We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small jacuzzi at the rooftop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rama Kata Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rama Kata Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rama Kata Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   133/5 Soi Green Drink Water, Patak Road, Karon, Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 42 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice small jacuzzi at the rooftop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms are cosy and in a quiet part and maybe about 10 mins walk to the beach. Location is quite good. Breakfast menu didn't change though. You passed through quite a nice area with restaurants and massage places.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice clean rooms, friendly staff, basic but good breakfast (the fried dumplings are the best!). We stayed here for 4 nights straight off the plane and found the local area great - a little quieter than the hustle and bustle near the markets but easily accessible to everything. The beach is a bit of a stroll away (probably about 1km) and unfortunately if walking the quickest route to the beach, one must trek past what we fast came to term 'the poo drain' which is a channel of dark coloured water and rubbish that smells like.... You can however get a tuk tuk to anywhere on the beach for 150 baht (about $5) - this was the far better option in my opinion. Would we stay here again - yes.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room with a tiny balcony. I think there were bigger balconies than ours there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson new zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Althpugh the glossy pics and advertising didnt really reflect the reality ... See my photo of mountain view.. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, the location good though initially hard to find, and the breakfasts great. Would ee stay here again? Probably!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Rama Kata Beach Hotel is a newly constructed hotel , clean and comfortable with an accommodating staff. How new? Google Street View only shows the building under construction. That being the case, make sure that your transportation provider has the hotel's phone number so that he can call for directions. Otherwise it can be difficult to locate. My Kata based taxi driver did not know where it was!
The location is just fine, only about a 10 to 15 minute walk to Kata Beach (albeit past the malodorous canal that others have referred to), with many reasonable restaurants in the neighborhood, as well as convenience stores and laundry services.
As been mentioned, the rooms and bathrooms are just fine, the beds comfortable, the wifi works, and everything is bright and clean. Next time here I will avoid being assigned rooms 101 or 102. These ground floor rooms have no view whatsoever other than a close masonry wall, above which appears to be rooms of another hotel with beach apparel draped over an iron fence. Its analogous to an inside cabin in a cruise ship. If you are going to spend all your time away from your room then these rooms are ok. But I'd prefer to be able to look out a window....at something.....

Room Tip: Next time here I will avoid being assigned rooms 101 or 102. These ground floor rooms have no view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just spent 4 nights in this hotel. We booked by email and they always replied fast.

Make sure you have some indications for the location as staff at the taxi counter at the airport did not know where it was. It is just opposite the Green drinking water company and close to the Kata Beach center hotel.

We booked a Superior queen room but I found it was quite small. The balcony was not useful as we could hardly step on it. The rooms and the hotel were clean and the housekeeping cleaned our room and provided towels and free water bottles every day.

The swimming pool is small but enough to enjoy cool water after a hot day. We can hear some noise from the big street close by but it was not very annoying.

Our shower barely dribbled so I told it to the young man at the reception. He said it was normal as we were on the top floor (4th).. I thought he did not care and we would have to fight for a shower during our stay but when we came back in the afternoon, we saw someone else (the manager?) who said someone was coming to fix it. Indeed everything was working after that. This man always asked us if we were fine, if we enjoyed our holidays and if we needed information.

Breakfats was ok, cereals, toasts and industrial croissants, fruits, and some vegetable.

The location is not bad, close to many shops, tour agencies, scooter rentals, 7/11 and many restaurants and massage places. It takes around 10 minutes to go to Kata Beach by the shortest way - a stinky canal/drain.
I would recommend this hotel. Friendly staff, clean and good location.

Room Tip: Ask a room on ground floo if anyor first floor as many stairs to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Great hotel - very comfortable beds, clean, white fluffy towels (even hand towels which is unusual in SE Asia!) Nice fancy TV which we could attach our computer. Great high-speed wifi available everywhere. Swimming pool is small, but it's only 15 minutes to the beach. Breakfast was great with pancakes, cereal, fruit, toast, fried rice and even cookies. My 2 boys aged 11 and 13 loved it! Staff is delightful - helpful with everyone from restaurant recommendations to printing our plane tickets to arranging taxi to the airport. Enjoyed Kata beach. Highly recommend the Rama Kata Beach hotel - we've been traveling for 7 months and this is one of the nicest places we've stayed for the money spent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kronoberg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

New Hotel, I have a very nice stay there, but I can't say anything about the pool on the roof, it was not ready when I left. The chef was really good, just vegetarian food, I loved the pizzas!
The beds was also very good
I can really recommend this Hotel! Good prices and good service, good area whitout noice!
About 5 - 10 minutes walk to the beach

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rama Kata Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Kata Beach Hotel

Address: 133/5 Soi Green Drink Water, Patak Road, Karon, Muang, Phuket, Kata Beach, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rama Kata Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Welcome to Rama Kata Beach Hotel. Rama Kata Beach is Lovely quite new property.Very quite location Just outside the busty area of Kata beach and close to all shopping ,dinning , night life ,world Best Beach kata and karon beach.just 20 min to patong beach and old phuket town. Rama Kata Beach Hotel can arrange to all famous trips wile you are in phuket such as Phi Phi Island, James bond island, Fantasea show, siam niramit show,elephant trekking, white water rafting, Big Buddha, Sunset view point, Tiger king dome and all kind of adventure travel. Please feel free to contact for any more information .Thank you very much. Have a great stay in Rama Kata Beach Hotel. Best regards from James and all the staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Rama Kata Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Kata Beach Hotel Phuket

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rama Kata Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.