We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pleace to stay with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Kata Resort Phuket

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Kata Resort Phuket to your Saves list
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   54 Ked Kwan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Jiva Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Life should be rewarding
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tyumen, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pleace to stay with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Everything was very nice during 2 weeks on thi hotel. There is enough space for a walking even inside hotel territory. Personal is quite kind.

Just one suggestion which I can rise - one of 3 pools could be filled by mineralised sea water.

Thanks for good quality. Will choose centara during the next travel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Centara Kata Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share this kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and for recommenting Centara.

A saltwater pool would certainly be an excellent addition to the resort.

Thank you again and kind regards

Regina Salzmann
General manager
gmckt@chr.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    178
    60
    18
    7
See reviews for
235
110
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just returned from a family gathering of 6 adults and 6 children with each family staying in a family suite next to the pool for 9 nights. The suite was spacious well decorated with a walk in shower and kept very clean on a daily basis. There was a kitchen with microwave, much needed fridge and powerful air conditioning. The resort was excellent, kept very clean and every member of staff was so helpful and friendly making our stay very enjoyable. A special mention to Oil in the restaurant who was fabulous with the kids. The location is an easy walk to the beach and plenty of restaurants to choose from. I would highly recommend this resort and look forward to returning

Room Tip: Ground Floor near the slide pool was an excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Centara Kata Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for sharing this lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you found our Suits nice and will share your kind comments with the team. I am especially happy about hearing about Khun Oil, who was lovely with your children. Its a delight to hear.

Thank you again and we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gmckt@chr.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Recently spent 2 weeks here with a family party of 9. Beautiful location both for it's stunning view of the mountain side from the Emerald pool & being situated in the cultural centre of the town. Lovely staff members, particularly the cleaning ladies & the lads down at the towel exchange area. The facilities within the hotel complex were very nice, with the fitness centre being the main delight. The food at breakfast was plentiful, well presented & delicious. I plan on returning to Thailand in the near future with my fiancé & I would have no hesitation in using this hotel again or recommending it to others.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Centara Kata Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for sharing this lovely review. I am deighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will share you kind comments with the team.

Please let us know when you wish to return and we would be happy to welcome you back

Kind regards

Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gmckt@ch.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family of four - two adults and two kids have just returned from a 6 night stay at Centara Kata.
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was huge - our kids slept on a sofa bed with slide out divan in the lounge room. The apartment had a kitchenette with full size fridge, microwave and all the cooking utensils you would need to cook a meal.... if that's what you want to do on holiday!
Double sized balcony which could be accessed from either the main bedroom or living area and overlooked the pool area - this was a little bit noisy first thing in the morning but not a huge concern overall.
Service was generally great at the resort - the only disappointment was the kids club. Both of my kids (5 and 8 years old) went and were not that keen. The staff had minimal interaction with them and my kids spent the majority of their time colouring in or watching TV with the other kids. Also, hours are 10am -12 (pick up for lunch) and then 1pm until 5pm. Not much adult free time to really do anything much in the morning when you have to be back at 12.00....

A handy location with easy access to a number of restaurants. One way shuttle bus to the beach which went every half hour from 9am (from memory), but then stopped at 11am. This didn't bother my husband and I (as we are happy to walk) but the kids weren't so keen. It would have been great if it ran a little longer so we could take them to the beach when the kids club stopped for lunch.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found it to be excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the 1 bedroom apartment over the family room if you are travelling with kids. Soo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Centara Kata Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this nice review of the resort. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kid comments to the team.

I note your comments about our kids club. They are very valuable and it is certainly something I will personally review and work on improvements.

Thank you also for recommending Kata as a destination and the valuable room tips. It is very much appreciated.

We hope we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards
Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gmckt@chr.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The quality of this hotel is great. The food was impressive at both restaurants and the pools (2) were very clean. A great central spot to stay with shops and restaurants just outside the resort. The staff are friendly and helpful most of the time. Would definitely stay there again. It's a 5 minute walk to Kata Beach if you take the short cut.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool, ask for a room on the ground level. Only trouble staying on upp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Centara Kata Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this nice review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind comments to the team.

We hope we are able to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards

Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gmckt@chr.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our family of 4 and another family of 4 just spent 6 nights here.

Absolutely loved the gardens (even if they attracted the mozzies), they were very pretty and lush providing lots of privacy.
The pools were gorgeous and having 2 (3rd adults only) to choose from was great as we followed the shade.

Rooms are good value for money. Pity the 1 bedrooms were booked out as we would of preferred more space. Didnt sleep too well with the hard beds, but hard beds seem to be the norm for Thailand. Glasses and Cups seemed to be rinsed and not replaced with clean ones, as they were left wet and upturned when room cleaned.

Kids club could of been a bit better. Only opening at 10 and then closing at 12-1 to open again to 5. Not much organised activities and they found it boring and didnt really want to go which was fine as they came away eaten alive by mozzies.

Staff are friendly (especially the security guards) and very helpful at reception especially organising a taxi through the hotel (Thanks Nadia) to take us and our sick daughter to the hospital.

Best of all was the location. Quiet street but still with plenty of restaurants, shops, massages, pharmacy, 7Eleven and cheeky ;-) tuk tuk drivers. A great market around the corner. New shopping centre opening in a month next door will be good, especially the proposed coffee shop.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and were a bit sad to leave. Thank you Regina and Staff for making our 1st Phuket trip memorable... especially the fun we had during Songkran xx

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Centara Kata Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the fun activities over Songkran. I will certainly share your comments with my team.

I am noting your comments both regarding some issues with housekeeping and your comments about the kids club. I will personally look into this and work on acieving improvements in all areas. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again

Kind regards

Regina Salzmann
General manager
gmckt@chr.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed in Kata beach several times, compared to our last stay at the Matadee Resort which was the same price, this was a let down. Our room was on the top floor with no lifts, however room was OK. Pool was great when the slide was working, Had plenty of activities but never ran when scheduled, so our children were disappointed several times. The staff were friendly, however didn't care or want to help us when we asked for help, e.g.: my pool chair broke, didn't ask if I was ok and knocked over our drinks and then charged us for new drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for pool access room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Centara Kata Resort Phuket, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for sharing this review. I am dissapointed to hear that we did not meet your expctations in certain areas. It is certainly something I will discuss with my team and fully agree with that we need to work on some improvements. I am not happy to read that activities were not on shedule, which should not have been the case an I would like to thank you for bringindg this to my attention. At this stage I am not really sure which activity you are referring to.

We do have activities which are handled in house with our own team. We also have activities sheduled by our Tour Operator with whom we are working hand in hand. We also have some activities like a free trial dive or "walk on water" which are provided by outside contractors, which sometimes is out of our hands. Either way the announced activities should be on time without exception.

Thank you very much again for brining this to my attention.

Kind regards
Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gmckt@chr.co.th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Kata Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Kata Resort Phuket

Address: 54 Ked Kwan Road, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Jiva Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Kata Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Centara Kata Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Kata Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Kata Hotel
Centara Hotel Kata
Centara Kata Resort Phuket Kata Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Kata Resort Phuket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.