon, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Kata Beach
Umea, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Andaman Cannacia is a nice, clean and beautiful place to stay in if you like a quiet place with a view! We chose a Canna Deluxe room on third floor to get the best sea view, also because of the height there were almost no mosquitoes. The staff was friendly and had no objections when we wished to change from second to third floor to get a better view.
The pool is nice and the breakfast has everything you can wish for. We had lunch at the hotel a few times also and it was perfectly alright.
To get to the beach by walking is no problem if your healthy and in good condition - it´s a steep hill but it only takes 10-15 minutes and a bit of sweat! If you´re not up to that you can ride the free hotel shuttle every 15 minutes during daytime. In the night we used to take the shuttle downtown at 7.30 and then get a taxi back. No problems ever. At a couple of times we arranged transportation via the hotel to go to some attractions. Not expensive and very convenient to be picked up at the hotel. A warning for the elephant safari that the hotel recommends though! We were very disappointed and disgusted at the way they treated the elephants; they hit them and were rude to us. Choose another one!
Kata Beach is very clean and not too crowded. We easily found beach chairs every day for 100 bath/day. We could very well consider coming back to this hotel next time in Phuket.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best sea view, absolutely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    111
    47
    17
    15
See reviews for
43
142
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is a fantastic base for any Phuket holiday. Its a bit expensive to eat dinner there but the bed and breakfast is great. Nice clean rooms beautiful pool and the usual Thai hospitality.
We had a fantastic time in Phuket , get your self a motor bike if your a experienced rider people in Phuket are pretty good drivers and do give you room , we heard some horror stories about the main land but these people are fairly polite.
Visit all the temples and beautiful beaches and eat out cheap, stay away from Patong its noisy and full of Scandinavian students who want to party, nothing wrong in that just not the reason you should be going to such a beautiful; place for.
We booked with travel bag three nights in Bangkok then on to Phuket , every transfer was spot on and no hitch. Well done guys.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went to Andaman Cannacia for our Honeymoon. We loved the room, we had booked the Honeymoon Suite and we were happy with the room quality and the private jacuzzi and patio. They did not offer free wifi, however, the connection was good for a reasonable price. The breakfast was good and the pool and the public jacuzzi were also very good.

We had a good number of European crowd in the hotel and the overall atmosphere in the hotel was really cool and enjoyable. The in room dining was good but a little pricy.

The hotel is located on a STEEP hill, it is very painful to walk up (or down) to the hotel and the Tuk tuks ask for unreasonable prices, the hotel management has tried to compensate by offering free pickup and drop schedule but i dont know how many inmates actually use these services.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel and would recommend this for couples and families alike.

Room Tip: Choose a room near to the beach side for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We recently stayed for a 14 night trip. the hotel looks as pretty much described on the web, although there are areas which definately need a little TLC.
Reception staff were very friendly and always someone to help translate with the english..we had to move rooms as unfortunately on the 1st floor deluxe, it felt like we was in a dungeon as was facing a huge wall which meant no natural light was received in the room, a little dissapointing since it was our anniversary and this was requested when booking..we did manage to move room with little problem and although no sea view was much better than initial room given..Rooms are large and huge beds, which are nice.
Positivies:

Nice quiet location and wonderful views from hotel over the ocean and mountains (the hill is a steep walk but managable if you are fit and healthy...shuttle services are provided
Friendly staff

Negatives:
The service around the pool is pretty awful and there is none, this could be improved very easily and would appreciated by the guests!

You are charged for WIFI and this is very expensive and very slow...I think this should be free since all the bars and restaurants are free to use.

Breakfast not great and fresh fruit selection could be improved
Not enough sunbeds so therefore maybe they should place some hammocks or mats around the grass area...people put their towels on their sunbeds and then go for breakfast...so be warned to do the same if you want one!

We tried the buffet thai night and was not impressed with the food...although a good selection, most of this was cold from the hot plates and at a cost of £15 not good value..
We ate in the restaurant once and the food was much better here and a good selection. although still cheaper to eat out and so many nice places to try in Kata.

The negatives did not spoil our holiday and i think they could easily make some changes for these little improvements...as is I sadly would not return to this hotel..This is good value, but feel there are probably hotels for the same value a little better...

Room Tip: do not book any Deluxe room on the 1st floor as terrible views...Opt for the 2nd if you are booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myre
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a very nice room with a huge bed. We were very satisfied with the room choice, top floor wedding-suite with Jacuzzi on the balcony. Awesome.

Breakfast was good too, but could definitely be better. A little more variety would be nice.

We liked the fact that the hotel is not located by the beach, but on a hill. The view from the pool is great. The walk to the beach doesn't take long (10 mins max). The hill is quite steep. For younger people, even the ones that are not in shape, it is no problem.

Overall the hotel is very clean, well maintained and quiet. It's exactly what we were looking for. The staff was also very nice and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to Kata, but doesn't need all the noise. We give them one minus for the stiff prices of the wifi/internet. This should really be better and of course for free for the customers.
Maybe next year this will be included ;)

Room Tip: Beautiful hotel. Friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We arrived at midnight with two young kids to discover our travel agent had booked us for a stay here on the wrong dates! The hotel staff were so helpful and soon had a room ready for us - luckily! They were then very helpful in sorting out our stay, and very friendly towards the kids. Pool area was lovely with lots of pools and areas for everyone. Rooms were nice and big, clean and comfortable. We loved the location, as it was peaceful and beautiful. We found a path behind the pool area that takes you down to the main road, then straight down another path you are at beautiful kata beach. We mostly took tuk tucks back up as our kids 2 and 4 were a little heavy to carry up the hill, but we could have easily done it on our own. Breakfast was great, with heaps of variety. There was always at least one reception member who could speak good English, so we never had any communication problems. In all, we would stay here again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phuket
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel is located in quite and nice place. It's good for the people who wanted to have a wonderful holiday. The rooms are beautiful and clean. The breakfast was good too. The staff are friendly and hospitable. The bed was comfortable and huge. Nice place to feel relax. There is different activity every week.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaman Cannacia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Cannacia Resort

Address: 212 Kok Tanod Rd, Kata Beach | T.Karon, A.Muang, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaman Cannacia Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Andaman Cannacia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Cannacia Hotel Kata Beach
Andaman Cannacia Kata
Andaman Cannacia Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaman Cannacia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.